We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, fabulous service, teeny tiny exquisite portions”
Review of Langdon Hall

Langdon Hall
Reserve with OpenTable
Langdon Hall is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 316 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $60
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Langdon Hall offers regional dishes and classical cuisine, served in an atmosphere of warmth and elegance. Meals are a pleasantly satisfying mingling of artistic display and hearty substance. The Dining Room at Langdon Hall has been awarded the coveted Five Diamond Award from AAA/CAA. Only a handful of restaurants from around the world earn this prestigious distinction. Come and taste the magic that acclaimed Chef Jason Bangerter is creating. With an exceptional wine cellar, Sommelier Kathleen Moore can recommend a wine pairing to go along with the wonderful seasonal menu. The dining room is a proud member of Ocean Wise, using sustainable seafood products and FeastON incorporating Ontario products and produce into the menu.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, fabulous service, teeny tiny exquisite portions”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The outdoor terrace is lovely, especially in this good weather, and the food is really delicious but be ready for the tiniest of portions. I don't need the gargantuan portions we have grown to expect at the 'family' restaurants but I do think that these portions are especially tiny. They are wonderfully plated, artistic strokes of sauces, imaginative reworkings...try the 'smore dessert. Just little of it.

I still recommend going, as it is a wonderful place on its own. Just be prepared.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    52
    24
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had the tasting menu and we were not disappointed. The chef was gracious to make all sorts of changes to the menu due to dietary restrictions. However the presentations were fantastic and the food was well cooked. some of their best dishes were desserts. The breakfast was a nice buffet but we were too full to have many servings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GChan156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment - Avoid this overpriced Showpiece”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were looking forward to a fine meal in a quiet setting, at the standards of Relais & Chateaux. OK, they have the "form" but just forgot about the "content." As with another reviewer, we felt the service was not only inattentive, sloppy, and lacking in co-ordination, but one staff came with a filthy apron. Food was average or below, and completely uninspiring. There are so many better options!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank CMT-JWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Freshest food”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A great "hotel" restaurant. Dishes are unique and use extremely fresh ingredients. Wine list is thorough with an excellent selections, strong in french, no great bargains but markups are standard. Halibut amuse was outstanding, as were the guinea hen and lamb loin entrees at our table. Waiter this evening was thorough but robotic. Still one of the finer resort dining experiences, and a destination restaurant for special occasions as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tea and a Pedicure. The perfect day!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Received a gift certifcate and used it to get a pedicure with my sister at Langdon Hall's spa. Great service and a wonderful time. We also had tea at restaurant which was expensive but such a treat. Lovely food and presentation. Great service. If I could afford it I would go regularly. It is a pricey treat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ_A_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langdon Hall also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Langdon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing