We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect before/after theatre ....or any time!”

The Wired Up Pugs Cafe Bistro
Ranked #14 of 318 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Canadian, Cafe, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Check out the rich history of our lovely cottage!!!• From the earliest records procured from City hall, Cambridge, our cottage was allocated as a property in 1851.• From 1867 through 1862, Grand Ave S used to be West Main Street South. The owner of our cottage was Andrew Scott,who lived here with the first Lady of our cottage, Shiela and their lovely family.• From 1912 through 1920, we were 93, West Main South, East side and Jos Donaldson resided here with his lovelyfamily.• From 1920 through 1926, we were given our current street name, 93 Grand Ave S and Jos Donaldson still owned thecottage until 1938.• From 1938 through 1987, the cottage was owned by different owners F.J Sheppard, V. Cochrane, F. Jarvis, W. Dunn, C.Jarvis, J. Somerville and Vancont.• From 1991 through 2006, the cottage was owned by Law Photography Studio. From 2008 through 2012, the cottagewas owned by O'Keefe Cottage.And from 2012 to present-day, the cottage has been named as 'The Wired Up Pugs' Cafe-Bistro. Come meet the owners Vidushee and our innovative chef Amit!You will have a great experience with us and the food so good it will keep you coming back for more again andagain.....Come and relive the cottage and have a relaxing time right at the Grand river.Cheers!The Wired Up Pugs Team!
Kitchener Ontario
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“perfect before/after theatre ....or any time!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I chanced upon this place - my child was in a show at the Dunfield theatre and I needed to grab dinner - was looking for a place with good beer and wifi. I instantly fell in love with this place. Great beer, the food was innovative and fresh...some 'safe' traditional offerings but some eclectic fusion ideas which I love. I enjoyed it so much that I changed my reservation for the next night to this restaurant.

Remember that this is fresh...not fast...food. If going before a show, leave yourself lots of time. And it looked like people were catching on to this gem so you might want reservations so you wont be disappointed.

Can't wait to return and bring others. Well done pugs!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BFLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidushee S, Owner at The Wired Up Pugs Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks a ton for the amazing review and to give an apt description of the feel of our place that we try with our heart to deliver every time a patron walks through our doors.
Thanks once again
The Team @ The Wired Up Pugs Cafe Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    24
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch, in fact.. I am still sitting in the cafe.

Food was fantastic, service was great.
Everything was so creative, fresh and light.
We ate the fusion flat bread, burger merger, the chicken wrap, the wired up pie. Also tired Egyptian coffee.
All Excellant!! We will be returning for sure.
The service was fantastic!
I mentioned the coffee was a bit strong, the waitresses who was fantastic from start to finish said she could make it less strong if id like. Wow! Is all I can say. I'm impressed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidushee S, Owner at The Wired Up Pugs Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, we always do the best we can in making every patrons visit a memorable and unique one.

Don't forget to check out our facebook for upcoming events starting in July

Thanks
The Team @ The Wired Up Pugs Cafe - Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute gem on the Grand River”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Came here for lunch with my husband and daughter. The café is small and friendly, with daily specials, etc. listed on large chalkboards around the room. For a small bistro, this place offers a good variety of appetizers and mains, including vegan, lactose-free and gluten-free options. For starters we shared a flatbread: pear and brie on garlic naan. Our daughter had the gourmet burger with avocado, carmelized onion and roasted peppers and a Caesar salad. I had the chicken delight stir fry with an awesome house salad. My husband had the Thai Red Curry which the chef was happy to make as hot has my husband could handle (which means really hot), along with lentil soup. All the food was exceptional. The owners were very friendly and helpful, and will gladly share photos of their six pugs!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Not2old2travelyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidushee S, Owner at The Wired Up Pugs Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for the great review, you guys were amazing, and we do all that we can to make every experience an amazing one.
Looking forward to serving you again

Thanks
The Wired up Pugs Cafe Bistro...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise, close to Dunfield Theatre”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant almost by accident. Having been away from the area for several years, we didn't realize a new restaurant had opened up in this location. Consequently, we stumbled into a fabulous eating place, to which we can't wait to return.

The decor is eclectic, with original wall murals (painted by owner) mixed with photos of local landmarks, and thoughtful quotes by Marcus Aurelius. There are several LARGE menu chalkboards, one of which describes all the daily specials. The menu is a global melange of tastes and appetites. (See their website for their standard menu, http://thewireduppugscafebistro.com/ )

The service (by one or both of the owners) is friendly and attentive. We felt like honoured guests, even though it was our first visit.

I recommend this place for lunch, or a pre-theatre dinner (Drayton's Dunfield Theatre Cambridge, is a block away.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidushee S, Owner at The Wired Up Pugs Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the generous appreciation.
We are honoured by the lovely review

Thanks once again
The team @ wired up pugs cafe - bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited this little cafe for a quick dinner one night and we were please tilt surprised, the food was awesome I had a butter chicken speggetti, very unique but so good, I liked that they support other local buisinesses they sell Ontario craft beer and the food is all fresh not frozen like at most restaurants, the server was awesome he treated us very well, we had brought our young son with us and she was very helpful with our extra needs, we will defiantly be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherokee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidushee S, Owner at The Wired Up Pugs Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review, and thank you to all our patrons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wired Up Pugs Cafe Bistro also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to The Wired Up Pugs Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing