We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lunch and spa afternoon ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lunch and spa afternoon ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Three colleagues joined me for lunch and an afternoon of 4 spa treatments. Lunch was beautifully presented and impeccably served under the shade of trees on the terrace. The spa itself is a little tired - something that will rectified shortly with the construction of a new building. The spa staff were excellent as were the treatments. A great place to share an afternoon with friends catching up in comfort.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    76
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
49
234
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Simply the perfect location for a Christmas getaway. The roaring fires in the Hall and the rooms act as the perfect counterbalance to the crisp snowscape outside. The cuisine is superb and the staff are attentive without being cloying.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We visited Langdon Hall with my husband's parents for Sunday Brunch. We were celebrating my in-laws' anniversary and it was a lovely experience. The service was very professional and the food was elegant and tasty. Brunch and tip (no alcohol) for 4 people cost $350.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Belmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A friend and I booked full spa day packages for ourselves and a soon-to-be married friend for her bachelorette. We told her we'd be going to the spa, but kept the location a secret, right up until the time we were coming up the drive!

I had been to LH years ago for a private dinner party, but had never indulged in any of their spa services. Upon our arrival, we were greeted in a friendly, professional manner and whisked off for a brief tour of the spa. We were each given our itinerary for the day (which would see us coming together for lunch and our manis and pedis) and invited to put on one of their plush robes - a pair of flip flops was also provided.

In my estimation, the full day spa package is priced fairly at $400, based on the expertise and professionalism of the staff, quality of the products used and the spectacular location. Lunch (included in our package) was delicious, too! We each had the choice of an appetizer and main course, and each dish was prepared and served with great care.

The facial was probably the nicest, most relaxing ones I've ever had (I'm sure I dozed off for a few minutes in there....). And where else can you sip on a glass of wine (their Langdon Tawse chardonnay is excellent) while getting your toes done?!

The only thing I regret about the day is not arranging for a dining/accommodation/spa package so we could stay overnight, because that would have really been the icing on the cake. Maybe another time.... :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limonadita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We have been to Langdon Hall many times but this was our first time back since the new chef took over last fall. We were so happy with the food that I decided to do another review. We attended the first barbecue of the season. The barbecue series is always well done, but the food was particularly good this time. Everything was fresh and local and delicious, especially the clam bake! It was a perfect evening, with great food, great wine and a beautiful setting. Langdon Hall is in good hands with Chef Bangerter!
Our only disappointment was the state of the veggie garden. We always spend time in the garden, and usually leave with garden envy. This time we left feeling that the garden has been neglected. What a shame, it is such a special part of Langdon Hall.


Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BERFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great hotel with amazing grounds - access to bikes, walking trails, tennis, pool. Apparently in the winter, they turn the tennis courts into an ice rink. Food is incredible and they have epic BBQs so if they have one when you're, be sure to book - they sell out fast as they bring in star chefs from other restaurants. Service was lacking when it came to food - dinner took over 3 hours because they had a wedding but this place has a lot of weddings so they should be able to plan for the extra people. Pool service was horrible but not a big deal - on a couple of the days, no one showed up to handle pool service until around 2pm but only because there was going to be a small revolt. They also kept getting the order wrong. Pool area is beautiful and we spent a lot of time there. Overall, a great stay.

Room Tip: Cloister rooms are awesome and very large. No need for anything more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank concierge82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just returned from a lovely weekend at Langdon Hall. We enjoyed a lovely, quiet and private room with its own terrace. It also had a fireplace, although we didn't need it given the beautiful summer weather. We did enjoy sitting by the pool, massages in the spa and a wonderful gourmet dinner. But the special treats were the wine tasting hosted by the sommelier and the cooking demo hosted by Chef Lecky. Both were very pleasant and entertaining, despite their busy schedules. It was our first visit, but we will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller123265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
2.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdon Hall offers a quiet and peaceful environment best suited for romantic get-aways that require an elegant setting. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association, the property prides itself on creating a unique experience brimming with all the charm, character, cuisine, calm and courtesy you would find at the finest Relais & Chateaux property. Located one hour west of Toronto, Langdon Hall was built as a magnificent summer home in 1898 for the granddaughter of John Jacob Astor of New York City, a gentlemen who made his fortune in several areas of business including the Waldorf Astoria, the greatest hotel of its era. In 1987 Langdon Hall began its transformation into a hotel and now offers 52 guest suites, a full service spa, the only five-diamond award wining restaurant in Ontario. In addition to the main dining room the property features a casual bar and private dining rooms featuring wood-burning fireplaces, and 75 acres of expansive gardens and trails. For three consecutive years the readers of Conde Nast Traveller selected Langdon Hall as the Number one hotel in Canada. Nearby amenities include championship style golf course, canoeing, theatre, horseback riding, biking and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel And Spa
Langdon Hall Country Hotel
Langdon Hall Country Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa Cambridge, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing