We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Basic room, continental breakfast and hotel but I knew that going in. Terrible pillows. Smoke detector beeped all night long.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room was fairly clean but the bathroom could have been cleaned more effectively. The morning breakfast was good with lots of variety. The wireless internet was not very goood. I really couldn't get onto it and definitely couldn't watch the livestreaming I wanted to watch. They need more bandwith for the number of users - the hotel was filled to capactiy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was very conveniently located but for $139 a night you would expect more than what you got! The floor in the room was uneven and the carpets in both the room and hallway were very worn. The tub was very chipped and the tile floor under the sink was filthy. Security door at the side of the hotel was never locked, as it never latched when closed. Only two towels provided for a room with two queen beds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjessani, General Manager at Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Our aim is to ensure all guest concerns are dealt with in a timely manner. Our entire staff strives daily to ensure that all guests have an excellent stay at our hotel. We regret that we fell short of your expectations.

The Travelodge Cambridge will be addressing all the issues you have stated in your review and I assure you that with the help of your review we will strive to better our premises in every which way we can. Reviews such as yours are extremely important to us and we take all our guest suggestions very seriously. At the end of the day it is your "Our Guest" that makes us the hotel we are.

I hope you were able to enjoy the additional amenities offered, such as the complimentary continental breakfast as well as our newly renovated on-premise restaurant - Archie's Bar & Grill.

We at the Travelodge Cambridge strive to achieve the best in hospitality and we thank all our guests that provide us with feedback that ensures that we achieve that goal. I would like to personally apologize to you for falling short of your expectations, should you choose to stay with us again, we will ensure you receive the service our hotel prides itself with.

We wish you the greatest success and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further concerns.


Sincerely,

Raheel Jessani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Plowed competitively at the International Plowing Match and Rural Expo hosted by the Waterloo Region. Had friends who had booked a room at this hotel and decided to book there as well since it was only 20 minutes from the Match. Asked for a non smoking room and the sign on the outside said non smoking but all you could smell in the room was stale cigarettes and the first when i went to go to the bed there were two body sized brown marks on the sheets. The cleaning ladies kept the room as clean as they could but...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

l and lyne stayed there Aug,3 to Aug,4/12 and July /12 for 4days,its a great place to stay,the price is good,rooms are nices and clean and the bathroom are clean too,beds are comfortable the continenta breakfast is graet,its quiet there and they have a laundry room now too ,the staff are friendly and helpful,its close to everything,l would recomended that you stay there my wife lyne and l we stayed there for years

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We found our pillow top beds comfy. The bathroom was squeaky clean. The carpet was not visibly dirty but my white socks got grey pretty fast. Of course they would at home too. Considering the number of people at the Travelodge I expected to hear a fair bit of noise and was pleasantly surprised that I didn't hear anything. The breakfast was not huge but was perfectly adequate. We found the staff friendly and very helpful, willing to do way more than I have come to expect from front desk staff. For us it is a great location with some very nice restaurants nearby along with a couple of malls. We'll choose Cambridge Travelodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonhardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

So, I read through the reviews from others and I can hardly believe we stayed at the same place. We had originally booked a non-smoking room with a king bed. We checked in and because I had a bit of a cold my husband requested a room with two beds. The staff was very accomodating. So with all of our stuff and a small toddler we had to leave the first floor (which smelled nice) and climb the stairs to the second floor which smelled like disgusting cigarette smoke. All the rooms downstairs had little non-smoking signs above the room number, upstairs did not... but inside the room was a little note saying it was a non-smoking room. I don't know when it switched, because there were burn marks in the bedspreads and on the furniture, the backs of the blackout drapes had yellow stains and the room smelled.

You had to throw all of your weight into the door to get it to open because it stuck.

It was not clean. My little girls feet got dirty just from walking on the carpet.

The walls had patches of different colour where they had obviously tried to repair and the wall paper was peeling.

The linens also had an odour of mildew and smoke.

We got a wake-up call at 6:10am we didn't ask for.

I don't know if we just got this terrible room because we swithched at the last minute or what, but we certainly didn't have the same positive experiences noted above. I know it wasn't the most expensive place, and sometimes you get what you pay for, but I feel we paid too much for this experience. When you stay in a more affordable place you expect not a lot of ammenities nd nothing really fancy, but you want it to be clean and not smell like an ashtray.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjessani, General Manager at Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Our aim is to ensure all guest concerns are dealt with in a timely manner. Our entire staff strives daily to ensure that all guests have an excellent stay at our hotel. We regret that we fell short of your expectations.

We have addressed all of the housekeeping and maintenance issues you had brought up as your main concerns. Our goal is ensure that all issues brought up by our guests should be dealt with immediately so as to better provide our guests with excellent service and a valuable hospitality experience. Our hotel receives a great amount of compliments regarding our
top notch service and value and I assure you that your experience was an isolated incident that will not go unnoticed.

The Travelodge Cambridge is currently in the transition of becoming a smoke-free premise. As a result, for guests who wish to smoke, we offer rooms with patio doors as an alternative.

I hope you were able to enjoy the additional amenities offered, such as the complimentary continental breakfast as well as our newly renovated on-premise restaurant - Archie's Bar & Grill.

We at the Travelodge Cambridge strive to achieve the best in hospitality and we thank all our guests that provide us with feedback that ensures that we achieves that goal. I would like to personally apologize to you for falling short of your expectations, should you choose to stay with us again, we will ensure you receive the service our hotel prides itself with.


We wish you the greatest success and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further concerns.


Sincerely,

Raheel Jessani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Cambridge
Comfort Inn Cambridge
#8 of 10 in Cambridge
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunbridge Hotel & Conference Centre Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo

Address: 605 Hespeler Rd, Cambridge, Ontario N1R 6J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $58 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambridge's best value & service guaranteed! On business or leisure we want you to stay with us. Your stay includes complimentary buffet breakfast, Free Wireless Internet, tea/coffee and an abundance of in-room amenities. We also have our very own on-premise restaurant, Archie’s Bar & Grill. All of our rooms have an in-room fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. At the Travelodge Cambridge your stay is always our pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo Hotel Cambridge
Travel Lodge Cambridge
Cambridge Travelodge
Cambridge Travel Lodge
Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing