We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find downtown guelph”

Artisanale French Country Cooking
Ranked #27 of 389 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our handcrafted French country-style cuisine starts with the best ingredients sourced from regional farmers and fishers, wine makers and brewers, and artisanal producers who are dedicated to their craft. Everything we serve is made fresh, in-house: from stocks and sauces to ice cream and pastries and everything in between. It is the time-honoured, artisanal, slow food techniques of paysannes, country cooks and grand-meres that we embrace in our kitchen. Join us for a memorable culinary experience--all are welcome! Bring in the family for a family-style meal served in our bar room on our pine harvest tables, drop by for a 3 course $35 prix-fix Wed and Thursday, or enjoy a celebratory or romantic evening in our dining room. We look forward to seeing you!
Erin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find downtown guelph”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A perfect "appetizer" for our foodie evening! We had a delicious meal, served with charm and efficiency. A minimal number of choices of well prepared and presented dishes. Everything was perfectly seasoned, Walking distance to seeing the film Haute Cuisine at the Bookshelf Cinema!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LorBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    30
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thorold, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty steak frites!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had our conference dinner at Artisanale. I had the green salad and the steaks frites. The salad was exactly what was announced: greens with vinaigrette. That was a bit disappointing. The steak frites was done to order (perfectly rare) and the frites were really yummy. We had a plum pudding dessert that was excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitinefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have eaten here three or four times in the last two months. The food, service and atmosphere is excellent. The chicken liver pate is brilliant - smooth as butter. We have also sampled the Socca pizza, roasted chicken, rabbit fricasee. Everything was excellent. My only complaint is the somewhat pricey wine list ... but I can live with that when the food is so good and they are mostly organic and/or biodynamic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartyVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant as for a special dinner on our way back to Toronto after a matinee show in Stratford....we were pleased. A wonderful meal on the back patio. Great service, wonderful atmosphere and fine food. Will come back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had lunch outside and the setting was lovely. Food tasted good but small portions, big price
I had the roasted chicken with fries and salad. Portions of chicken awfully small and hugh amount of fries, enough for 2 people. Salad too small for the price of the entre. Not sure if I will go back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisanale French Country Cooking also viewed

 
Guelph, Ontario
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Artisanale French Country Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing