We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest but excellent”

Diwa Classic Indian Cuisine
Ranked #19 of 383 Restaurants in Guelph
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Modest but excellent”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Diwa is a modest physical plant in a small strip mall, but the interior decor is suitably refined and the food and service were very good. For this caliber of restaurant, I'd say all three criteria rate 5/5. We have been before (and had take-out) and will return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbelville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Food and Wonderful Service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have been looking for great Southern Indian food, since we ate at The Royal Taste of India in Whistler, BC and it seems that we were looking in the wrong places. We tried Toronto, Scarborough, Mississauga, Oakville, and we finally found what we were looking for in Guelph!!!

As they say, Quelle Surprise!

This restaurant is well worth the visit.

Highly Recommended!

ATB

LIG

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Still looking for the Best Indian Restaurant in Guelph”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Food was good as was the service. I am a bit spoiled as I have had great Indian food in Bermuda (House of India!) and I am trying to find someplace as good here. Diwa is good, but just not as good. No complaints and we will probably go again, unless I find someplace better!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth Crossing the Hanlon”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

It's a special treat to have such good Indian food in Guelph. The Pakoras are tasty (not greasy), the veggie dishes are spectacular (the eggplant, saag paneer, mutter paneer mmmm) and I'd highly recommend the halibut Goan curry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Satiate: "to satisfy (an appetite or desire) fully"”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This word best describes our experience at Diwa Classic. We hadn't been for awhile and the place has improved the decor but kept it subdued and classy. The food was better than ever. Each spice flavour stood out on it's own. Except for ordering too much for four people (we wanted it all!) every morsel was appreciated. There seemed to be lot's of lamb to choose from despite our American friend's disappointment ( were they at the this restaurant or another downtown Guelph restaurant?) Nevertheless the halibut, chicken sizzler, appetizer plate and cardamom laced rice pudding and mango 'ice cream'. The gracious hostess/owner suggested a balanced selection that satisfied our appetite. We can't wait to go back and will make this a regular 'go to' choice including the take out option and dine at home whilst enjoying a meal from heaven!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JazCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diwa Classic Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Guelph, Ontario
 

Been to Diwa Classic Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing