We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have been regulars in the hotel for many years. The rooms are always clean and comfortable, the staff are cheerful and supportive, and the breakfasts are a bonus. The price is right for anyone travelling in this area. Barbara & Nick Upitis Scarborough, Ontario.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the third floor they seem more spacious and luxurious We could not comment o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel and brand, it is always a pleasure to have you visit and we look forward to your return. I appreciate your kind words and the staff and I always look forward to having you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    90
    60
    15
    12
See reviews for
79
61
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located. University across the road, mall less than 5 minutes away. The layout of the hotel is odd, but functional. The signage needs vast improvement as the 1st "lobby" you see is for the conferences. You need to go further along the parking lot to get to the registration lobby. This caused undue lugging of luggage up and down stairs and back just to register and go to room. There are many ups and downs to the corridors. The complimentary breakfast is hot and plentiful. The quality is adequate for a buffet. The rooms are clean and large. Mine needed maintenance on the sliding door to outside "big time". I would recommend the place as long as you get a good rate.

Room Tip: Rooms on eastside back onto parking lots. Make sure you go to 2nd "lobby area to check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badbartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your review of our hotel. We are currently looking into increasing the quantity of exterior signage to help direct guests in the right direction. We thank you for your helpfull comments and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Welcoming friendly staff, clean spacious rooms, flat screen TV, free breakfast decent, and free wifi. Glenn at desk was great and extremely helpful with directions and places of interest. Location is great close to all restaurant, mall etc. I paid only $110 which is great compared to the alternatives, would definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and highlighting our hotels attributes. Please visit us again on your next trip to Guelph and we will insure you another quality stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The staff at the Hotel were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. The fitness centre was one of the reasons I selected this Hotel for and it did not dissappoint. I enjoyed the complementary breakfast....there was a large variety, with something for everyone! This is a great spot, close to the University and lots of shopping!

Room Tip: centre section third floor rooms have cathedral ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your wonderful review of our property. We strive to insure each and every guest experience is as positive as yours. We hope to see you again in the near future and thank you for selecting the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed here on two separate occasions for work, each time for one night. The first time I had a corner room on the second floor – the room was super cold and I had to crank the heat. The second time I was on the first floor in a middle room and thankfully had no issues. The rooms look like they have been refurbished, but there’s a strange smell in the hallways.

There is free parking and complimentary breakfast. The eggs look like they are made from a package, but thankfully there’s bread, yogurt and cereal available.

It’s a short drive into the main centre of town where you can find restaurants to eat at (i.e. under 10 minutes).

Given I was just here to sleep, it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We do pre heat rooms prior to guest arrival and sorry to hear the room was cold when you entered. Our eggs are break free and frequently enjoyed by our guests, i am happy you found a suitable alternative on our buffet. I do sincerely hope you give us another chance in the near future, we hope your next stay will better representation of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel gives you a fairly comfortable bed in a slightly drab room needing some colour and some updating. You get what you pay for. If your're just here to sleep, it's fine, but if you want to spend time in your room, pay a little more and stay somewhere more inviting. I chose this hotel because I wanted an outdoor pool. The pool is small and quite cool, and not super clean. The windows in the room were dirty. The bathroom is shabby. My daughter's boyfriend, who is a former student at the university across the street, told us that part of this hotel was used for dorm rooms when the university fell short of rooms for first year students, and that is the flavour of this hotel...kind of like a dorm.

The breakfast room is similarly kind of old and a bit shabby. However, I will say that the front desk and breakfast room staff were very friendly and competent and made us feel very welcome. It was pretty quiet and conveniently located. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I was just passing through town quickly, but for the budget minded, it's pretty good value for the money.

Room Tip: We were able to park just outside our room, which is convenient. Request this if you like this conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, it is unfortunate to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2009 and guests have enjoyed the new design and comfort of the rooms. We would enjoy the opportunity to serve you again in the future should you visit Guelph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The address of the hotel is a street from which you cannot access the hotel. Other than that a fabulous room, clean, reasonably priced - a king suite with the cathedral ceilings was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rexfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the address to the hotel and the main entrance do differ and I completely understand how it can be confusing. But now that you have found us we hope you continue to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 716 Gordon Street, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is conveniently located directly adjacent to the University of Guelph, government offices and close to commercial, retail and residential areas, all in a beautiful park-like setting in Guelph, Ontario. The Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is ideal for the business traveler with all the value added amenities you've come to expect including complimentary high speed wireless internet access, free local, calling card access and toll-free calls and a complimentary hot breakfast.For the leisure guest, traveling through Southwestern Ontario, the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph boasts a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck from May to September and plenty of free parking for your accommodation needs. With ample meeting/conference space and superior catering facilities, the hotel is ideal for any social or business function. When travelling through southwestern Ontario, consider the Best Western Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph for your next reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Guelph
Ramada Guelph
Guelph Ramada
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Brock Hotel & Conference Centre Guelph, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing