We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a GREAT experience!”

Baker Street Station
Ranked #9 of 388 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Canadian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A unique pub experience in Guelph, The Baker Street Station is proud to offer its patrons the finest food and drink in a thoroughly modern yet surprisingly traditional atmosphere.
Guelph, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a GREAT experience!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My Regular Dining Partner (RDP) and I frequent Baker Street quite a bit, in fact most Sunday's as we return from weekends of adventure. It never fails to impress.

Whether it's something we usually have, or something new, it's always great. I've described Chef Brett as a magician a number of times to friends as he always finds something to put on the chalk board that leaves you wanting to try it, even if it sounds like something you wouldn't ever try. Everything I've tried including the Seared Lambs Heart Tartar, i've enjoyed.

Great food, great place, great fun, however if you are in a hurry, this isn't the place to try to rush a lunch or dinner. Great food, like Rome isn't made in a hurry, and shouldn't be eaten in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank test12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    89
    27
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for wings and some unusual choices”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great standard pub style fare but also some different choices! Been many times, never disappointed. Good drinks too. Bring back the lime cilantro wings!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crabbeymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A good neighborhood pub”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The four of us went for a late mid-week lunch there. The downstairs dining was mysteriously closed so we trudged upstairs.The servers were all young and attractive and very busy. The suits were just leaving to go back to work, so the lunch rush was just about over. Still, it was hard to catch the server's eye. This made ordering a bit annoying. The craft beer selection was awesome. The chop and cheese boards were great. The lunch salads were good as were the entrees. Overall, it was pretty good value for the money, but go early for a quick bite to eat and a chat with friends. Don't have high expectations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sflambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't order the Traditional Breakfast”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've been to the fabulous Baker Street Station before and LOVED it! The beer, the food, the friends -- all amazing. Hubby and I decided to try it out for brunch on Father's Day Sunday. $4 Caesar special and a dark ale started off the brunch well. Hubby ordered the Croque Madam ($16) and I ordered the Traditional Breakfast ($12).

The Croque Madam was amazing. Visually, it was gorgeous on a rustic wooden cutting board with a nice green salad on the side. The flavour of the pork and the mustard combined with the brioche toast and cheese was divine. 5 stars!

I've been on the hunt for a great traditional English breakfast (toast, eggs, beans, tomatoes, etc) in this area and was really excited to try out Baker Street Station's version. It was a HUGE disappointment. Visually, it looked like they provided me half a breakfast. It was served on a huge white plate with dry toast, half a small tomato, half a sausage, a potato pancake, a glass 'bowl' that had literally (and sadly!) a tablespoon of baked beans. Oh and a bowl of soggy poached eggs. The toast was cold (I had to ask for butter and when I spread it on the toast, it didn't melt). The waitress was lovely and quickly brought me some 'warm' toast that had been pre-buttered. The poached eggs were sitting in a glass ramekin in lukewarm water residue (pet-peeve). The potato pancake was cold in the centre. The sausage was yummy (spicy and so delicious) and I would've loved to have eaten the other half *sigh* (where'd it go!?). The Tbsp of baked beans wouldn't have even covered one quarter of my toast. For $12, and based on all other things I've eaten there, this was not up to par. So sad! It seem like it should be an easy thing to do well but the hunt continues...

So, if you go, steer clear of the traditional breakfast -- or ask for the other half of the sausage! ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PalmTree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Food”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Baker St. Station has an awesome selection of Ontario craft beers. The manager Ron is really knowledgable about beer and willhelp you select one thst is just right for you. I had lunch the SEAFOOD POT AU FEU it was absolutely delicious. i have never tasted a 'seafood chowder" like this. It was made fresh and oh so good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker Street Station also viewed

 
Guelph, Ontario
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Baker Street Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing