We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Delightful Dinner and one Disappointment”

The Old Bank Bistro
Ranked #9 of 115 Restaurants in Fort Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Italian, Greek, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One Delightful Dinner and one Disappointment”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to the Old Bank for dinner on Thursday night and had a delightful dinner. The atmosphere in the enclosed alleyway was very unique. Service was swift and efficient. We liked it so much we went back on Friday night. Mistake. The place was nearly full and the staff seemed unable to cope. We had a long wait for our meal, "The Special," and the haddock was undercooked and tasteless. We were so hungry we ate it anyway. Because of the long delay the waitress offered us chocolate cake for desert at no charge. We wanted out of there. There was another long wait at the checkout at the bar. Checkout was being handled by the bartenders who were frantically serving people at the bar. They would checkout one customer then leave. You had to wait for another bartender to come to the cash register. He casually asked, "How was everything?" I answered that we felt the fish was not cooked properly. He replied, "We are very busy tonight." Some comfort for customers who had a great experience one night and came back to poor service and undercooked food the next.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PLESLIE23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    10
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Restaurant from hell?”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The restaurant's website says 'we hope to meet you and your guests someday, and we'll be ready to serve you a dining experience that you won't forget... You can bank on that!'

They are right.... but for the wrong reasons

I gave it 1 out 5 because there was no 0. It was like something out of a horror movie

I booked a table in the courtyard , but on arrival had to wait 10 minutes to be seated by I presume the owner.
Our drinks took half an hour. One wine was undrinkable and had to be changed. There were no top ups of water

We felt totally ignored by this strange man

The food seemed like it had simply been heated in a microwave.we had a seafood marinara to share and then pepper lemon salmon and stuffed haddock. Average at best

We were told to keep our utensils as there were no fresh ones for the main course.

When we tried to pay we were told to go to the counter. And ignored again

I left the cash rather than wait another 15 minutes to use credit card

This was so bad, my recommendation is close the restaurant and certainly, no one in their right mind should go there. This is simply not good enough and a poor advert for Fort Erie

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnsnelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

French onion soup not the same...
Perogies not as good.
Chicken fingers were great so that is a plus.
Waitress Laurie was very good at what she does.
Will I try it again? Probably it is a nice restaurant, just
will give some other food a try and send it back if I don't like it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank margeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visit this restaurant often the atmosphere is so pretty. The food is always great and the staff are very sweet.

Try the bruschetta bread it is amazing :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our "Go to" Restaurant!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If great service and food are priorities of yours then this is the place to go. Very consistant, no unwelcome surprises. Love the friendly and attentive staff. Always a warm welcome and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marlene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bank Bistro also viewed

 
Fort Erie, Ontario
Crystal Beach, Fort Erie
 

Been to The Old Bank Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing