We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lodging in Guelph” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Lodging in Guelph”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stay here regularly on business and would recommend this location to anyone in similar circumstances. Close to the University, shopping, restaurants. Rooms are clean, beds comfy, staff is extremely accomodating, whether its the front lobby, with Glenn, Jen, Tanya, Felippe, the cleaning staff headed by Candy or the manager Ketan. Everyone has a smile & good-day for you, is there anything you need? Hearty breakfast and again accomodating kitchen if you decide to eat in.

Room Tip: Either one of the chalet type rooms in the newer section, or the suites are huge & spacious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dennis we would like to thank you for staying with us, you are a delight to host and always an enjoyable conversation. Thank you for kind words and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    90
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
79
61
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed one night January 14th, 2013
Bathroom needs to be modernized. - The ceiling still shows drywall tape and stains, the tub shower is out of date but is clean.
Room Area - nice decor newer. Comfortable bed
Now the desk had stains on it looked like dried coffee, decor strip of blank on the bed had stains that appeared to be bodily fluids.
Breakfast - the staff didn't seem to friendly towards guest, the hot items for breakfast consisted of scrabbled eggs, sausage and pancakes, I didn't have the pancakes but the other hot items had a warm temp. My wife had a Danish and muffin which weren't very fresh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Accountnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
I sincerely apologize for your experience at our hotel. This is not the product or excellence in service we strive to provide and i assure you not a common experience. Despite all i do hope you provide our establishment with another opportunity should you visit Guelph again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a one-night stay here. He had to come to Guelph for business and we decided to make it a bit of a getaway and stay the night. After reading through the reviews here, we decided on this hotel but after staying here, we wouldn't come back again. There was nothing really horrible about the hotel but nothing outstanding either. I wish tripadvisor allowed you to give 1/2 stars because I really think this hotel rates 2.5 stars.

Pros:
- friendly staff. We had problems with our key and the man at the front desk was very polite and promptly gave us a new key and went down to the room to test it out to make sure it was working.
- breakfast buffet was good and plentiful
- kingsize bed was very comfortable!!

Cons:
- swimming pool is outdoors. We specifically booked this hotel because of what we thought was an indoor pool and were really looking forward to swimming. Yes, I know it's my fault for not reading through the hotel description and only looking at the pictures but it was disappointing nevertheless. The picture of the pool really does look like it's indoors.
- room is large but a bit outdated, especially the bathroom. There was some mould in the bathtub and the towels were small and itchy.
- stone hallways make the hotel seem dark and dated
- no pay per view movies
- too far from downtown. Kind of in the middle of nowhere.
- not worth the rate being charged.

I'm sure this hotel would be fine for a conference. It has a decent size desk in the room and free internet. As purely a getaway hotel, there's really nothing special about it to bother making a return visit. It just seems dark and dated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor seem nicer (I think those are the ones in the photos). The ones on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyful_lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
i am sorry to hear you and your husband did not enjoy your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide the best in product and service at the mid scale level, and enjoy a location surrounded by scenic trees and only minutes away from local restaurants and the Guelph Mall.
Although you have decided not to re visit our property we will always welcome another change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a beautiful room that was very clean and nice! The staff we met were all really nice and accommodating. Checking in, our comings and goings and checking out was a pleasure because of the attentive staff. The room was big and spotless! A great hot breakfast was served long enough so even us late sleepers could have a great meal to start the day! We definitely recommend this hotel to everyone staying in the Guelph area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear our staff was attentive and you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer. Please do visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Catharines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is in a Convenient location. The breakfast was very good with hot as well as cold items which was a welcome change from most hotels. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Would've enjoyed an inside pool though.



  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DORSEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Only stayed for one night to see the Guelph Storm play but it was a nice hotel with a excellent bed. This hotel goes all out on their breakfast buffet. Convenient drive to downtown as well. Overall, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are happy you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and our plush beds. Anytime you are in town for a Storm game be sure to stay with the Best Western in Guelph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 716 Gordon Street, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is conveniently located directly adjacent to the University of Guelph, government offices and close to commercial, retail and residential areas, all in a beautiful park-like setting in Guelph, Ontario. The Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is ideal for the business traveler with all the value added amenities you've come to expect including complimentary high speed wireless internet access, free local, calling card access and toll-free calls and a complimentary hot breakfast.For the leisure guest, traveling through Southwestern Ontario, the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph boasts a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck from May to September and plenty of free parking for your accommodation needs. With ample meeting/conference space and superior catering facilities, the hotel is ideal for any social or business function. When travelling through southwestern Ontario, consider the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph for your next reservation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Guelph
Ramada Guelph
Guelph Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre Guelph, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing