We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Canada” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Canada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Homewood Suites in Cambridge is everything you would want and expect out of an extended stay/business hotel location. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is very clean. The staff is willing to go out of thier way to ensure you have a great visit and experience.

One note, the Whirlpool is not a hottub style whirlpool, instead it is at the same temp as the main pool. This was a surprise when I first got there, but once it was explained to me, I was good with it.

When I had a maintenance issue, the maintenance staff was quick and fixed the problem correctly the first time.

Room Tip: Top floor is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmaccallum, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you and we always appreciate our valued guests sharing thier experiences on Trip Advisor. We feel our hotel is quite unique with its offerings, as you mentioned location and friendly team members who truly know what it means to "WOW" our guests. We are so happy you have chosen us to stay with and look foward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    114
    38
    14
    8
See reviews for
272
90
7
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, CANADA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

WE stayed here for two nights for a girl's hockey tournament. Exceptional rooms with 'suite' design which is ideal for families and tournament gatherings. The staff wee excellent, and accommodated us well. Great breakfast to top it off. we will try to stay here for every Cambridge tournament.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmaccallum, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We thank you and appreciate you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and thank you and your team for choosing us as your hotel to stay with! We also feel our hotel is the perfect setting for sports teams to stay and enjoy with our unique offerings, as you mentioned the larger suites and complimentary breakfast. Again, thank you and we look forward to you and your sports team staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great family hotel - breakfast was quite good (waffle station, etc), nice (although small) pool and hottub, good fitness centre, great location. Staff were exceptionally friendly. Wireless internet in the rooms were a bonus too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank currenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmaccallum, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We thank you and appreciate you sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing us as your hotel to stay with! We feel our hotel is the perfect setting for sports teams to stay and enjoy with our unique with its offerings, as you mentioned the larger suites and complimentary breakfast and complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel. Thank you and we look forward to you and your sports team staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just stayed at property between Christmas and New Years. First problem was that our room had not been properly cleaned. There was either dried vomit or food splattered on the wall near the sofa, and dirty dishes in the dishwasher. Also, after three days stay, it was obvious that public through fares were not being cleaned (an accumulation of road salt and old Cheerios).

On our last morning the fire alarm went off at 7am. It was very fortunate that we were packed and on our way out the door for check out or we would have missed our flight. Apparently there was a carbon monoxide leak and equipment needed to be fixed before people could get the all clear to go back to their rooms.

I am giving hotel three star because they need quickly address noise issues, before we could complain and because it is adequate in general and staff is nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmaccallum, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your post! The feedback of our guests and their experience is an invaluable tool we use to ensure we are on the right track our make ourselves better. I am truly sorry to learn your time with us was not as you expected it would be. The cleanliness of our hotel both inside our suites and in our public areas is something we take seriously, your comments will certainly be used to help us improve. Additionally I would like to apologize for the alarm being sounded as you were preparing to depart. I assure you that the alarm was not do to a faulty system or carbon monixide rather a smoke detector that was sounded in our kitchen area. I will admit I have also been frustrated by the disruption of the life safety devices however I do appreciate the assurance they give me for the safety and well being of our associates and guests.
Again I would like to apologize that your overall experience was less than you should expect from us. I would love the opportunity to learn more your stay with us. I can be reached at 519-220-2855 and invite you to contact me at your convenience to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purchase, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

From the road, this looks like every other chain hotel. Come inside, and you'll experience an attractive comfortable lobby, and good service at reception. Your room will feature a fully equipped kitchen, including a real fridge with icemaker. Your bed will be firm with a thick warm down comforter. An armada of pillows. The marble bath has a separate toilet/stall shower area. Go down for your free dinner - salad, make your own meatball sandwich, veggies, cookies for dessert.. Sleep well in very comfortable bed.
Wake up, shower, grab a coffee in a go cup and your on your way.
But wait,you say, why don't I stop for breakfast? Now you've spoiled the charm. Have a make your own waffle with fresh fruit and you'll do fine, I'd avoid the eggs and breakfast meats.(except the bacon)
Need to send a fax - no problem. Billy the Operations Manager will set you up. He brought me my confirmation at breakfast so I didn't have to move.This service is really like a five star hotel at a three star price. Oh and I did i say the maid kept the room spotless. Well she did.
As a Hilton Gold member I stay in a lot of their different properties at all price levels and this one is at the top of the list.
The only cons are those eggs at breakfast and the hard cushions on the couch.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: From the exit map it appears that some of the rooms may be larger. My room number ended in 7, and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz_and_cocktails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmaccallum, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience from your stay on Trip Advisor! Im pleased to hear you enjoyed the many amenities we offer offering such as the spacious suites, complimentary breakfast and dinners, and friendly team members who truly know what it means to be a "guest-driven team member"! Thank you as well for your feedback on the breakfast eggs and meats; we take all comments as learning opportunities on how we can improve and will defintely review these. Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough good about this hotel. We have been staying here for a couple of weeks with our family and are so impressed with how accommodating and friendly they have been. The rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast and suppers are delicious and the staff are outstanding. I asked one of the staff if it was as great of a place to work as it is to stay and she said yes. They take great pride in their hotel and it shows. We will recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the Cambridge area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingwithfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmaccallum, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you and we always appreciate our valued guests sharing thier experiences on Trip Advisor. We feel our hotel is quite unique with its offerings, as you mentioned the spacious suites, complimentary breakfast and dinners, and friendly team members who truly know what it means to "WOW" our guests. We are so happy you and your family have chosen us to stay with!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

With a few days off work and my 2nd Anniversary to celebrate.I decided to stay here with my family.We had a wonderful time.We booked the suite with the Butterfly Conservatory package,which was quite nice.Suite was very clean and roomy.All of the staff were very friendly and hospitable.We enjoyed the "SuiteStart" breakfast and the evening dinners as well.Thanks to all the staff at the Homewood Suites Cambridge Waterloo.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conservativecanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmaccallum, Front Office Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you and we always appreciate our valued guests sharing thier experiences on Trip Advisor. We feel our hotel is quite unique with its offerings, as you mentioned the spacious suites, complimentary breakfast and dinners, and friendly team members and while there are numerous hotels in the area, we are so happy you and your family have chose us to stay with to celebrate your anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
2.3 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cambridge Hotel
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
Address: 800 Jamieson Pky, Cambridge, Ontario N3C 4N6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® Cambridge-Waterloo. Conveniently located west of Toronto, this upscale, residential style hotel is situated just off Hwy 401 in Cambridge. We've perfected the extended stay hotel experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, our friendly staff takes pride in satisfying your needs. Come and Make Yourself at Home® and enjoy our:~Suite Start® Hot Breakfast~Evening Welcome Home Dinner Reception, Mon - Thurs~Spacious Suites with Kitchenettes~Basketball Court, Fitness Centre, Executive Centre, Suite Shop and BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Cambridge
Homewood Cambridge
Cambridge Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites By Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing