We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HIE Express Guelph a clean hotel for business travel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“HIE Express Guelph a clean hotel for business travel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The staff is very friendly and professional . They recogize their frequest guests very quickly and welcome them back.
The hotel is walking distance to restaurants. The rooms are quiet without and traffic noise. I have stayed in different rooms and they were all nice rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. It truly gives us a sense of pride and accomplishment to have the opportunity to serve someone so humble as yourself. We strive everyday to ensure we exceed all guest expectations. It would be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    46
    13
    9
    19
See reviews for
52
22
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Creemore, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Guelph. We were welcomed by Paul and his friend, given lots of friendly advice on the area, where to eat and what to see. It was such a friendly atmosphere and everyone was so accomodating. The Swimming pool and hot tub where very clean. I was so surprised with the complimentary breakfast, we though maybe, yogart and a bagel. It was a full breakfast. First time for that for this family. Thankyou, will definately be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. It truly gives us a sense of pride and accomplishment to have the opportunity to serve someone so humble as yourself. We strive everyday to ensure we exceed all guest expectations. It would be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Located in a great part of the city with very clean rooms and very helpful staff members always willing to help out at any time. A great place to end your day and start your day. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. It truly gives us a sense of pride and accomplishment to have the opportunity to serve someone so humble as yourself. We strive everyday to ensure we exceed all guest expectations. It would be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

After I made an error in booking my room block, the hotel manager and front desk staff were unbelievably helpful and accomodating. The issue was solved immediately and they went above and beyond to accomodate me and my group. As an event coordinator, I have never experienced such great customer service and hospitality. I will certainly book at their property in the future!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to share your feedback regarding your recent group booking. It truly gives us a sense of pride and accomplishment to have the opportunity to serve someone so humble as yourself.

Our hotel serves a number of groups throughout the year. I would like to think of our staff as "experts" in group bookings. We know it can be hectic with the many things that you have to deal with, when arranging group accommodations, and mistakes can happen. I'm glad to hear that everything was resolved to your satisfaction.

If there is anything I can do to make your stay more accommodating, please don't hesitate to let me know.

All the best,

Naushad Ismail
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a fairly new facility that is very clean and well maintained. The suite type room we had included two TV's, a nice wall mounted mirror in the bath, a fridge and a microwave. Very nice room.
Location was very good. Just a couple of miles south to a good mall and about a 10 minute drive to downtown Guelph for dinner at Babelfish Bistro (Go there! Check their spot on Tripadvisor reviews. Yum.)
We stayed in 4 Holiday Inn Express hotels and a Residence Inn on this trip. The Guelph HIE was the second best hotel (after the Residence Inn) and was the second cheapest (after Ludington MI HIE). In other words, great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PackerBacker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. It truly gives us a sense of pride and accomplishment to have the opportunity to serve someone so humble as yourself. We strive everyday to ensure we exceed all guest expectations. It would be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I found the service to be excellent at this hotel. When I had to change a booking the manager was extremely helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Location was also great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. It truly gives us a sense of pride and accomplishment to have the opportunity to serve someone so humble as yourself. We strive everyday to ensure we exceed all guest expectations. It would be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

When I went to check out, I was told I need to pay for the roll-away bed we got, which was fine, i just mentioned that i would of appreciated them telling me that it was $20 when they asked me if I needed anything. When i said this, the general manager came out from the back and proceeded to tell me and my friends that we have "no common sense" and that "you need to use your head to figure out that it's obviously not free! Nothing's free!"
After this, he then began to raise his voice at us, and at one point was yelling while my two friends and I stayed calm and told him not to undermined us, not to say we have no common sense, and not to yell or raise his voice because it's rude and unnecessary.
He continued to tell us we did not know anything and treated us like children. We told him that he should not be speaking to us like this because we are customers and do not deserve to be spoken to like that by anyone, let alone the general manager.
The only reason he would be speaking to us like he did was because we are University students, and for some reason he decided to be arrogant and rude to us because of this. At one point he even asked the employee helping us to go to our rooms and make sure nothing was broken or damaged because he did not believe us (nothing was wrong!). He was looking for things to charge us for. If a couple, a family, a single person, or anyone in the same situation except older, he never would have asked an employee to check our rooms, and especially not right in front of us.

This was the worst, most frustrating and rude experience I have had in any situation before.
The general manager at this holiday inn express needs to have an evaluation immediately, or fired because he had no right to speak to a paying customer like he did, ever ! Especially customers who did nothing wrong!

Don't go there !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mackenzie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naushad, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns. All of our staff strive daily to ensure that all guests have an excellent stay at our hotel. We regret that we fell short of your expectations.

In regards to your comments to being charged for the rollaway, I would simply like to add that it was and item that was requested by your group and that you were made aware of the charge at the time of the reservation. This is a very standard industry practice and is commonly done by all the hotels within the surrounding region. The rollaway charge is to cover the additional housekeeping and cleaning costs, plus the cost of the additional person that will be staying in the room and using the excellent amenities that our hotel has to offer.

We wish you the greatest success and hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Please don't hesitate to give me a call if you have any further comments.


Sincerely,

Naushad Ismail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
6.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Address: 540 Silvercreek Parkway North, Guelph, Ontario N1H 6N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Guelph
#7 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smartest Choice among Guelph, Ontario Hotels Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Guelph, the best hotel for guests in town for a Guelph vacation or business trip. In addition to a great location, our affordable hotel offers every modern comfort and convenience necessary for a memorable stay, including free high-speed Internet access in each of our spacious rooms. Many guests appreciate our many amenities directed toward business-minded individuals. Our 24-hour business centre gives unlimited access to convenient fax, printer and copier services. In addition, guests looking to gather with colleagues or business associates can meet in our boardroom for a seminar, presentation or other event. The perfect Guelph vacation is anchored at the Holiday Inn Express Guelph. Our hotel's location just outside the center of the city lets guests avoid the sometimes hectic downtown area, while still offering quick access to all the local attractions, including the Church of Our Lady, museums, Wings of Paradise, and beautiful parks. Plenty of on-site amenities keep guests entertained and relaxed, including our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness centre with state-of-the-art equipment. With our free Express Start Breakfast Bar every morning to fuel your long day of sightseeing or meetings, there's no better hotel in Guelph for a vacation or business trip. Look forward to your Smart Stay at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Guelph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Guelph
Holiday Inn Express Guelph
Holiday Inn Guelph
Guelph Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing