We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Amaretto - CLOSED

Ristorante Amaretto
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Canadian
Dining options: Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
Niagara
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We had an excellant meal! We ordered the Tbone special and the spaghetti and meatballs. Both meals were great and the price was very reasonable. To top a yummy dinner, the pumpkin maple cheesecake was amazing!

Helpful?
Thank Fleetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So glad we decided to try it out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

After driving by this little place many times, we finally decided to head in one evening and try it out. SO glad we did!
The owners are kind gentle people, and work their butts off to provide great service and food. A quaint little restaurant, it can be very romantic dining on the front porch in evenings with the music soft in the background.
The bread to start with an olive tapenade is delicious! I don't know what they do to this bread, but I cannot get enough of it.
We are picky when it comes to Italian, as we are Italian. We are used to being recco'd "good Italian food", and being dissatisfied.
The first visit here we tried the osso bucco which is to die for and rich, and the gorgonzola gnocchi which was far to rich, but nonetheless delicious. They do not skimp on the plates.
Don't be in a rush, go when you can lounge and relax and truly linger over your dinner. Try different plates, we usually get appetizers, mains, plates to share, etc. All worth it!
The difference is they have a chef who cares, and I feel the ingredients they are using are up there. Plates are large, you can't leave hungry.
Amaretto is in a beautiful setting which can suffer in the winter's, and with the lack of tourists. Go and support this kind couple who are pouring their hearts and souls into the Ristorante.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

As a local, we have eaten here a number of times and find the food to be very good to excellent - favorites are mussles in gorgonzola sauce, lobster ravioli and Friday night fish fry. Owners are very involved and quite welcoming. HIghly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dt-2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All around poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sadly, our experience here was all-around "poor." We were not greeted in a friendly manner. The server tried to "upsell" us on everything.

When we did want something, the server was not around.

The quality of the food was only average but definitely costly in comparison to similar plates at other spots in the region.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crowlandgrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara falls
Level Contributor
185 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Really Bad Wine and Somewhat Edible Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

After all the great reviews, I was really excited to try this restaurant - unfortunately, my experience was the exact opposite.

We had a lot of issues with the wine - it was mostly Canadian blended wines (e.g. non-vintage mix of Canadian and foreign juice) that were produced years ago. These wines are designed to be consumed immediately, but this wine must have been in a warehouse for months! Must of got a deal on wine discontinued at the LCBO from some local wineries as it was absolutely beyond the best before date.

The food was edible, but not that much better than a frozen Michelina's dinner. The pasta was very tough, and the sauce was somewhat overpowered with garlic. I had the pizzacola (sic?) and the steak was minimal - there is more beef in a McDonald's hamburger! My wife was unimpressed with her food.

There seemed to be a crowd of customers (friends or family of the owners) that were receiving preferential treatment by us - the waitress and other staff would visit their table often, and only came to give us our food.

Because of the wine situation, I moved to beer and the beer I chose (Stella Artois) has a best before date on the bottle - usually this date is 6-9 months out at most places, but the bottle I had was only a few days away from being undesirable.


Avoid the wine for sure at this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NFTravller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Amaretto also viewed

 
Crystal Beach, Fort Erie
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing