We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food Saves Poor Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rinconcito Mexicano - CLOSED

El Rinconcito Mexicano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food Saves Poor Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The restaurant decor and music reminded me of Mexico and loved our window table. Food was freshly prepared but no guacamole ??? How can a Mexican restaurant have no guacamole ? The killer lime margarita (when it finally arrived) made me soon forget that disappointment. Hubby had the Chimichanga. I had the Huarache. Both delicious. Sadly, the food, while worth waiting for took a very long time as did our drinks and the hot sauce I requested came when I was almost done my meal and after having to ask twice. The bill took forever too.. finally went up to the bar to pay. Be warned: Cash or Debit only! Despite the poor service, we'll be back for the great food and hopefully some guacamole!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilTwister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    7
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food good but service is slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I have been here twice now and both times the food was good but the service is very slow. They usually serve you some nacho chips before your meal but both times they gave them to other tables but we had to ask for them. We sat at the table for 10 minutes waiting for them to clear it from the previous patrons and when they finally came over they asked us is there was anything else we needed. We informed them we needed the table cleared and menu's so we could order. When the food came it was very good and we have no complaints about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank getupandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food but service needs work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We love the food here but the service is an issue. It can take 45 minutes to get your meal, so we often avoid this restaurant unless we have a lot of time and aren't too hungry. If they could just get the service figured out, it would be the perfect place because when the food arrives, it is excellent, homemade Mexican food. Love the guacamole!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mediocre food at above-average pricing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not overly impressed with the food or the service. Although the food is authentic, I felt that we did not get good value at all for what we ended up paying. The entrées are $11-17, which is reasonable. But $9 for a piña colada, $3.50 for a small glass of chocolate milk, $2 extra for a small plate of chips - that certainly left a bad taste in our mouths. I am really surprised that we didn't get charged when we ordered extra ice. In my experience, when restaurants nickel & dime their customers on the bill, they would have to make up for it by offering an exceptional dining experience. El Rinconcito Mexicano doesn't even come close...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrcfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, ONtario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the chimichangas ... unbelievably good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant twice now, and plan to return. The chimichangas are excellent, and the margueritas are wonderful. If you have the opportunity to visit this restaurant, it is well worth the experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MJG1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rinconcito Mexicano also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing