We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Top-notch facility, I can't believe I was still in Cambridge. The grounds are amazing.

I was in the Cloister king bed room (#40) and it was awesome...probably the best rooms I've ever stayed in...makes a Hilton look like a Motel 6.

We ate in Wilkes Bar for dinner and it was casual yet classy and the food was excellent (chicken schnitzel with Chicory Walnut appy), and in the morning had the "Breakfast Table" (basically a buffet) and I'd say it was easily one of the best breakfasts I've had on the road anywhere...every item on the table seemed very smart choices and the quality of the food was very high.

Worth the money, absolutely recommended - I WILL be returning to this property again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    85
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
62
256
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Langdon Hall will welcome you before you even arrive; the entrance, a few kilometers from the main building, will have you drive through a winding forest road, with magnificent views, so when you finally arrive at the property, you will surrender to its splendor. Inside, vestiges from the past, inside a mansion that will provide you with serenity. Time sleeps there. And you get an unusual gift: kilometers of walking trails through the forests, perfectly marked, civilized to a minimum. A swimming pool hidden into the woods. A vegetable garden from a picture book.

And then, at night, a surprise; a restaurant, like few others, serves the finest ingredients in creative arrangements, with the signature of the house: edible flowers everywhere. And you understand that, what you saw in the vegetable garden earlier in the day, is now on your plate, keeping proud company to the best vegetables, meats or fishes on your table. The picture book is now ... you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dulcinea_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service. We had the tasting menu ($125). The dishes were varied with some being more successful than others. I don't understand the dandelion purée that was added to one dish. It has no redeeming qualities.

Overall the experience was positive but I must admit I had expected to be more impressed with the food based upon the reviews and the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAB86413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lovely hotel to relax and unwind. Truly lives up to the Relais & Chateau standards of service. Have to remind yourself you actually are in Cambridge, Ontario and not Cambridge, England. The cloister king size room (#18) with the walk out terrace is spacious, clean and a great room to bring your dog.
We enjoyed lunch on the terrace, an afternoon at the spa and pool. The spa service (manicure and massage) was heavenly and the service was exceptional. We had dinner in the main dining room and the food was presented well and tasted great. Breakfast in the dining room provided plenty of choices and the warm croissants were amazing. If you decide to do some walking in the trails behind the hotel, bring your own bug spray, as the ones they had available before you walk on the trails were empty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YYZ-LHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langdon1898, Public Relations Manager at Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear YYZ-LHR

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review on your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you were able to take full advantage of our amenities. Thank you for letting us know about the bug spray, we have replenished our supply at our trailhead.

We do look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Jessica Pearce,

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Good: The house itself is beautiful, the grounds are immaculate and decorated with gorgeous gardens. The staff are exceptionally helpful and sweet. The women at the front desk were great, our wait staff, valets - only one waitress at the breakfast on our day of departure was a little flat. Overall the staff truly make the experience. Chilled water bottles by the bedside at night with chocolates on the pillows, chilled water in your vehicle waiting for you when you use the valet service. Beautiful gardens, nice atmosphere - rooms are also lovely. Unscented bath salts by the large tubs were very appreciated (other bath products were heavily scented and smelled horrible)

The Bad: The food stinks, I'm sorry I just can't sugar coat it. I had some of the worst food I've ever tasted while dining here and I was overcharged for a syrupy glass of "wine" $17 that I didn't even drink! I had mentioned at the time I didn't care for it and they just shrugged and asked how the food was. Really? Disappointing considering we booked this place based on the reviews of the food. The large BBQ going on suggested a laid back attire and we were excited to partake in the delicious spread - however we were informed you had to purchase tickets to that event months in advance. It looked much better than what we had dined on, pretty food with no taste. We tried grain fed burger on the room service menu? I had to spit out the first bite it tasted that bad. The food was a disappointment, the breakfast quiche was the best thing I had there besides the tomato/goat cheese bread. A dessert my husband ordered tasted so bad I had to brush my teeth. Extremely disappointing. Perhaps they were preoccupied with their bbq guests and the food on the fine dining section fell flat?

The Nit picky - The dining experience uncomfortable but appropriate for a special occasion with beautiful attire and if you don't mind being seated close to other tables. Recommend it for wine lovers that know their wines but don't take suggestions - you'll end up with ice wine when you requested something less sweet than a white zinfandel at $17/glass! The soaps are perfumed with a scent that is rather unappealing/over perfumed. Mattresses too firm. Video system was down so we couldn't order a movie in the evening when we wanted to relax. (thankfully brought a laptop and streamed Netflix instead). I wanted to love this place but unfortunately it missed the mark on the food and that's a big no-no in my books.

We decided to leave a day early and although the staff were so friendly, we just couldn't justify the cost any further. I hate to leave a poor review, but we tried the food several times and were equally disappointed each time. The rooms were lovely, the staff great, again it's beautiful but stay away from the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spagirlforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This has been a very interesting experience. I was given an expensive gift certificate for Langdon Hall as a Christmas gift. I have been trying for over four months to try and book a reservation in their dining room with no luck. They always ask if I am a guest at the hotel when I call and when I say "no" they indicate that the dining room is full and I can sit in the bar area. Yah - I want to spend $250 for two to dine in their bar ... not gonna happen.

I have visited the restaurant before and stayed at the hotel on a few occasions. Overall, it is a nice spot ... but pricey for what you get.

Word of warning - do not give a Langdon Hall gift certificate as a present. They make it too hard to try and use in the dining room. I am hoping I am wrong in my assumption; but, so far past history seems to be true.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Sadie280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langdon1898, Public Relations Manager at Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sadie280,

Thank you for your feed back. We were so pleased to hear that a friend or family member shared a Langdon Hall gift with you for Christmas. We would like nothing more than for you to be able to use the gift certificate in our dining room as you wish. Our gift certificates are treated the same as cash and therefore are always accepted as payment. I’m sorry to hear that you have had difficulty making a dinner reservation with us. Please call 1-800-268-1898 and we would be pleased to assist.

Thank you,

Jessica Pearce,

Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you want to celebrate something special, I can think of no better place to visit than Langdon Hall. Your stay will be relaxing, you will feel spoiled, and you will realize that every penny you spend goes into making your stay the best it could possibly be. The rooms are beautiful, luxurious, and spacious. The beds are so comfortable that it is hard to think about getting up in the morning!
Dining here is an unparalleled culinary experience. We were lucky enough to be in time for a wine tasting earlier in the day with the sommelier who was then able to recommend the perfect wine to accompany our dinner. The fact that so many ingredients come from the hotel's garden adds the freshness and quality of the meals. Breakfast is also not to be missed--it is delicious and as inventive as the dinners the night before.
The staff at Langdon truly go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. My husband has worked in the hotel industry on and off for the past 15 years and he says that he has never seen such amazing service. We were lucky to be able to have a cooking demonstration by Sous Chef Darnell Gregg. When he learned that we were vegetarian, he switched gears immediately and created something amazing that we could both enjoy. We truly did not expect this type of accommodation, but this is the type of service you can expect at Langdon.
Although at first glance it may seem expensive to visit Langdon, the experience is truly worth the money. If you have a special occasion, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cbmd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Kitchener
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdon Hall offers a quiet and peaceful environment best suited for romantic get-aways that require an elegant setting. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association, the property prides itself on creating a unique experience brimming with all the charm, character, cuisine, calm and courtesy you would find at the finest Relais & Chateaux property. Located one hour west of Toronto, Langdon Hall was built as a magnificent summer home in 1898 for the granddaughter of John Jacob Astor of New York City, a gentlemen who made his fortune in several areas of business including the Waldorf Astoria, the greatest hotel of its era. In 1987 Langdon Hall began its transformation into a hotel and now offers 60 guest suites, a full service spa, the only five-diamond award wining restaurant in Ontario. In addition to the main dining room the property features a casual bar and private dining rooms featuring wood-burning fireplaces, and 75 acres of expansive gardens and trails. For three consecutive years the readers of Conde Nast Traveller selected Langdon Hall as the number one hotel in Canada. Nearby amenities include championship style golf course, canoeing, theatre, horseback riding, biking and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel And Spa
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country Hotel
Langdon Hall Country Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa Cambridge, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing