We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country pub with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunalley Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunalley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunalley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Dunalley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Country pub with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Lunch at the Dunalley Hotel reminded me of how warm and convivial Tasmanian country pubs can be. Just after Christmas and with a good crowd in attendance the place was buzzing. Staff were genuinely friendly and obliging, happy to answer queries about the origins of seafood and what accompanied dishes - not always the case in country eateries. The food was good country fare - pan fried very fresh whole flounder, sea food in a delicate, light lemon mornay sauce, very fresh salad from that 70s institution the salad bar. Prices quite reasonable at $27 for the flounder and $25 the sea food. A bottle of local Bream Creek Sauvignon. Blanc at $38 complimented a flavoursome meal in a convivial setting. Service was spot-on, efficient, accurate and very friendly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in for lunch. Good pots of Cascade and really good steak sandwiches.

Recommend the front bar - service was outstanding, menu good and you can have a punt too!

Great pub, untouched by recent fires. Worth dropping in on your way down the peninsula.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We were in the area for a mountain bike race. The catering at the event was terrible so we dined at the hotel twice to fuel up. Both times was simply brilliant. The chilli scallop pasta was perfect with heaps of scallops.

The other highlights in our group was the 400gm steak and the seafood bake.

I highly recommend this pub for a hearty and delicious meal.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ridemtbsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have eaten here previously and found the meals not only to be great value but mouth watering. Unfortunately this visit was a huge let down. Two of our party had steaks and despite one ordering medium/rare and the other medium, both were served over done to the point of being dry. The only thing that saved them from being inedible and sent back were the sauces and the hunger of the recipients.
The seafood was overcooked and clearly the kitchen had run out of Tartare Sauce as mine was served with a Seafood Cocktail sauce.
Two members politely referred a staff member to the state of the steak meals and did not even receive the courtesy of an apology.
I have never had any reservation about recommending this place previously, I am afraid that reputation has been destroyed now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelNin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had family visiting ranging from 4yrs to 69 and this hotel catered exceptionally well for all. The hotel is renowned for it's seafood which is caught locally......flounder is always top of the list. Meals are extremely generous with their chicken parmigiana almost overlapping the plate, with large amounts of fresh vegetables, (which could be cooked a couple of minutes longer and still be crisp!).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank banksias374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I had the scallops and vegetables and really enjoyed it. Food prices were cheap and so was the beer. Meal arrived in a flash and there was lots of it. Couldn't possibly finish it all and i would recommend to arrive with a very empty stomach! Room was heated with a large open fire place too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jezremedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I wanted to eat here to support this hotel who had been wonderful and supportive to their community in the bush fires.

I had the best meal, avocado chicken with lemon sauce. I was craving veggies as I had not had them being away from home. The chicken was so tender and moist, the lemon sauce was to die for. Veggies, seven different veggies, cooked to perfection. My sons meal was good as well.

Obviously a popular local place too, horrid wet, dull day in winter, the place was rapidly filling by the time we left. We did wait awhile for our meal but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Did not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunalley
10.2 mi away
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
Lufra Hotel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Eaglehawk Neck
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Fox and Hounds Inn
The Fox and Hounds Inn
#3 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
17.2 mi away
Stewarts Bay Lodge
Stewarts Bay Lodge
#1 of 3 in Port Arthur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Port Arthur Motor Inn
Port Arthur Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Arthur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
16.9 mi away
Port Arthur Holiday Park
Port Arthur Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Port Arthur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
14.3 mi away
Parsons Bay Retreat
Parsons Bay Retreat
#1 of 1 in Nubeena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunalley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunalley Hotel

Property: Dunalley Hotel
Address: 210 Arthur Hwy, Dunalley, Tasmania 7177, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Dunalley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunalley
Also Known As:
Dunalley Hotel Australia - Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing