We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good Italian...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Buon Gusto

Buon Gusto
Ranked #2 of 381 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
guelph
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good Italian...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We tried Guelph's newest Italian restaurant last night - Buon Gusto. After hearing several poor reviews about the service, and after a bit of an initial wait after being seated, I was pleased to find that our server was friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable, and the room had a good vibe.
We had three items from the Antipasti menu - two of which were good, and the third not so much. We enjoyed the charred octopus and it's accompanying salad. The seafood cioppino had a great depth of flavour - the clams, mussels, shrimp, and calamari were cooked perfectly. The crab on top made for a tasty treat and a really nice presentation.
However, the crispy pork belly was a disappointment - lacking in flavour, quite dry, and tasting of grease, it just simply didn't measure up.
For mains we had the boscaiola pizza, the lamb ragu, and the penne pasta. The pizza was good - nice porcini mushrooms, spicy sausage and an almost crispy enough crust. The lamb ragu was also good, nicely enhanced by the minted ricotta. The penne pasta with hot peppers and homemade sausage was not as successful a dish. Bland tomato sauce and sloppy and frankly unappealing presentation, made the dish not so enjoyable.
The dessert menu seemed a bit limited and the espresso watery and without the needed crema to make it truly good Italian coffee. Oh, and one last note.... Limoncello - a classic Italian digestive should be served colder - kept in the freezer, not the fridge, as it is served on the Amalfi Coast.
All in all we had an enjoyable time at Buon Gusto, but there is still better Italian to be found in Guelph.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GuelphColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    155
    47
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New spot to try - great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wonderful downtown location with a great proper pizza oven for some delicious supper prior to an evening out. Service was a little lacking but the food was very good, I expect we will visit again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosslyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Food was good, Service not so much. Our server from the start did not introduce herself, brought our wine after the apps and rushed us. The pace for an Italian experience was very rushed, and a couple items we chose they were out of. We finally told her we would like to enjoy our wine, which she never once filled our glasses with, and we had to flag her down for coffees. The coffees took 40 min and were eventually free. Not a good experience, loud and thumping music playing. No fresh pepper or cheese offered. No reason to go back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Guelph8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza at excellent value ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ate there the other day with a group of friends and opted for a pizza - and I am a bit of a connoisseur when it comes to that.

Exceeded my expectations and I ended up talking to the chief baker at the large pizza oven they had imported from Italy and custom built.

Classic 60/2/2 recipe on the dough with a 4 day (!!!) rise time and a bake time of < 3 min. at > 700 Fahrenheit. These people got the pizza thing down pat - highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelSchlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Taste of Italy at Reasonable Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had heard about the addition of Buon Gusto to the Guelph Dining scene and decided to give it a try. We had reservations for 6:00 PM on a busy Saturday Night, but were served promptly and efficiently. The restaurant was quite crowded and very noisy so I wouldn't consider it for that quiet, romantic dinner. However, if you are looking for good Italian Food and wine at a reasonable price, you should give this a try. My wife and I split an appetizer of Mushroom and Gorgonzola Crustini, and it was excellent. I had a pizza and my wife tried one of their pastas. Both were very good, and with wine, dessert and gratuity, we came in at under $80. We will definitely give it another try

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vicboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Gusto also viewed

 

Been to Buon Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing