We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent venue to host a conference/meeting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Guelph, Canada
1 review
“excellent venue to host a conference/meeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel makes hosting a conference/meeting easy!! Right from the start hotel staff are there to help with set up, food and beverage selection, as well as overnight accommodation arrangements.
Staff go out of their way to be of assistance.
Meeting rooms are bright, and can be arranged in a myriad of ways.
Food - great selection of menu items and the food is very very good.
overnight rooms - very comfortable and clean.
The GM's staff - Amy, Kendra, Candy and Mike - are great to work with.
Our group have been holding our annual event at this hotel for 17 years and are looking forward to our 2014 event.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    90
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
79
61
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hotel is okay if you only need a place to rest your head for the night. The entrance off Stone Road is not clearly marked and I nearly missed it as I rounded the corner off Gordon Street. The parking lot was full and I parked away from the main entrance and entered the hotel from the conference entrance. There were no signs to direct you to the hotel lobby. I think I saw the entire hotel before finding the lobby and the check-in desk. The employee behind the desk was very pleasant and made you feel very welcome. Upon entering my room all seemed to be clean and orderly. As I was hanging up my clothes in the closet I noticed that the closet was full of cobwebs. I had to clean them off my suit pants before I could wear them the next day. Upon returning from dinner that evening I was unable to enter through the door closest to my room as the key card reader was malfunctioning and had to walk through the parking lot to the main lobby entrance to enter the hotel. Returning to my room the key card would no longer work in my door and I had to return to the check-in desk to have the key cards re-programmed. The same employee as earlier was on duty and apologized for the problem and quickly re-programmed the key card. Upon returning to my room once again, I decided to brew a cup of coffee with the in-room coffeemaker. It was not working. I returned to the check-in desk to notify the desk clerk (the same one as before) that the coffeemaker was not working. He offered to get a new one and have the porter on duty get me a coffee from the dining room. I was tired and did not wish to wait for a new machine but did agree to getting a coffee from the dining room. Again this employee was very obliging and a credit to the hotel. I returned to my room, enjoyed my coffee and turned in for the night. The bed was very comfortable and enjoyed a good night's sleep. The hotel is close to the University and local shopping which is a plus. The complimentary breakfast is standard fare but well stocked and the food was hot. The in room wireless internet was intermittent and it was difficult to stay connected. If you are not looking for luxury and just a place for the night you may wish to choose this hotel otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a last-minute decision...we were planning on staying at the more expensive hotel across the road but chose the Best Western because of the promotion in which we could earn an extra 1,000 points in that time period. We were very glad we did. The room was very spacious, the hotel warm and inviting and the staff very helpful. The price was better than the competitor and they even gave us breakfast - we'll definitely stay there when in Guelph in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank sistersofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

slept well and free internet and breakfast ....all you really need rooms were very clean and well appointed Staff helpful as well lots of choices for breakfast including eggs and I always prefer to have toast which they had a fast toaster for all

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Werodeacamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We walked into the room and were immediately impressed with the spacious high ceiling and gorgeous queen sized beds. Big clean room. The guy when we checked in at the desk was quite surly, thankfully we did not see him again. Everyone else was terrific. Excellent location for getting around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the high ceiling
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2trinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The staff are so friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable,the morning breakfast has everything you could wish for. It is within walking distance to restaurants, shops and Stone road mall. Iwill return to this hotel in the future. J & A Hatch, Whitby Ont 11/ 02 2013.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ada h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a nice, average hotel. My room was clean, and my bed linens and towels were as well. I had a 2 Queen Bed room on the second floor and it really was quite spacious (normal, flat ceiling though). Beds were fairly comfortable with pillow top mattresses. The bathroom, although a little older looking in appearance (at least in my room) was also very clean.

The breakfast was continental, with scrambled eggs, pancakes and breakfast sausage added to it, served buffet style. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and it was quite nice to be able to have breakfast on site.

Any staff I spoke with were nice and pleasant.

The hotel does have an unusual layout, which I found unique and interesting. Sort of split level in areas with a few stairs to go up or down.

Based on this experience, I would return if the occasion should arise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 716 Gordon Street, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is conveniently located directly adjacent to the University of Guelph, government offices and close to commercial, retail and residential areas, all in a beautiful park-like setting in Guelph, Ontario. The Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is ideal for the business traveler with all the value added amenities you've come to expect including complimentary high speed wireless internet access, free local, calling card access and toll-free calls and a complimentary hot breakfast.For the leisure guest, traveling through Southwestern Ontario, the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph boasts a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck from May to September and plenty of free parking for your accommodation needs. With ample meeting/conference space and superior catering facilities, the hotel is ideal for any social or business function. When travelling through southwestern Ontario, consider the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph for your next reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Guelph
Ramada Guelph
Guelph Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre Guelph, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing