We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Dining Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackshop

Blackshop
Reserve with OpenTable
Blackshop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 314 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sheldon Drive
Transit: Main Hespeler Road Line
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Recently our family of 5 had a celebration dinner here. The service was attentive and friendly. Every effort was made to provide information and a suitable entre for a severe diet restriction. Two of us had pepper steak and we both enjoyed them very much ( possibly too much pepper ). The 10 oz steak was more than adequate size. My wife enjoyed the prime rib special meal, cooked exactly as requested. The very hot dinner plates were appreciated. We enjoyed the dessert selections and I had a Blackshop coffee. The coffee could have been hotter. If you appreciate fine dining and service, the pricing is not out of line.

Helpful?
Thank KMHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    84
    31
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
597 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Blackshop is a very nice place. It is a high end restaurant and you get the high-end service and food. We went there for their weekend brunch (which changes from time-to-time) and it was excellent. I believe that it was a prix-fixe menu. Excellent rolls :) mmm.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW HAMBURG
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of our favorite restaurants for a "special" meal.

Excellent menu!

We sometimes go for just an appetizer and/or desert and a couple drinks.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank alrosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABCFoodie, Owner at Blackshop, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you we are happy that you enjoyed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Space... ok Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Was just in for a few drinks at the bar. The restaurant is really cool, great interior. The service was just ok!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABCFoodie, Owner at Blackshop, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments if you could share with me exactly what happened I would appreciate it , please contact me directly @ alec@blackshop.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

You pay 3 times as much for a steak that is 1/3 the size of a steak at The Keg, Very small vegetable portions as well, Service is adequate at best

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABCFoodie, Owner at Blackshop, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for visiting our restaurant. I am not happy that you did not have a good experience. I appreciate your comments but disagree with them. Blackshop has been selling New York Striploin, and Beef Tenderloin, since 1983. Our beef is one of our best sellers and we have guests that come in weekly to enjoy our steaks. The beef is well aged, our jus is made in house from scratch, our frites are also made in house, We serve a nice portion of vegetables with each meal, except the steak and frites. On Sundays we serve Prime Rib Dinner with ceasar salad or soup, cheesecake or gelato for $35. Our pricing is very comparable to that of the Keg or any other fine restaurant in the area. Sincerely Alec Cerny 519 621 4180
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackshop also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Blackshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing