We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Guelph
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I alway been treated with respect while at this hotel. The service has been great. There is plenty of FREE parking. This hotel is close to all attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaws9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2009

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are extremely happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Guelph.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 314 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on our wedding night. The staff was friendly and welcoming they did everything they could to make sure our day was truly special; we even got an upgraded room! The rooms were clean and comfortable. We didn't have much time to spend in the hotel but did notice they have a large pool and hot tub which we will use when we return for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2009

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments. As a hotel, that is constantly striving to improve, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to have been able to help make your wedding day memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary or just for a relaxing getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This is the 3rd or 4th time we've stayed here on our way north. Overall, the hotel was fine. Clean rooms and bathrooms, pleasant staff, great pool and nice buffet breakfast. Hotel is in a good location. Close to the mall and drug store and our favorite restaurant "Swiss Chalet"! Our only problem this year was with the smell of cigarette smoke in our hallway. We were in a non smoking area, but someone must have been smoking because the smell coming under our door was appalling. We had to put a towel down to prevent the smoke from coming in. We told the front desk about the smell and she said they would send someone up to check the situation out and bring some spray, but this didn't really help.She also said that smoking room were also located just down the hall from us and the smell might be drifting down. It would be nice if the hotel would ban smoking all together or have a specific floor just for smokers. Other than than the smell ( and a few loud partiers roaming the hallway about 1:00am), everything else was fine. We will probably stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnntim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2009

We are so pleased that you have chosen to stay with us year after year. We have to agree that we are ideally located near some of the best shopping and restaurants in Guelph.

We certainly appreciate your feedback as it is only through such valuable suggestions and ideas as yours that we are able to improve.

Thank you and we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at a Holiday Inn Express a month ago outside of Boston, for about $90 canadian...great deal, nice and clean. large queen size beds.,
The family and I stayed one night at this Holiday Inn in Guelph this past weekend. Seemed that maybe there were only a few families other than our own. I upgraded to a deluxe for approx. $144. Went to the room, toilet would not work. Called the front desk, then someone came up about 20 mins later with a key for a different room. --No apologies, just handed me two new cards. Went to the new room, beds were double (probably the smallest doube Ihave seen in my life. )Bathroom had missing grout in tiles and growth of something in its place. Tub water faucet was turned sideways.....appeared that no one had been in the room for a long time to see if it was ok. Very poor value at $144 (we did see if we could upgrade to Queen and sofa bed....quoted $225 was the best they could do. poor poor poor quality,
Location was good, thats all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday_Inn_Guelph, Front Desk Manager at Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2009

Thank you for your review. The location of the hotel is convenient for travellers due to its close proximity to the Stone Road Mall, numerous dining establishments, and the University of Guelph.
We are porud of our facilites and sorry we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is greatly aprreciated and we are taking appropriate measures to ensure this does not happen in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

The hotel was very nice. Conveniently located near the highway and the town. Exactly what we needed.

The check in process was rather slow. It took a while to get all of the paperwork complete.

We had two rooms. One was fine, but the other had a few small issues related to cleanliness in the bathroom. First, there were numerous hairs on the bottom of the tub, both long and short, but either way, disgusting. Additionally, there was a dirty towel that fell out of the shower curtain when pulled shut.

The beds were clean and comfortable, and the pillow menu tells you which kind you need depending upon what position you prefer to sleep in. The front desk promptly brought my choice.

The restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. Susan was an excellent and friendly waitress.

One other thing to consider- if you get adjoining rooms, be careful. If you go from room to room, the door closes behind you and locks. Unless you prop it open, you need a key to go around a re-enter. Without thinking, we did this and needed to go to the front desk for another key (didn't check ID, talk0 about security...)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nate269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel and we hope to come back next summer. Our room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Awesome shower heads in the bathroom, too!!! The kids loved the large pool and hot tub. Our room was poolside and was a bit noisy in the evening, but everyone quieted down by 11. We found the staff extremely pleasant and acted quickly when we requested more towels and a cot. Enjoyed the Sunday breakfast buffet, as well.

There was a wedding reception booked at the hotel on the night we stayed. We enjoyed watching the bridal party put on their hockey jerseys before entering the reception hall!!!

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in Guelph. It is a bit more pricey, but we feel the level of service you receive is worth it. There is plenty of parking (we were hauling our boat with us up north) and the hotel is close to a mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dawninheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Again, there are communication problems between the chain and a local Holiday Inn. We booked a King Executive Suite through the Holiday Inn website, with a complimentary hot buffet breakfast and "turn-down service" (for what that's worth). Neither one was provided. The room was supposed to have a 32" plasma TV--it did not. Front-desk staff rather grudgingly gave us coupons for the breakfast, after being unable to verify (their computer was down or slow) that the offer included it. Did they feel we were trying to get something for nothing?--a followup phone call with an apology would have been appreciated once they had confirmed what was included.
There were beer-bottle caps left by the television by a previous occupant and not removed; one robe, not two; and, stains on the carpet. 30-40 rooms that weekend were let out to parrots and macaws (and their owners) for a convention, so there was a lot of chirping and squawking going on. We didn't mind the charming birds so much, but some ornithophobics might (or folks thinking of cleaniness and health concerns). But, in fairness, this is advertised as a "pet-friendly" hotel.
The worst feature of the accommodations was that the suite had no outside window. The windows opened on to an interior corridor, so for privacy you had to keep the drapes pulled, which of course made the room rather dark and dingy in the daytime. And, the suite's sofabed faced the king bed on the other side of glass french doors, so there was not much more privacy available to the 3 occupants than a standard room with two queen beds would have given.
I'd consider an alternative next visit, tho' Guelph does not seem to offer many hotel options.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank wjames5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Guelph hotels
2.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Guelph
1.1 mi away
Delta Guelph Hotel and Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Guelph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 13 in Guelph
205 reviews
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Guelph
1.2 mi away
Royal Brock Hotel
Royal Brock Hotel
#8 of 13 in Guelph
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 601 Scottsdale Dr, Guelph, Ontario N1G 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Guelph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guelph
#6 Business Hotel in Guelph
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located close to all major arteries, and a short distance from: University of Guelph campus Linamar Monsanto Mandel Scientific Cargill Nestle Waters OMAFRA Syngenta CFIA Semex The Cooperators Eli Lily Sleeman Breweries Danby Hitachi Owens Corning Bayer Crop McNeil Consumer TC Industries Tiger Drylac Denso Skyjack ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel And Conference Centre
Guelph Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Guelph Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing