We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Will definitely stay here again.”
Review of Royal Brock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Brock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Belleville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent! Will definitely stay here again.”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My daughter's young dog needed surgery at Guelph University so we stayed here for 2 nights. The location was excellent, just 3 minutes way.
I was very surprised and well pleased by everything this hotel had to offer us. The room was spotless, flat screen TV, fridge, down (not feather) pillows and down duvets on extremely comfortable beds. I don't usually sleep well in hotels but it was hard to drag myself out of that bed in the morning. Very nice hot breakfast with eggs, hash browns, fresh waffles, cereals, juices, muffins, fruit bowel etc. - all inclusive. The pool was very clean and inviting, we were sorry we didn't bring swimsuits.
The entire hotel was modern, very nicely decorated and extremely clean.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with all our questions and requests. They even have the food menus from all the surrounding restaurants at the front desk.
A nice quiet haven for us during the stress of the puppy's surgery. We will definitely be recommending this BW to our friends and look forward to another enjoyable stay in the futere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaikosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    91
    62
    16
    14
See reviews for
81
62
21
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
woodstock, on
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed here last night and found the ground floor rooms terribly musty and smelly even the sheets felt damp

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank paulsh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

2nd time I've stayed here in the past year. The rooms are clean and recently updated. The bath/shower was not replaced during the update - which I believe was a mistake. The fiberglass enclosure is from the 70's and the inside shower curtain gives you little room to stand. On my first night I noticed the AC unit was draining into the room, I reported this to the front desk the next morning. When I got back to the room that night, I had a message informing me they could not fix the problem, and had another room for me. The new room was just as nice - same outdated shower though. Overall it is nice place. I just wish they had a microwave in the room or at least available in the breakfast area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluetraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We travelled there for a large special event.

My wife spilt some wine on a Duvet cover. She tried to clean it and missed a small part. Two weeks later a package arrived with the Duvet and money charge on the VISA for the duvet at $132.00. No phone call/email or nothing that they were going to charge it

After it arrived at home. I cleaned the small stain on the first try.

The staff feels they are above everyone else. Don't tell them it is "best western" and it is in Guelph (shhhh). They think it is a W Hotel.

I have travelled all over and stayed in very cheap and very expensive hotels and never been charged for something as crazy as this

Their business model needs revamping.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indajax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Nice spacious room but small bathroom. Good location. Lobby area is much nicer than a lot of Best Westerns that I've stayed at. Typical BW breakfast. My only complaint is the office chair in the room was terrible -- couldn't spend much time at the computer without an aching back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvics
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Had a weekend conference and the Royal Brock came highly recommended from people who live in Guelph. It's right next to the university and only a short cab ride away from downtown. The staff are excellent, very friendly and welcoming.

The room was lovely, very large with a high cathedral-like ceiling. Large flat screen tv, mini fridge, surprisingly large bathtub and extremely comfortable beds. The hotel's built on a slope, so with the different levels there wasn't elevator access to our floor (or at least the quickest way to get to our room didn't involve an elevator) but the staff explained this on our check-in.

The breakfast is quite good - toast, DIY waffles, eggs, yoghurt, fruit and muffins. Much more than a typical hotel breakfast. There's no bacon or cheese though.

Overall I'd highly recommend it and would stay here again. The only drawback location-wise is that it's not downtown if that's where you want to be but the upside is that it's quiet. Other attendees at our conference stayed at hotels downtown and had problems with the noise levels at night since it was the weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2010

stayed at bw's before, this by far the nicest. 32 inch flat screens great beds and pillows. whether business or pleasure i would recommend this hotel. comp hi speed internet is efficient and a comp brek a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjnadramaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Brock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Brock Hotel

Property: Royal Brock Hotel
Address: 716 Gordon St, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Brock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is conveniently located directly adjacent to the University of Guelph, government offices and close to commercial, retail and residential areas, all in a beautiful park-like setting in Guelph, Ontario. The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is ideal for the business traveler with all the value added amenities you've come to expect including complimentary high speed wireless internet access, free local, calling card access and toll-free calls and a complimentary hot breakfast. For the leisure guest, traveling through Southwestern Ontario, the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph boasts a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck from May to September and plenty of free parking for your accommodation needs. When travelling through Southwestern Ontario, consider the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph for your next reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Brock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Guelph
Ramada Guelph
Guelph Ramada
Royal Brock Hotel Guelph, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing