We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buon Gusto

Buon Gusto
Ranked #2 of 381 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gourmet pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful variety of pizzas to choose from. Friendly atmosphere if a little noisy. This adds to the ambiance. Pasta dishes to choose from also. Don't come looking for much else but these should be enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    155
    47
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Pizza- stunning atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

great new addition to the Guelph Scene! the atmosphere is to die for and the food is excellent. Pizza is even good cold!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Groovefetish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, Friendly staff and Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was in Guelph for a day and decided to have dinner with a few friends and heard that the Italian restaurant Buon Gusto was very good. The staff at the entrance and service staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Very impressed that the owner was working and came up and asked how our meal was. I ordered the Caesar salad and special which was the Seafood Risotto - very good and very tasty. My friends had the pasta dish and the steak and it was all very good. We shared the cheesecake dessert and it was delicious with a cup of cappuccino. It is small from the outside but quite large on the inside. I definitely would eat there again and the staff was fabulous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryannes894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Still the best restaurant in Guelph for those who enjoy good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were going through Guelph Ontario yesterday (Sunday) and tried Buon Gusto on the chance that they would be open, and they were! We had one of the most enjoyable Sunday lunches that we have had in quite come time.

The salads were exceptionally fresh and the lettuce hand cleaned. The mushroom soup was full of flavour and mushrooms. The pasta was freshly made and the tomatoe sauce so flavourful that it could have been eaten as soup on its own. My wife had a pizza and, unusually for her at lunchtime ate the entire thing.

We will be back for lunch. And there was no need for a reservation!

ATB

LIG

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a superb place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I had heard good reports about this restaurant and was anxious to try it. Locals know that it occupies the place where a fire destroyed the well-known West End Bakery. The restaurant looks small from the street, but it has many tables and feels roomy inside. You can see the wood fire pizza oven from almost every table, and the atmosphere is upscale and attractive. It's busy even at lunch, but the service is good and friendly.

The lunch menu ranges from pizza to several pastas, salads, and a very good "combo" deal at $12, which is 2 items: a pizzetta or foccacia or panini (each with several choices), plus a soup (choice of mushroom or a daily special) or salad (one of two types). I tried the Margarita pizzetta and mushroom soup, and both were excellent. The soup was light and full of earthy mushroom flavor, and the pizzetta was a half-pizza that was very generous, topped with mozzarella, tomato, and fresh basil. Both dishes used fresh ingredients and were very tasty.

My only suggestion would be that it would be better to serve the soup and pizza separately, since it's impossible to eat both while they are hot. If you choose the salad instead of soup, of course, this problem wouldn't exist. Next time I'll do that, I think. Wine by the glass or bottle and other drinks are available, and desserts looked great, but after such generous portions, I wasn't able to try them. I'll be back though; this is one of the best lunch places in Guelph. Don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Gusto also viewed

 

Been to Buon Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing