We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast”
Review of The 50's Diner

The 50's Diner
Ranked #7 of 318 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ate at the diner recently on a sunday morning. Probably should have picked a different time as it was very busy and a bit noisy. The service was quite good, our orders taken and brought to the table rather quickly. Food was good with large portions. Would go back again but probably pick a better time of day

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinjspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    180
    63
    14
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

After working outside in th freezing cold on Saturday morning we headed to the diner for breakfast. It was busy but we got seated immediately by very friendly personable staff member. Huge choice of breakfast items, and fast service. I had a Montreal smoked meat omellette served with beans, and a pot of tea, which was just perfect. We always have a friendly competition trying to name all the portraits on the wall and always end off having to ask the waitress, even the younger staff are quite knowledgable on the Hollywood icons.
I will return soon and keep spreading the good word about the 50"s diner.

Very reasonable prices too...........you should go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A big variety and large portions”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food is very general and for the large appetites. Their smoked meat is great. Breakfast is the same as most places served with beans.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb and Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Too much food!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great food, great prices but if there's a downside, it's that you always need a doggie bag. Portions are huge. Lots of variety on the menu and the staff is great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I went to the 50's on a Tuesday evening with my two daughters. The entrance stank of urine, the seats and decor are dated, ripped and old but more than that the food was lacklustre at best. Paid $8 for three greasy spring rolls. 90 per cent of everything we ordered had been fried. My family used to love going to the 50's and we went often. I hadn't been in over a year and definitely won't be back again. Overall rating is a 3 only due to the great wait staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 50's Diner also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to The 50's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing