We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Royal Brock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Brock Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This Best Western was beautiful - the people were great, location was perfect and very convenient to many restaurants and stores. Breakfast was good - Hockey team was able to fuel up before their game. They were very accommodating. Would recommend this and stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank AmyF1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
There are newer reviews for Royal Brock Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 306 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

I'm a "Best Western Frequent Stayer" & I used to stay at Holiday Inns & Radisson (Park Inns) - or use one of those Discount Hotel Finders on line (but I got burned a couple of times) - but recently I switched to Best Western & have never looked back. I've stayed at about 5 different ones in the past year & have always had a very positive experience - & they give Air Miles to Boot - BOUNS!...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We attended a conference at the University of Guelph and had meetings with the Ontario Government the day before - both just across the street. When we had arrived after a long drive we were greeted warmly and offered help with our luggage and the front desk even loaned us playing cards. The room was clean, comfortable and everything worked. The front desk recommended a pizza place and that worked out well too. The first night the hotel was not very busy - it was tomb-like. The breakfast served hot scrambled eggs, sausages, and the usual muffins (very good in this case), toast, cereal and juice. Breakfast was much better than we expected. The second night the hotel was busier as more people came for the conference and a few kid's hockey teams were registered too, it seems. The parking lot seemed to be at capacity - which could be an issue. We could hear the noise of the kids running up and down the hallways on the floor above but they settled down before there was occasion to complain. One could also hear people talking in the hallways. Other than the minor issue of noise (which abated before 11:00) it was all good. I will return for my next business meeting in Guelph.

Room Tip: Some rooms require going up and down several stairs. That could be an issue for some people.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our second trip to this hotel (last was several years ago). Very impressed - clearly better than, say, the Guelph Comfort Inn or other hotels in the same general price range. What's so good? For one thing, breakfast seems to have more of what my spouse calls "real food" - eggs that taste like eggs, not plastic, for example. For another, the bed was quite comfortable. Also, we were there on one of the coldest nights of the winter so far, and there were no problems with having enough heat . Front desk staff was pleasant and capable. All in all, a very pleasant hotel experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megamyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The bed was very comfortable. Great quality pillows, duvet and mattress. Breakfast was hot lots of variety to choose from. Eggs where not the greatest but eatable. Front lobby was very cozy. Room was nice and warm for a winter night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel makes hosting a conference/meeting easy!! Right from the start hotel staff are there to help with set up, food and beverage selection, as well as overnight accommodation arrangements.
Staff go out of their way to be of assistance.
Meeting rooms are bright, and can be arranged in a myriad of ways.
Food - great selection of menu items and the food is very very good.
overnight rooms - very comfortable and clean.
The GM's staff - Amy, Kendra, Candy and Mike - are great to work with.
Our group have been holding our annual event at this hotel for 17 years and are looking forward to our 2014 event.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is okay if you only need a place to rest your head for the night. The entrance off Stone Road is not clearly marked and I nearly missed it as I rounded the corner off Gordon Street. The parking lot was full and I parked away from the main entrance and entered the hotel from the conference entrance. There were no signs to direct you to the hotel lobby. I think I saw the entire hotel before finding the lobby and the check-in desk. The employee behind the desk was very pleasant and made you feel very welcome. Upon entering my room all seemed to be clean and orderly. As I was hanging up my clothes in the closet I noticed that the closet was full of cobwebs. I had to clean them off my suit pants before I could wear them the next day. Upon returning from dinner that evening I was unable to enter through the door closest to my room as the key card reader was malfunctioning and had to walk through the parking lot to the main lobby entrance to enter the hotel. Returning to my room the key card would no longer work in my door and I had to return to the check-in desk to have the key cards re-programmed. The same employee as earlier was on duty and apologized for the problem and quickly re-programmed the key card. Upon returning to my room once again, I decided to brew a cup of coffee with the in-room coffeemaker. It was not working. I returned to the check-in desk to notify the desk clerk (the same one as before) that the coffeemaker was not working. He offered to get a new one and have the porter on duty get me a coffee from the dining room. I was tired and did not wish to wait for a new machine but did agree to getting a coffee from the dining room. Again this employee was very obliging and a credit to the hotel. I returned to my room, enjoyed my coffee and turned in for the night. The bed was very comfortable and enjoyed a good night's sleep. The hotel is close to the University and local shopping which is a plus. The complimentary breakfast is standard fare but well stocked and the food was hot. The in room wireless internet was intermittent and it was difficult to stay connected. If you are not looking for luxury and just a place for the night you may wish to choose this hotel otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Guelph
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#7 of 13 in Guelph
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Brock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Brock Hotel

Address: 716 Gordon St, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Brock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is conveniently located directly adjacent to the University of Guelph, government offices and close to commercial, retail and residential areas, all in a beautiful park-like setting in Guelph, Ontario. The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is ideal for the business traveler with all the value added amenities you've come to expect including complimentary high speed wireless internet access, free local, calling card access and toll-free calls and a complimentary hot breakfast. For the leisure guest, traveling through Southwestern Ontario, the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph boasts a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck from May to September and plenty of free parking for your accommodation needs. When travelling through Southwestern Ontario, consider the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph for your next reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Brock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Guelph
Ramada Guelph
Guelph Ramada
Royal Brock Hotel Guelph, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing