We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip”

African Lion Safari
Ranked #43 of 318 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited Sept long weekend and it was great trip. We bought the tickets from Costco and it is few dollars cheaper that at the entrance. We also bought the book for $5 at the entrance. We were originally planning to take the bus but at the last minute decided to go in our car and it was god decision. We were able to spend the watching the animals at our own pace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdntraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Expensive outing for a family”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

It was good to see the animals but the water park was the best I've seen other than Disney. Every child there wanted to stay there, they did not want to leave the water park!
I can appreciate the costs involved in feeding the animals, care.... I don't know how families can afford to go to this place, it's so expensive.
Take drinks and your lunch and snacks, that will help save a lot of additional expenses!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very expensive; but a good day out”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The big draw back of this place is the cost. For a family of four the cost was just over $120. This does not include the bus around the safari (which I would recommend as monkeys climbed all over every vehicle and ripped the wing mirror off a car beside us). The bus is a further $15.

We didn't realise the place had a big splash pad/little kids water park so didn't bring bathing suits. But don't worry they can sell you $5 suits for $20! I know it is our fault for not checking out what was on and available before we went but seriously it was too much, a bit of consideration would be good!

Thankfully we brought a pack lunch as the cost of food was very expensive too!

As for the park itself, it was great, the train and boat were brilliant. The bird shows and the elephants were fun. The safari was great with a wide variety of animals on show

It was a very expensive but very enjoyable outing on our holidays. I would recommend it but its not a place you could afford to go to very often! Just remember BRING BATHING SUITS FOR THE KIDS!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great family day”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved watching the animals at such close range and there were plenty to see. One of the ostrich detained us and caused a bit of traffic when he stood right next to our car and started pecking at the window. The baboons never bothered us and the lions and giraffes were pretty far, but it was nice to see all the other animals (like the rhinos and cheetahs) at such close range.

The admission isn't limited to just the safari. There were shows (3 when we were there) and a water park for the children, which they thoroughly enjoyed. For the price you pay, this is an amazing deal.

My only qualm about the safari is the health of the animals. Safety wasn't an issue as there are zookeepers at every station to monitor guests as well as animals. It's the gas emissions from the cars that concerns me as it must be very bad for their lungs. If only the safari would have had a battery-operated trolley or something like it that would save them from such hazards. Other than that, the family had a wonderful time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cdc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Day!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

It had been almost 30 years since my last visit and I was very excited to be bringing my 2 girls, age 4 and 8....and we weren't disappointed.
We stayed at an area hotel and our tickets were included...it was about $200 taxes included for hotel, breakfast and our tickets - 2 adults, 2 children.
We started and ended our day by driving thru the Safari!!! Kids loved it!! Kind of disappointed to see the number of people who were feeding the animals and being very disrespectful to others around them....the staff did their best to try a d stay on top of the rule breakers!!!
The birds of prey show and elephant show were excellent as well!! The girls loved the splash pad area...it was super clean and great for their ages. They also enjoyed the obstacle course type playground!!
We rode the train and there was almost no wait at all, it was cute and the deer came really close to us. The line for the boat ride was incredibly long all day so we skipped it!!
This is a great spot for a family to visit, it isn't on my list as I must go back year after year, BUT we are very happy to have gone and our girls were the perfect age!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Lion Safari also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to African Lion Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing