We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Jewel”

The Plaice Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #28 of 115 Restaurants in Fort Erie
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Pizza, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rustic Jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Not much to look at on the outside and cowboy western on the inside, this surprisingly spacious spot has great local fish. Fridays are fish fry days with different specials, usually offering local and delicious Perch and more. Service was top notch friendly and efficient, reasonable prices and a decently varied menu. Look past the outside and come for fish and chips!

Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Plaice to be!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you like the bar atmosphere then this is for you. Chicken wings are awesome and also the fish. Clean and friendly waitresses. Lots of parking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolmarol00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
177 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“The Redemption of the Fish Fryer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Picture this. It is a dingy clapboard building that looks like it came out of the movie set Porky's. It has a patio with the charm of an industrial park. You walk into the place and the first thing that you see is a run-down bar with horse racing on the big screen tvs, showing the races from the track down the street. Old men sit around the bar sipping beer, looking idly at racing forms, while they visibly erode right before your eyes. You wonder what the heck you are doing here, and then you see the "dining" room.

It is like stepping into the 1970's. As a matter of fact, the furnishings are from the 1970's and the floor hasn't been swept since then either. The wood is dark and scarred. The booths look homemade. There are crumbs on the floor mixed in among the other detritus of other diners. The tables have a particularly upscale paper towel dispenser. The paper towel dispensers are all stocked.

The waitresses are perky and helpful. The place is hopping. The parking lot is full. There is a din of happy diners. The fryer is going full blast. Almost everything on the menu is deep fried. There is enough fryer oil in the place to run Willie Nelson's tour bus for a month.

This is a port town with a major fishery, so everyone is here for the fish. The name Plaice is a pun for plaice fish. Why did we stop? Because they serve the sweetest, moistest, tastiest, most succulent and delicious fish that swims -- the Lake Erie Perch. It is delicate and wonderful. It is bar none, the best fish on the planet, and this place serves it from Friday to Sunday.

The menu has items like wings, burgers and pizza. Nobody was buying (except me -- I got an order of wings). The wings were supposed to be hot. They weren't. The blue cheese dipping sauce was delicately spiced with the aroma of urinal puck. The wings were oilier than a chicken hit run over by a Fiat with blown head gasket. The meal came with generic dinner buns that were stale, but were stamped from the finest cardboard.

So having said all of that, would I go back again? You bet. The fish fryer redeems the place. The perch is perfect. The special was a haddock and perch dish, and they do know how to make fish and chips. Everything else is a wash.

The fish fryer redeems the place. As we exited The Plaice, another reminder of the 1970's greeted us. Guys and dolls had their muscle cars on display in the parking lot. The hoods were up to get a glimpse of chromed Detroit iron. If you at all miss the 1970's, or want to experience it first hand yourself, you have the perfect time machine, in The Plaice. Be sure to try the Lake Erie Perch. It is the only reason to visit it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TechLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't Be Fooled by the Exterior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

At first glance you would assume The Plaice doesn't have much to offer. While the exterior isn't pretty the food is worth the venture in. My husband ordered an appetizer called Ralphy's Peppers, hot peppers with anchovy, he loved them. Chicken wings were very good and I ordered fish that was done in foil with cajun seasoning, it was delicious, and moist. We look forward to a return visit for wings!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMILTON
Level Contributor
125 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not bad for a small town eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I ordered broiled fish, something I normally don't do at an unknown spot. I was glad that I did as my fish was very tasty and moist. I'd try this restaurant again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank haz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plaice Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Plaice Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing