We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Ben Thanh Viet-Thai Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 316 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great food all around! The servers are very friendly, and mostly quick with your food.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Memie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    49
    15
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, ON
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A secret stop off the 401”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I really enjoyed my lunch here. What a healthy break from the 401. Even the padded chairs were comfortable after being in the car. I ordered the "small" mango salad, which came with chicken and that had plenty of chicken and mango and a nice, not overpowering dressing. I also had the Grilled Nam Roll - like a spring roll with grilled pork - almost a sausage. It was almost too much at one lunch time sitting, but was so yummy.
Tea was provided gratis as soon as I sat down and the service was attentive and respectful for a single diner.
It was well worth the little bit of extra time to sit down and eat something healthier than fast food. Or Boston Pizza next door. To be honest, I thought I'd go for sushi at the place next door, but I wanted to eat early, and this place was open already. So it was serendipity that I enjoyed my meal so much. And great prices, too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahMJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

They have average Vietnamese food, nothing special. I think it is more of a North American version, based on the food I get when visiting Vietnamese friends.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank cgw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
“take out fail.”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I ordered take out from the restaurant. When I got home I discovered only 50% of the order was correct. I wanted a small mango salad with chicken, got a mango salad with ONE SHRIMP cut in half and almost entirely made of iceberg lettuce (more accurately 2/3's of it was lettuce). I wanted cashew chicken, got cashew shrimp (four shrimp... sweet!) I thought about just picking the shrimp out, but i was pissed off because this was the second time this had happened to me so i went back to the restaurant once i was done eatting the other 50 % of my meal. ( I also ordered spicy beef with green/red peppers, onions, not at lot of flavor but i ate it anyway, cuz i hadn't eaten all day. the deep fried spring rolls were good to) when i got back to the restaurant i spoke with the person who took my order and told him what the problem was. He said the cashew chicken was in the back did i want it now?... (Keep in mind about 30 min has gone by since i picked up my food). No thanks, i said just refund me for the two items i'm bringing back. he told a woman who stormed into the kitchen and came back five min later with a cashew chicken and mango salad. i kindly told her to refund my money and she did. not too much drama, but just annoying that they didn't get it right, and that she didn't even bother to talk to me first
Bottom line, poor service, poor quality of food. Much better thai/vietnamise found else where.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shnita_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome food, tasteful decor”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a favorite restaurant of my family and friends. The menu is complicated and large and could be designed much better. Fortunatley for me, I know what I like and no longer need to lose myself in it. The PHO soups are very large and delicious. They are served quickly and sometimes if this is your entree, It can come before everyone else's meal. Appetizers are out quickly but even your PHO soup order can come before the apps. So stress when ordering how you want the meals to arrive in what order. Red Thai beef is my favorite dish, also Chicken with asparagus and snow peas. There is a fair amount of MSG used in this restuarant and keep that in mind if you have problems with that or salt in general. Service is always quick and curt. Drinks are good, always a very large glass of wine is served. Many choices of beers and the fruit smoothies are made fresh, Not from syrup so its a value of a healthy drink. The avacadoe smoothy is suprisingly delicious. Deserts can range from odd, to very unusual. All in all. Its a great restaurant and a for sure return. Lots on the menu to explore.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ONYoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Thanh Viet-Thai Restaurant also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Ben Thanh Viet-Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing