We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accomodation But Needs Refurbishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
New York state
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Accomodation But Needs Refurbishing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Holiday Inn was available as Name Your Own Price option from Priceline. Very good value for the price paid. Rooms are large and comfortable. Beds have choice of soft or firm pillows.

I did not use the outdoor pool, but I could see many guests were enjoying it.

There were indications that maintenance was not ongoing. The taps in the sink were corroded. That did not happen yesterday, so its been ignored for a long time. The toilet seat will not stay up by itself without being held in place. The curtains were hanging loose at the ends.

The place would be even better with a little attention from the staff.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank simulation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivgomez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Hello!

Thank you for your posting your thoughts about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Cambridge. Sounds like you enjoyed your overall stay!

As well thank you for the feedback for the issues in your bathroom so we can correct them as soon as possible. I am sorry this was missed in our preventative maintenance program, so perhaps if would like to contact me directly for the room number, we can fix our mistakes.

Again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again,
Vivian Gomez, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    50
    44
    26
    18
See reviews for
64
23
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I reserved this location on-line and got a rate of $81.00 plus taxes for a room with king sized bed.

We were cordially welcomed on arrival and offered a complimentary upgrade that was a slightly bigger room and had a refrigerator. Wi-Fi was free. Parking was free.

All the staff were very pleasant and always anxious to be helpful.

The only two negatives were that the hot tub in the pool area did not have its filter properly installed and we could see particals floating in the water. The second issue was breakfast within the hotel at the Fireside Grill was problematic. I have done a separate review of the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Hello Gary S!

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Cambridge. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay, but regret this you were not 100% satisfied with every aspect of our hotel. Please know that I will be discussing the issues with our pool and restaurant with the appropriate manager so we can make the necessary improvements.

My sincerest apologies again, and thank you for sharing.

Hope to see you again,

Vivian Gomez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had stayed at the Holiday inn in Kitchener the week before, and were very disappointed with it, however the Cambridge Holiday inn is completly different, great staff, great service nothing was too much trouble for Cherisse and Free (hope I'm spelling that right), as visitors from Scotland they went out of their way to accomodate us and assist us. We ate dinner and breakfast and the food was fab, service great!
Overall was worth what we pai and would def go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine1096493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear Lorraine1096493,

Thank you so much for your kind words about staff and hotel services! I am very excited to pass on your message to the team, especially to Cherisse and Free (and yes, you spelled the names correctly!). I hope on your next visit into Canada, you’ll stay with us again. We would be honoured to have you.

Thanks again,
Vivian Gomez, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

IFirst time writing a review since i travel so much and read others thought i would share. I have stayed here may times for business. I have stayed on both the first and second floor. Rooms are very clean, staff are always friendly. I am a clean freak and pariniod about bugs, i would not stay here if it was not super clean. Food is expensive in the restaurant, ordered roon service once, not worth the price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are nice, have walk outs and balconys, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleanfreak a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivgomez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Cleanfreak A,

Thank you for writing your first review on Trip Advisor! As a hotelier, we value the comments made on this site to continually improve our services and products for our guests. I will be sure to share your posting with our staff and management.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Vivian Gomez, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed one night for an event being held at the hotel. Staff was friendly and attentive. Hotel is looking a little threadbare around the edges but property was neat and tidy, room was tidy and clean(but a little dated) and actually a pretty good nights sleep. My only glitch was that the cost for the food in the restaurant was really rather high. I understand offering a breakfast but some of those prices for a lunch or dinner entree was border line robbery. There are enough quality restaurants within a few minutes drive that the Inn would be better to have just breakfast offered and close it for the rest of the day. Didn't use the pools so can't comment on that. Maybe this location would be better served being an Express.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePiratesPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivgomez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear The PiratesPaw,

Thank you for your posting and feedback about our hotel and staff. This feedback is vital to us so that we continually strive to serve our guests better to meet their needs. We too, recognize updates are needed and we are making the necessary steps to improve this every day. As well, I will be sharing your comments of our restaurant with our Food and Beverage Management team.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Vivian Gomez, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here during a business trip for a few nights and was pleasantly surprised. This older hotel had pretty nice rooms and the staff was very polite and friendly.
The facility could use updating overall, but the spa area was great for relaxing after a long day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duderotomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivgomez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Duderotomy,

Thank you for your posting and your kind words about your stay and our staff. I will be sure to share this with our staff and management.

Glad you could stay with us and be able to relax. We hope to see you here again in the future.

Sincerely,
Vivian Gomez, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here to attend a sporting event. Hotel is ?43 years old and shows it. Has have very low ceilings and has a chemical smell throughout. Very dated decor except front desk & foyer. Our door was very damaged at the lock. Room size good and TV nice size LCD screen. Beds ok. Bathroom dated with calcium & lime buildup on the bath tub faucet & shower head with rusting around drain. Room was clean but but old carpets. Staff very friendly. Didn't try restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avalon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vivgomez, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Cambridge, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Hello Avalon99,
Thank you for your recent posting regarding our hotel. Comments such as your continually help to improve the service and product our guests should expect.
Yes, our 43 year-old hotel has seen many guests come through over the years and this does show. However, please trust that we recognize the issues you have mentioned and are striving to make improvements each and every day, such as the install of new LCD TV’s for the entire hotel, which I see you were able to enjoy!
Again, thank you for your feedback. I hope one day you could return to see the improvements we have made.
Sincerely,
Vivian Gomez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cambridge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Cambridge
Comfort Inn Cambridge
#8 of 10 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cambridge

Property: Holiday Inn Cambridge
Address: 200 Holiday Inn Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3C 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Best Full-Service Cambridge, Ontario Hotel Our Cambridge hotel, the Holiday Inn Cambridge - Hespeler - Galt hotel, offers you small-town charm and full-service. Visitors to southwestern Ontario will find our hotel's location and amenities beyond their expectations. Located halfway between Toronto and London, Cambridge is nestled along the banks of the Grand River which offers a variety of activities for everyone. Guests value our hotel's proximity to area attractions like the Southworks Outlet Mall & Antique Mall, Wings of Paradise and the vibrant downtown of Cambridge. Our hotel's easy access to Hwy 401 makes it easy to visit St. Jacobs and African Lion Safari. Corporate guests appreciate our Cambridge, Ontario hotel's location close to the Region of Waterloo International airport, Toyota, ATS, Rockwell, Com Dev, Novocol Pharmaceutical and the School of Architecture. We also offer the value of free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business centre and more than 7,000 sq. ft. of flexible space for meetings and special events. Our Cambridge, Ontario hotel's multi-lingual staff offers genuine service and amenities like spacious rooms with upgraded duvets on pillowtop beds. We invite you to dine and relax in our Fireside Lounge. You can play in the area's largest indoor or outdoor pools, and workout in a well-equipped fitness centre. On your next visit to Cambridge, Ontario, choose the area's finest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cambridge Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing