We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, very clean, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, very clean, great value!”
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I'll keep this short and sweet. We were greeted by a friendly face, I believe her name was Sarah. She smiled and made small conversation, and asked what brought us to guelph. It was a small birthday get together with my friends and we were going to the Ranch (bar across the street) and she wished me a happy birthday which was nice. The layout of the hotel is easy to navigate, the pool looked clean though we did not go in it. The room was beautiful, nice comfortable beds with lots of pillows and a comfy douvet. Complimentary soap, shampoo, coffee, tea, internet, etc were a nice gesture. The temperature in the room was either too cold or too hot, but it might have been just me as my sister and my friend did not complain. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was your standard continental with warm eggs and sausage. We were not fond of either, but the cereal, breads, juices, and muffins were very good. overall this was a nice stay, and i would definitely return! Great value for what we needed.

FYI: this is not the best location for downtown, but it is about 10 minute drive to the University, there is a bowling place, mcdonalds, and The Ranch which serves food and turns into a country bar at night within walking distance

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellefromontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am truly glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you in the future. If you ever have any questions please feel free to contact the hotel anytime.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    13
    9
    19
See reviews for
52
23
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2009

My husband and I decided to spend our anniversary in Guelph this year and came across the Holiday Inn Express. We had some friends stay here in the past who were very impressed with the service and amenities that the hotel offered. We booked one of the special whirlpool suites for the night and it was fantastic! The room is spacious and the fireplace was a nice touch. The staff was always ready to help, they recommended a nice restaurant in the area which was delicious. Overall I would definitely come back the next chance we get to get away from the kids!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuuuu2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. If you have any questions please feel free to contact us anytime.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I stayed at this hotel on business for three nights in May 2008. The hotel was very clean, and comfortable for a longer stay. We had three rooms booked and all of the rooms were new looking and exceptionally clean.

The best part of the hotel was the staff who were very welcoming from check in to check out. The staff really go above and beyond from simple things like memorizing your name to simply engaging you in conversations. The breakfast attendant actually made fresh food for us when we came down at the end of the breakfast hours, and brought the food to our table. Normally, if I come down late at a hotel they are taking the food away and shooting you dirty looks for being there. I gave her a nice tip - and she was so very grateful.

I never used the pool or hot tub but they did look nice.

I will be staying here again next Spring.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SB270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. If you have any questions please feel free to contact us anytime.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Just had an excellent stay at this hotel. Front desk personnel went out of their way to accomodate our family, helped us with a last minute special room request. Quality of rooms are right up there with the best of Holiday Inn Express properties, modern, clean, new beds, free internet, excellent hot breakfast. Ignore the old comments below, this hotel is as good as any other Holiday Inn Express in North America.

  • Liked — location, high quality rooms, internet and cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. If you have any questions please feel free to contact us anytime.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2007

My wife and I have stayed at the H.I. Express on 2 separate weekends in the last year and we greatly enjoyed our stay. We had a wedding to attend in Milton, followed with the reception in Kitchener, and we found the hotel perfectly centrally located in the area.

Up until recently this area seemed very under-serviced with hotels, and the H.I. Express really jumped out as the cream of the crop. The staff always seemed to be extremely polite and driven to please, When I mentioned I had no idea of any things to do in the area, the assistant manager on the night shift gave me some very informative tips on area attractions. I made use of the business center to print out directions to the wedding and reception, extremely convenient.

We made good use of the suite, entertaining some other family members during the wait between wedding and reception, and we found the room to be clean and extremely comfortable.

The breakfast was above average compared to the standard continental offered by competing chains.

I have nothing bad to say about the place, other than I would gladly have paid a bit less during a busy long weekend. Oh well...

  • Liked — The room, the staff, the location
  • Disliked — Price (wasn't obscene but wasn't cheap either)
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zeczeczec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. If you have any questions please feel free to contact us anytime.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2006

I cannot believe this is the same hotel I have read about on here! It was the weekend of the Fergus Highland Games and all hotels were booked, and after reading the reviews here I was leary but we needed a room because my daughter was dancing at the games.

We arrived on Friday night and there was only one other person in front of us at check -in. The person on duty made a point to acknowledge me and tell me he would be right with me. He was very polite and friendly, even asking what brought us to the area etc.

Our room was spotless, I believe this hotel has undergone some renovations. The beds were comfortable ( how many times can you say that about a hotel!) they gave us 4 pillows on each bed and a soft blanket on top of the bed spread. the bathroom had the new rainfall shower head and had great pressure.

Everytime we went by a staff member they all smiled and spoke to us... the front desk staff was super friendly and asked us every time they saw us if every thing was ok and how was the room. You get a free bag of poprcorn for the microwave, a granola bar and a handful of candies in the room also, great for the kids! the breakfast was great both mornings with not only the awesome cinnamon buns but also fresh fruit, yogourt, cheese omelets , bacon 4 different types of bread for toasting, bagels , muffins, danishes ... coffee, teas, juices, milk , cereal.. really what more could you ask for in a free breakfast!! the girl who was taking care of the breakfast was friendly and made a point to come over to the table to speak to us about my daughter dancing etc.

The pool was clean as were all public areas of the hotel. We are planning on staying here whenever we are in the area for a dance competition again, we stay at a LOT of hotels in a year and I have to say that this is the best hotel we have stayed in for quite sometime.
Not sure what the other reviewers dealt with but we had a clean room, great breakfast for free, and impeccable service!

  • Liked — Great staff and impeccable service!
  • Disliked — view from room
  • Tips/Secrets — Definitely stay here if you are in the area... restaurants are a 5 minute drive away. East Side Marios is cheap and close.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzanne-Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. If you have any questions please feel free to contact us anytime.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2006

I stayed here in January 2005 for a few nights on business. I did have an issue with the hotel room when I got there. I booked, and had confirmed, a non-smoking room. When I arrived I was told there were no more, but they upgraded me to a non-smoking suite instead for the duration. I was obviously satisfied with the remedy. Other than that I don't recall there being any other problems. The room was clean, and there was no noise. The hotel itself seemed fairly well taken care of. Well lit and clean in all the areas I was in. I do specifically remember the guy at the front desk, Sean, and he was very helpful. I actually left something behind in my room, and they found it for me. Called me in NY, and and kept it for a week until I returned to pick it up the following week.

I guess I am surprised by the comments below, but then again, I don't spend much time in the hotel, and Sean was the only staff I dealt with.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fool for the Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, February 14, 2006
Dear Viewer,

I do appreciate the time you took out of your day to write this positive review. If you ever need any reservations for a future date please feel free to contact me through the hotel anytime. I would be more than happy to take care of you.

Sincerely,

Sean
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
6.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
188 reviews
4.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
4.2 mi away
Royal Brock Hotel
Royal Brock Hotel
#8 of 13 in Guelph
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Address: 540 Silvercreek Parkway North, Guelph, Ontario N1H 6N3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Guelph
#7 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smartest Choice among Guelph, Ontario Hotels Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Guelph, the best hotel for guests in town for a Guelph vacation or business trip. In addition to a great location, our affordable hotel offers every modern comfort and convenience necessary for a memorable stay, including free high-speed Internet access in each of our spacious rooms. Many guests appreciate our many amenities directed toward business-minded individuals. Our 24-hour business centre gives unlimited access to convenient fax, printer and copier services. In addition, guests looking to gather with colleagues or business associates can meet in our boardroom for a seminar, presentation or other event. The perfect Guelph vacation is anchored at the Holiday Inn Express Guelph. Our hotel's location just outside the center of the city lets guests avoid the sometimes hectic downtown area, while still offering quick access to all the local attractions, including the Church of Our Lady, museums, Wings of Paradise, and beautiful parks. Plenty of on-site amenities keep guests entertained and relaxed, including our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness centre with state-of-the-art equipment. With our free Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning to fuel your long day of sightseeing or meetings, there's no better hotel in Guelph for a vacation or business trip. Look forward to your Smart Stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Guelph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Guelph
Holiday Inn Express Guelph
Holiday Inn Guelph
Guelph Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing