We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn about Donkeys”

Donkey Sanctuary of Canada
Ranked #2 of 55 things to do in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a day in the country. The Donkey Sanctuary of Canada is a lifelong home to over 70 donkeys, mules and hinnies that have been abused, neglected or are no longer wanted.We recently relocated the Long Ears Boutique so it is now closer to the parking lot. It is here that you will receive your safety talk before entering the donkeys world. Each year we strive to improve access to the animals and property. Two accessible parking spaces have been relocated to provide easier access to the Boutique and safety talk. In the new improved Boutique you can now use your debit cards to purchase your donkey memorbilia and cold drinks.All proceeds from the Boutique go to the care of the donkeys.Don't forget to visit the new Donkey Gallery where you will find the donkey profiles. If you decide you want to help care for the donkeys, you can fill out a sponsorship form for a minimum of $50/year. You can also give as a gift to someone who has everything.The interactive Learning Centre has lots of information for all ages...everything from books to bones. See how we treat an abscessed hoof. Find out what a slipper hoof is. Learn what food is best for donkeys. Hint: All hay is not created equal.From the Learning Centre pass through the barnyard gate where you can interact with the donkeys who love a good brush and scratch behind the ears.Your are invited to listen to one of three scheduled donkey talks. Learn about the challenges donkeys face in North America.Then make your way down to the century old barn that has been converted into the Treatment Centre and visit the main herd up at the new Donkey House....and don't forget to greet the mules before you make your way to the picnic area overlooking the pond.Finish up your day with a walk along the trails in the wetlands and woodlands.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Learn about Donkeys”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

When I initially tried to write a review on Trip Advisor, they advised me that it was not on their list. I am happy to see it has been added.
I visited the Donkey Sanctuary on May 26th as a birthday surprise for my husband. We both thoroughly enjoyed the time spent. You can actually brush and pet the donkeys, which they seemed to lap up. It is very informative for kids and a great way to spend a nice sunny day. There are picnic tables to rest at which overlook a nice pond. Very peaceful and a wonderful experience. I am so happy that there are people in this world who take the time to look after animals. Thank you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    44
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My 11 month old, 2.5 year old and I went to the Sanctuary for a few hours and had an amazing time! There are so many beautiful donkeys (currently 62 in total I believe) and the ones that are available/willing to be pet are so lovely! There is plenty of farmland to walk around and an open barn area where you can pet and brush the donkeys. They have a large area to roam so you aren't confined and neither are they. The donkeys will happily approach you for a scratch or a brush. The staff and volunteers were wonderful. Warm, welcoming, willing to share information and experiences. Our favourite donkey was the very cheeky little Hershey who is not quite as social, but a real character none the less. We traveled close to 2 hours to get to the Sanctuary and it was most definitely worth it. It's peaceful, scenic, and just plain lovely. A great way to spend part of a day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WouldntULike2Know
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“donkey heaven”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's not everywhere you can find a haven for almost 70 donkeys, mules and hinneys (plus 3 goats). You can observe the individual personalities of all the residents, and get up-close and personal with some of them. The staff and volunteers are very knowledgeable and very passionate about giving donkeys a good life (especially those which have been abused or abandoned). The park-like and barnyard setting is good for strolling through and even picnics. An unusual but satisfying way to spend a few hours...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidschatzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth G, Public Relations Manager at Donkey Sanctuary of Canada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It is always a thrill for our staff and volunteers to share what they have learned about donkeys with our visitors. The donkeys enjoy all the attention from visitors and, this time of year especially, they love a good brush to help get rid of their thick winter coats.

We are grateful to some 30 volunteers who helped us clean up the trails and grounds a few weeks ago.

Glad you enjoyed yourself and passed along your donkey experience to other travellers.

Ruth Gillespie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Very Pleaceful Place”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is not the easiest place to find - it's in the country just south of Guelph. The farm it's self is very quiet and peaceful. When you get there you have to pass through the gates that house the donkey's - now you're in with the donkeys. All the donkey's have name tags - there's brushes to groom the animals with. There's great back drops for photographs and donkey's love to pose for the camera. I could go on for ever about this place and I always recommend it to everyone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper0157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth G, Public Relations Manager at Donkey Sanctuary of Canada, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Yes indeed, trying to find us is a challenge. Unfortunately, signage on MTO property is not permitted and highway signs require substantial dollars. We are exploring other avenues but in the meantime encourage our visitors to print a copy of the map off our website.
If using a GPS, type in Puslinch for the city, NOT Guelph.
The easiest way to find us is to take Exit 295 off the 401 just outside Guelph. Drive 2 concessions (streets) north and turn left . on Puslich Concession 4.
The DSC is about 2km down the road on the left.
If you get lost, call 519-836-1697 and ask for directions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNDAS, ON CANADA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Visit the friendly donkeys”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent a lovely summer afternoon driving to the Donkey Sanctuary, and found the donkeys very friendly and well cared for. A great place to take the kids on a day out.

Helpful?
Thank Gloriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donkey Sanctuary of Canada also viewed

 

Been to Donkey Sanctuary of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing