We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clarion Hotel in Ft Erie Ontario” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Erie
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clarion Hotel in Ft Erie Ontario”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Have gone for 3 yrs straight in July/Aug. Lovely place about 3 blocks from beach on Lake Erie. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Afordable restaurants and golf a minute away. Only a 20 min. drive to Niagara-on-the-Lake or Niagara Falls which is much more beautiful than the American side.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    76
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
63
45
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Offers nice rooms at a reasonable rate. Staff is friendly and helpful, but a little unsure about the specials, so be patient and ask about anything you are unsure of. Ultimately, they helped us out a lot and offered some great advice on deals.

Room Tip: A nice place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

For the price, breakfast should be included. The room was fine, didn't use any othe the other facilities- place seemed deserted - too expensive for traveller overnight business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice last summer, and again this July. A very nice hotel, very clean rooms and comfortable beds - definitely recommended.
My rating of the restaurant is from last July. We made the mistake of thinking the breakfast was included with our room - it wasn't. We decided to eat there anyways...we waited ages for our simple breakfast. People who arrived and ordered long after us were eating their food and we were still waiting - very frustrating when you're on a long road trip and want to get underway. The food itself was awful, and fairly pricey, What a disappointment.
So, stay at the hotel, but go to Tim Horton's for breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthernMom_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Passing by on a family vacation, this was an excellent hotel to spend the night.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

While looking for a hotel in the Niagara Falls Ontario area, I noticed that this Clarion in Fort Erie, Ontario had once been a Holiday Inn. Also the Choice Privileges points charge is only 8,000 per night. It sounded too good to pass up and I booked for 2 nights which were a Saturday and Sunday. What a deal it turned out to be. The hotel is 15 miles West of Niagara Falls along the QEW highway but the little bit of extra travel saved us literally hundreds of dollars since the hotels around the falls run from $150 to $300 per night in July. The Peace Bridge to Buffalo, Ny is 10 minutes away. At this hotel, there is a very very nice pool and whirlpool. The pool is about 6 feet deep at its deep end and the water temperature was a wonderful 85 degrees. No shivering here. It opens at 6 am and closes at 11 pm. We stayed in room #463 which was spotless. Apparently it was just spruced up because there were no smears on the paint or wallpaper and the bathroom had a new tub/shower enclosure as well as being spotless.. The tub wall is about an 18" step if heigth is a concern. the water pressure nere is the best. The bedding while perhaps not new, is very comfortable . The cooling system will definitely keep you very cool if you want and come from a wall location. Therefore it is very quiet. In the room, is a refrigerator and a small sink, but this may not be true for all rooms. A restaurant is on site but we chose to eat at the Green Acres Family restaurant which is 1/4 miles from the hotel and is rated on Tripadvisor as #2 out of 54. We ate there 2 nights and it should be rated highly.It is also about 1/3 the price of food at the falls. This hotel was indeed a good deal and we will stay here on our future trips.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmartibOswego_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
283 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were in the area for a family event. Had a "family suite" at the Clarion for the very reasonable price of $149 per night. The room was huge,with a king bed in one room, and 2 queen beds in the other room. Standard hotel bathroom, plus additional small sink in the kitchenette area. The beds were comfortable and the room was quiet. There is an indoor pool and a restaurant on site. Plenty of free parking. Hotel is nice and quiet. The only negative thing I can say is that the room had not been cleaned thoroughly. We found old food in our mini-fridge and there was a pair of underwear beneath our bed. Yuck. Otherwise, great place to stay for a family. Very short drive to Niagra Falls via the very scenic drive along the river.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bloomcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Erie
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Fort Erie
Comfort Inn Fort Erie
#2 of 6 in Fort Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
13.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
Quality Hotel Fallsview Cascade
#15 of 135 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#6 of 51 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Fallsview
Rodeway Inn Fallsview
#13 of 135 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
13.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
10.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 17 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 1485 Garrison Rd, Fort Erie, Ontario L2A 1P8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Fort Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Fort Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Excellent Service Above Hotels In Fort Erie If quality service is important to you, then you belong at the award-winning Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites of Fort Erie / Niagara Convention Centre. Our hotel near Niagara Falls is conveniently located near Queen Elizabeth Way to keep you connected to Buffalo, NY, Toronto and downtown Fort Erie, Ontario. Our hotel's location at the 'Gateway to Canada' ensures you'll find plenty of attractions nearby. Our hotel's location on Lake Erie and proximity to Niagara River and Niagara Falls gives you plenty of outdoor options. You can also visit the local wineries, tour Old Fort Erie, or go shopping at the many markets surrounding our hotel. Fort Erie Civic Centre Complex, Town Hall, Erie Personnel Corporation and other businesses are also convenient to our hotel's location. Fort Erie business travelers benefit from our corporate amenities, including seven meeting rooms, an exclusive Executive floor and a 24-hr Business Centre. We go beyond other hotels on Lake Erie to give you a comfortable stay. You can eat at Freeland's Restaurant and Lounge, play games in the Arcade and relax in the indoor, heated pool, whirlpool or sauna. Each room has triple-sheeted bedding, a large TV and a work area with free high-speed Internet access, and many rooms have mini-fridges, fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and more. For an excellent stay in Fort Erie, Ontario, our hotel's staff invites you to the Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Choice Canada so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Centre
Holiday Inn Fort Erie
Fort Erie Holiday Inn
Clarion Hotel & Conference Centre Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing