We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistency”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blackshop

Blackshop
Reserve with OpenTable
Blackshop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 317 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sheldon Drive
Transit: Main Hespeler Road Line
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistency”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

As a mainstay of the Cambridge restaurant scene for many years the Blackshop continues to deliver on all fronts .
The service is impeccable and while the menu has something for everyone the daily specials are always enticing. Worth a visit , you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Manager at Blackshop, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
A sincere thank you for the very nice review. It is always nice to receive compliments on the things that we try to achieve as a team here at the Blackshop on a daily basis. We look forward to hosting you at our restaurant again soon and will strive to keep impressing!
Thank you,
Stephen D
The Management team at the Blackshop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    86
    31
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite restaurant for celebrations”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We go to the Blackshop all the time, for lunch and dinner. The atmosphere is great and the food is better. I especially love the ratatouille with the eggplant parmesan base. The hamburgers are AMAZING too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monkey028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Manager at Blackshop, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
So glad that you enjoy coming to the Blackshop as often as you do! We hope to see you soon so that we can do our best to impress your taste buds again.
Sincere thanks,
Stephen D
Management team at the Blackshop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere at the Blackshop”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have never had a bad meal here. They have a great bar area as well if you want good food but want to keep it casual. They have a romantic atmosphere but is also great for friends getting together for a more higher end appetizer and drink night out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaDymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Manager at Blackshop, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Our thanks for the lovely review. Your comments truly reflect some of the concepts that we at the Blackshop set out to achieve even before the construction of our current location. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and hope that we are able to provide you more reasons to enjoy yourself with us!

Sincerely,
Stephen D
Management team at the Blackshop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“another restaurant worthy of revisits!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

we have been several times, lunches, brunches, dinners various seasons. great menu selection, feels 'special', and you won't break the bank!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 485amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie S, Manager at Blackshop, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
It is always good to hear about our customers enjoying all our menus, lunch, brunch, dinner or feature! We certainly look forward to having you re-visit us!

Sincerely,
Stephen D
Management team at the Blackshop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite in town”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have dined here more than a dozen times. Service is always excellent, food is innovative and delicious. Perhaps a bit more pricey than other local restaurants but I think the quality warrants a little more based on quality and consistency.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caucaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackshop also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Blackshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing