We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”
Review of Walkerbrae House

Walkerbrae House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guelph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Walkerbrae House
Ranked #4 of 5 Guelph B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We got married at the Walkerbrae House last weekend, we had the elopement package. We were a bit late getting there so I was a little stressed when we arrived but was completely calmed down (aside from the wedding excitement) within a couple of minutes of talking to Mary the owner who said "Just take a deep breath, no one is in a rush take your time" she even helped me lace up my dress. The rest of the day was completely perfect. The ceremony was beautiful. The food was amazing and if you asked my new husband I'm sure he'd tell you that the highlight of the day for him aside from marrying me of course, was the dessert. A vanilla cake decorated with hand made white chocolate pedals. The suite was warm, comfortable and decorated so beautifully. The owners of the Walkerbrae House in my opinion really go above and beyond to make your visit there as flawless and special as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We attended a Service Dog Training Seminar in Guelph. This was our first time in Guelph so we did not know what to expect. We stayed at the Country Suite. This was a full service location and we chose this as it was close to our seminar. We also brought our 9 dogs. Mary made booking very easy and was very accommodating. We were treated like stars and our dogs were well taken care of while we were away. This is a good set up for dogs and families. Mary, John and the girls were always taking care of our needs and we were well educated about the area. We went for several walks with our dogs in the area and had a wonderful time. Everything was wonderful and the home cooked meals amazing. Our dietary needs changed daily and so did the meals. We even had a birthday party for 5 of our dogs. The suite was clean and very comfy. Our 4 days there flew by so quickly. Very quiet and relaxing. Everything we needed was there. We will be back again. Forget the hotels. I highly recommend you stay here or at any of their locations. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: They have several locations. We chose this one as it was close to our seminar and we got great ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icandyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerryCanadian, Owner at Walkerbrae House, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We love dogs and were up for the challenge of 9 dogs and two human guests. It turned out to be a house full of love and fun! We welcome you all back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently retired, sold our home and made a decision to be nomadic for a year. We needed somewhere to live in Guelph for November and December(before going to Florida for the winter) that would be close to family. We had difficulty finding something for only two months. We were so fortunate to have found the Walkerbrae Studio Apartment. What a beautiful 3 room apartment in a completely separate building from the main house on Woolwich St. It had a king size bed and bedroom to match with the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. My husband who has his own accounting business and was feeling displaced not having a permanent home, felt comfortable and very at home with the large marble topped desk in the bedroom where he could do his work and the beautiful living room with gas fireplace to relax in. I enjoyed having a full kitchen to cook in and was able to entertain with comfort and ease. The bathroom had a large walk in shower with two seats. It was everything we needed and more. The owners were so friendly and very accommodating. It snowed twice while we were there and the parking lot was cleaned long before we got up. We would definitely look at this again if the need arises. Thanks Mary and John!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerryCanadian, Owner at Walkerbrae House, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear L and C
You were both the perfect guests and we should be thanking you!
It was a pleasure to have you both and please come back and see us again soon!
Mary and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We got married at Walkerbrae House last month. We found the elopement package for 2 very appealing. We wanted something small, simple and private.

It was our first bed and breakfast, and we were spoiled with the private suite. The suite had its own private entrance at the back of the house with an entry code lock. We came and went as we pleased. There was lots of parking. The owners left us their cell number and texting turned out to be a great way to communicate on arrival.

The suite was very spacious with a large king size bed, small kitchenette (with microwave/oven/fridge), large bathroom, living/dining room and the hot tub. The place is located in a quiet part of town which combined with the very comfortable bed resulted in a great night’s sleep.

The hosts are great cooks. We were pleasantly surprised with unique breakfast options. The 3 course dinner after the ceremony met all our expectations. We loved the private hot tub & made use of it as much as we could.

If you are looking for a simple and less expensive way of doing a wedding, consider this location/option!


Twyla & Vince

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Twyla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My new husband and I stayed at Walkerbrae House just last weekend and had our wedding there. We also brought along our two Rottweilers and our Bishon Frise along with us. There aren't many places that allow dogs, let alone Rottweilers!

The Location is perfect. On a quiet street on the outskirts of Guelph, but yet still close enough to town that everything is convenient to get to (by car, walking would be quite a hike).

The Suite was amazing! We've never stayed at a B&B before and were concerned about privacy, but having our own fully private suite was perfect! It was spacious, tidy and very clean. The king sized bed was so comfortable and provided tons of room for us and our three dogs. There was lots of property for the dogs to play around, and we made good use of the hot tub just outside off the livingroom.

The Hosts were so kind and friendly and treated us like kings and queens... including the dogs. Our dogs even got a bag of treats when we arrived! They were so helpful with the wedding plans and details and took care of everything! It was so relaxing and stress free!

The Wedding was everything we had dreamed it would be. We went with the Elopement Package. We wanting a wedding that was elegant, simple, and intimate and that's exactly what we got! The ceremony was simple and personal, and the minister was so kind and down to earth. The living-room/log portion of the home was beautiful and elegantly decorated. We lucked out and had beautiful weather and managed to get photos inside, on the front porch and around the property. They turned out great! We had hors d'oeuvres on the front porch after pictures with champagne. It was so intimate and perfect. We ate our wedding dinner in the dining-room of the home and the food was absolutely delicious!! We also had breakfast in our suite each morning and it was just as amazing!

I definitely recommend Walkerbrae House not only to stay at, but also to have your wedding there if you're looking at something small and intimate. We had originally looked at Niagara Falls, but there was so much planning to do with trying to get the hotel room, chapel, photographer, dinner and the costs kept adding up and up. With Walkerbrae House everything is planned out for you and stress free, and the cost is very reasonable. We had the most amazing time! Everything was perfect and I wouldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy N Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I am a 40-something professor and my wife is a 30-something lawyer. Walkerbrae is located in the NW corner of Guelph, just north of the car dealerships, in a high-end subdivision of 12 houses surrounded by farms. The actual B&B is at the back of the house, and unlike most B&B's is actually a full suite consisting of a good sized living room, small separate kitchen (with fridge, convection oven, microwave, sink, kettle) and a separate bedroom.

We stayed at Walkerbrae for 8 nights, with our 70lb dog and cat, just after we sold our house. We needed a home and Walkerbrae provided us with a wonderful, warm, friendly place to stay. The place is immaculate and beautiful. The owners went out of their way to help us. To save money, we chose the non-breakfast option, but even then we occasionally received baked goods out of the oven! We brought our own groceries, however, and were able to make our own meals which was wonderful.

There was a washer and dryer inside our suite too. There was parking for both of our cars.

What also made this place especially wonderful was how welcoming the owners were for both of our pets. In fact, we were greeted with a box of dog treats! The yard was also large for our dog to wander around. But only a 2-3 min car ride was an amazing dog-friendly walking trail. We couldn't ask for anything better for our pets. How many hotels or B&B's would accept a 70lb dog to begin with??!!!

Our only complaint was the occasional girgling noise from the plumbing or water filtration system, but that is a minor nuisance and only if you're a light sleeper.

The owners also have a suite in the downtown Guelph area, which I'm sure is also spectacular.

If you're staying at Walkerbrae, you will definitely need a car however. If you don't have a car, you should ask about the downtown suite.

As we need another weekly stay in Guelph later this Spring, we have already booked another week with this family. We feel incredibly grateful to them.

One of us has stayed at: two other B&B's at Guelph (great if you don't have pets but little privacy); at three hotels in Guelph (fine for overnight but also no pets); and at the Maples Inn (good option for long-term, but no pets and feels like a half-way house). If you have pets and/or want more space/privacy and/or are looking for a long-term stay, I recommend Walkerbrae House hands-down.

Room Tip: Negotiate a rate for stays over a week. Ask for the price without the breakfast option, which is che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerryCanadian, Owner at Walkerbrae House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
6.0 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
7.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Guelph
6.0 mi away
Royal Brock Hotel
Royal Brock Hotel
#9 of 13 in Guelph
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Guelph
204 reviews
7.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walkerbrae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkerbrae House

Address: 57 Walkerbrae Trail, Guelph, Ontario N1H 6J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Guelph
Price Range: $150 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walkerbrae House & Weddings is a destination for couples and best friend getaways. Located on the edge of Guelph you will find an exclusive property that caters to romance. Discover our private full suite apartment for those who need to get away from it all. We deliver your home-made breakfast to your suite and you can eat at your leisure - we recommend sleeping in! We are dog friendly so bring your best friend with you! We welcome you anytime! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Walkerbrae House Guelph, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing