We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience start to finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe 13 Main Street

Cafe 13 Main Street
Ranked #4 of 314 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe 13 is located in a historic bank building in the heart of the Galt section of Cambridge. We provide fresh food using local farms and products to contruct interesting yet affordable dishes.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great experience start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I attended my niece's wedding at Cafe 13 upstairs in the Galt Room and was very impressed overall with the entire event. The service staff both upstairs and down were very accomodating. I was especially impressed with both the food quality and choices. It was nice to go to a wedding where you had a few different options of entrees to order right at the reception, instead of beforehand. The food was all made to order and came out in a timely fashion. Even my husband enjoyed the food and he never likes anything! Adam, the owner, was available for any questions throughout the enitre planning process and the day of the reception and made sure everything went off without a hitch. Would definitely recommend both the restaurant as well as planning any large parties or private functions at Cafe 13.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slclark72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    98
    41
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had the opportunity to eat at this restaurant on Saturday. We arrived mid-afternoon so the lunch menu was still in place. I had the fish and chips which was quite good. My wife had the creamy mushroom papardelle pasta and she really enjoyed it. The decor is quite nice with the beautiful bar being a focal point. Unlike a previous review, service was quick and never an issue. Will definitely be going back again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinjspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“skip this one”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Service was SLOW, my meal came with yorkshire pudding. Fortunately, I don't like yorkshire pudding so i moved it off my plate. In doing so it turned over and I saw the MOULD underneath it. SO GROSS. I would NEVER go back again

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamCull, Owner at Cafe 13 Main Street, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
At cafe 13 we like to endorse online forum and review. However, now and then people choose to abuse the right discuss a restaurant.

At cafe 13 we don't serve Yorkshire Pudding. In fact the last time we served it was in the summer, and it was for a private function.

Secondly, unlike many restaurants, we make our own, only a couple of hours prior to service. We would never consider reusing day-old products like yorkshire's.

We truly believe in fresh, scratch cooking here and we are very proud of what we do.
Please out of courtesy to our cooks and service staff, who are passionate and hardworking, ignore this comment. It is Fraudulent and is being reported to tripadvisor as so!

Thank you, for taking the time to hear us out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The service is good, but the food can be inconsistent... a good place to go if you're looking to grab a pint and some pub grub.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
330 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lunch in Cambridge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had a delicious squash-apple soup and a curried chicken wrap. We shared the wrap and the kitchen gave both of us a full serving of french fries with the skins on. It was a yummy meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travelGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 13 Main Street also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Cafe 13 Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing