We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secret - shhhh!!!”
Review of Eremo delle Grazie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eremo delle Grazie
Ranked #1 of 2 Monteluco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A secret - shhhh!!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Signora Valeria made our holiday in Spoleto unforgettable. We visited in August 2013 (sorry for late review!).
I enjoy hotels that create an experience, and Eremo delle grazie was everything that you could want to experience in Umbria and Spoleto. The rooms are authentic in the style of the former monastery, but bathrooms are modern enough. My favorite was opening the shutters in the morning to be bathed in sunlight with the spectacular views of Spoleto valley below.
The terrace and restaurant area is stunning. Our favorite memories are coming back to the property late afternoon and sitting with a plate of cheese, meat, bread and wine playing games with the most beautiful sunsets.
I don't think we knew what we were getting into visiting this hotel - it is quite remote, and you need to have a car which we did not. But Signora Valeria rallied her local friends to arrange cars to take us around to the wedding & the activities that we were attending. We didn't have to worry. She really did look after her young visiting couple.
It is my dream to have a reason to come back. Thank you Signora Valeria, and to you and your friends in Spoleto, wishing you a very happy new year. May we meet again.

Room Tip: We had one of the Ginepro junior rooms - it was so old and authentic. Loved it - fabulous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valeria54, Proprietario at Eremo delle Grazie, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much , it was a pleasure to meet you and try to solve the problems !
I hope you can find a good reason to return,
Happy New Year to you too
Valeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    23
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
76
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Imola
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This ancient hermitage ( now "residenza d'epoca" - historical quality house ) is a fascinating site. I was doing fine in this hotel as at home.
Furniture are authentic ancient but you will find a very modern and comfortable bath room
Eremo delle Grazie is a magic site where tranquility and the surrounding nature will help you to find your deep down.
The owner is an adorable women and the service is perfect.
Internet wi-fi is free and very fast.
If you like walking in a path across woods long just 1 km will arrive in Spoleto
I will come again !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emisuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imola
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This ancient hermitage ( now "residenza d'epoca" - historical quality house ) is a fascinating site. I was doing fine in this hotel as at home.
Furniture are authentic ancient but you will find a very modern and comfortable bath room
Eremo delle Grazie is a magic site where tranquility and the surrounding nature will help you to find your deep down.
The owner is an adorable women and the service is perfect.
Internet wi-fi is free and very fast.
If you like walking in a path across woods long just 1 km will arrive in Spoleto
I will come again !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emisuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

we stayed in Eremo delle grazie for 2 nights only.what a wondefull experience this was for us and our 8 year old twindaughters who were trying to find all the little secret corners of the hotel!
Heart and soul were very much the feeling of this ancient full of history converted monastery.
Marcello the chef cooked on demand to fullfill our wishes plentyfull and Valeria was the perfect informative host all with commanding vieuws over the Spoleto valley.
After a day of exploration the pool gave the needed refreshment and where do you still find a 'gentlemans' bar nowadays??
we felt as if at home and will come back.
love Ko,Soo,Sofia and Lisa from Istanbul Turkey

Room Tip: the Cardinals room might be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valeria54, Proprietario at Eremo delle Grazie, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thanks Ko,
also for me it was a nice experience know you and your wonderful family.
You said ,when you were here, just the right thing: this place is ALL HEART!
This hermitage was built with passion and love and all those who have lived loved it.
For this reason, we are happy that people know him and have the experience of living the emotions of the hermitage!
A greeting and a big hug to Soo, Lisa and Sophia
See you soon
Valeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho California
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Seven of us who were on a Ducati motorcycle tour in Central Italy, stayed at Eremo delle Grazie and it was the highlight of our tour! This exquisitely restored and maintained former Monastery is a treasure not to be missed. To stay at such a spectacular facility with origins in the 5th Century and in its current form since the mid 1500s is one of life’s most rare and memorable experiences. Anyone who stays here and it not deeply moved by this majestic living museum, steeped in Italian history, needs a serious soul check. It’s fitting that Michelangelo said of this location, “Only in the Woods is there Peace.”

I am an amateur photo fanatic and found it impossible to run out of incredible scenes to shoot. There are many beautiful views looking down over Spoleto and its surroundings from the long dining patio. Inside the facility are numerous impressive antiques and paintings throughout the many rooms and cells. The hallway where my suite was located contained numerous interesting pieces and I photographed them all……leaving those who have seen the photos amazed that such a place exists.

The chef prepared an unforgettable multi-course regional dinner for us and then came out to visit with us afterward. Valerie and her staff are very attentive. They give you all of the space you require to relax, but are quickly there when you need anything. It’s absolutely worth going out of your way to experience a stay at this ‘graceful retreat.’

My wife and I are certainly headed there during our next trip to Italy.

Room Tip: Seven of us had separate rooms and all were different and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DucDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

In my years of travelling this must be one of the most difficult hotels to review. The location is stunning with a long terrace overlooking Spoleto and surrounding countryside. The building has a great deal of history and many of the communal rooms are dark with antiquities relating to its past. Because of this at times when no one was around it was a little eerie. The pool area appeared a little under used and slightly neglected. The food was excellent but a little pricey. We had a pre set menu which was good value and included local wine. The owner, a lady called Valerie, was constantly on hand but with cigarette and wine in hand. We found her very helpful and a great character but I suspect some people expecting a clinical opertation (hotel not cheap) may not have found this so appealing. She also had two dogs running around the terrace and a rabbit in a cage on a table. The rooms were genarally clean but despite the location had no views (or TV's if that's your thing) and a little dusty in places. The narrow road to the hotel off the tarmac has precipitous sides. In general we are people that like local quirkiness and characters so as such we had an excellent stay. I suspect others may not think so. I have rated the hotel based on our enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BENSONYork_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

overlooking spoleto and convenient to many day trips like Montefalco, Bevagna, Assisi. the site and terrace make it hard to leave. a lot of history here and much to explore in the hotel itself. the wine cellar was the cave carved into the rock by the first monk to live at this location. quite magical.

one of my best meals ever here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sortofafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteluco
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
417 reviews
3.4 mi away
La Fattoria
La Fattoria
#7 of 30 in Spoleto
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#8 of 30 in Spoleto
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo delle Grazie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo delle Grazie

Property: Eremo delle Grazie
Address: Strada di Monteluco 13 | Spoleto-PG, 06049 Monteluco, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto > Monteluco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monteluco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the ‘sacred woods’ of Monteluco, the Hermitage of Santa Maria delle Grazie wraps its guests in its magical atmosphere: away from noise and confusion, but, at the same time, close to the city of Spoleto.The Hermitage has 10 comfortable and welcoming rooms ,all of which have been converted from the ‘cells’ of the hermits. The family atmosphere, strongly guarded by the Lalli family, will allow guests to have a vacation full of charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eremo delle Grazie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Delle Grazie Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing