We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for What you Pay”
Review of Days Inn Guelph

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Guelph
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for a few days while visiting our son in Guelph. As other reviewers have indicated, it is an older hotel with a nice outer appearance, but once you get into your room it's apparent the place has been around a while and some aspects are feeling the age of the place. Having said that, the room we had was quite clean and in terms of comfort, it was OK. Bottom line, for about $90. taxes included, it's fair value, especially if you want to be near the university. BTW, the staff are very friendly, helpful, and certainly do their best here.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if hauling suitcases is a problem , request a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CashandCarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Guelph
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 434 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

The TV, bed and everything else in this hotel is out of date. The room was basic and clean but was so worn that I imagine no ammount of cleaning would make you feel comfortable there. The front desk staff was friendly.

The bed was sagging in the middle due to wear and the duvet was torn... Not up to parr with the price at all.

Breakfast was simple.

Location was the only positive note about this hotel... However, you can get that at the holiday inn and delta about 0.2 km away from this hotel.

Room Tip: The picture DO NOT match the rooms AT ALL
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebGuelph, General Manager at Days Inn Guelph, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Thank you for providing your comments and concerns regarding your stay in April. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satsifying, I am not sure what room you had but the majortiy of our rooms have 37" HDTV's with the remaining rooms getting replaced this year. We are also introducing our new bedding program which will be in place shortly. Other renovations we are completing include renovating our smoking rooms to become a 100% smoke free hotel! Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again if you are visiting Guelph again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed in a number of hotels in Guelph while visiting our son at the University, and this one does the best job ticking the boxes. Proximity to U of Guelph and shops. easy access, good parking, nice area, clean (but plain) and very economical. There is a basic continental breakfast included and the staff was very friendly. There is a great little Vietnamese/Thai restaurant in the strip mall across the street that is just a hole in the wall but has amazing food and friendly staff. After a great dinner there we went back a second time for a big bowl of pho. Very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blewnoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Pretty good value for the money. This hotel got two floors. No elevator. There is a heavy steel door on the top of the stairs that everyone coming and going got to use. This slamming door gets VERY ANNOYING at 1 am. I dont know who the genius was who decided that a door was neccessary. It serves no purpose other than pissing off those trying to sleep at 1 am!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilovedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I was surprised when I saw a $250 security deposit on the bill at check-in. They said it was standard, but not at any hotel I have stayed in. The room had a step in the hall on the way to the bathroom, which was kind of unique. The door leading down to the lobby on the second floor is not clearly marked, which could be a safety issue in the event of a fire. The breakfast was nothing fancy, but adequate. The hair dryer had been replaced, but the screw holes from the previous one are still visible on the wall.
On the good side, the staff were nice, and the room was quiet. Not coming here again however.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Front desk staff unfailingly polite, outside of building attractive, inside is another story entirely.

Room Tip: Stale smoke air permeates the stairwell and the center of second floor. The only access to any any a...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontariochick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed on a Sunday night and the motel was pretty empty, Still we were stuck upstairs in the smallest room in the place that still had problems with dust and smell. They charged the same price we paid at a nice hotel in Montreal. We belong to their marketing club that rewards you for staying at their brand. If we run into another motel like this, we will be throwing that card out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flintguy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Brock Hotel
Royal Brock Hotel
#9 of 13 in Guelph
307 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Guelph
202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
0.2 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Guelph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Guelph

Address: 785 Gordon St, Guelph, Ontario N1G 1Y8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Price Range: $75 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Guelph 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Guelph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Guelph Hotel Guelph
Guelph Days Inn
Days Inn Guelph Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing