We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It’s ok enough”
Review of Royal Brock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Brock Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It’s ok enough”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed here on two separate occasions for work, each time for one night. The first time I had a corner room on the second floor – the room was super cold and I had to crank the heat. The second time I was on the first floor in a middle room and thankfully had no issues. The rooms look like they have been refurbished, but there’s a strange smell in the hallways.

There is free parking and complimentary breakfast. The eggs look like they are made from a package, but thankfully there’s bread, yogurt and cereal available.

It’s a short drive into the main centre of town where you can find restaurants to eat at (i.e. under 10 minutes).

Given I was just here to sleep, it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, we apologize for not meeting your expectations. We do pre heat rooms prior to guest arrival and sorry to hear the room was cold when you entered. Our eggs are break free and frequently enjoyed by our guests, i am happy you found a suitable alternative on our buffet. I do sincerely hope you give us another chance in the near future, we hope your next stay will better representation of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    90
    61
    15
    13
See reviews for
80
61
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel gives you a fairly comfortable bed in a slightly drab room needing some colour and some updating. You get what you pay for. If your're just here to sleep, it's fine, but if you want to spend time in your room, pay a little more and stay somewhere more inviting. I chose this hotel because I wanted an outdoor pool. The pool is small and quite cool, and not super clean. The windows in the room were dirty. The bathroom is shabby. My daughter's boyfriend, who is a former student at the university across the street, told us that part of this hotel was used for dorm rooms when the university fell short of rooms for first year students, and that is the flavour of this hotel...kind of like a dorm.

The breakfast room is similarly kind of old and a bit shabby. However, I will say that the front desk and breakfast room staff were very friendly and competent and made us feel very welcome. It was pretty quiet and conveniently located. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I was just passing through town quickly, but for the budget minded, it's pretty good value for the money.

Room Tip: We were able to park just outside our room, which is convenient. Request this if you like this conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, it is unfortunate to hear you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2009 and guests have enjoyed the new design and comfort of the rooms. We would enjoy the opportunity to serve you again in the future should you visit Guelph.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The address of the hotel is a street from which you cannot access the hotel. Other than that a fabulous room, clean, reasonably priced - a king suite with the cathedral ceilings was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rexfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the address to the hotel and the main entrance do differ and I completely understand how it can be confusing. But now that you have found us we hope you continue to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Everything was fantastic, the breakfast, the room, the pillows, the staff, the gym! I went with friends for the Hillside festival, we had a great time and I wish I had more reasons to go back to Guelph after this stay! We will definitely be back next year, thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities on your visit. We hope to see you again next year during the Hillside festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Perfect for our needs! Very clean!!!



Michele rivard

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your very positive feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Ketan Nagra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I booked this hotel because of it's close proximity to U of Guelph. It's only 5 minutes walk from the campus. Bright spaceous rooms, very clean, very nice and modern looking. Exceptionally friendly and helpfull staff. The breakfast was only OK. I came back to this hotel twice already, and will do again, whenever I have business in Guelph.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogutarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, we strive to insure the best in service and cleanliness and are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay and shared your experience with other travellers. We look forward to your return. GM Ketan Nagra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My sister and I stayed here while on vacation. We absolutely enjoyed everything about it. The location with shops nearby,the staff were very friendly and extra helpful,the breakfast was just what we were looking for. Our stay was very comfortable. We shall return.

Room Tip: I enjoy the ground corner unit. Very convienient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketan N, General Manager at Royal Brock Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
We are delighted your trip to our city was a pleasant experience and you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you anytime you may return to Guelph. GM Ketan Nagra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Guelph
Days Inn Guelph
#6 of 13 in Guelph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Guelph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Brock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Brock Hotel

Property: Royal Brock Hotel
Address: 716 Gordon St, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Brock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is conveniently located directly adjacent to the University of Guelph, government offices and close to commercial, retail and residential areas, all in a beautiful park-like setting in Guelph, Ontario. The Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph is ideal for the business traveler with all the value added amenities you've come to expect including complimentary high speed wireless internet access, free local, calling card access and toll-free calls and a complimentary hot breakfast. For the leisure guest, traveling through Southwestern Ontario, the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph boasts a seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck from May to September and plenty of free parking for your accommodation needs. When travelling through Southwestern Ontario, consider the Royal Brock Hotel in Guelph for your next reservation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Brock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Brock Hotel And Conference Centre
Best Western Guelph
Ramada Guelph
Guelph Ramada
Royal Brock Hotel Guelph, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing