We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive luxury and fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Attentive luxury and fantastic service”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in June in a cloisters room. Two nights were booked but it seems they were overbooked so we will be in the Four Points hotel tonight.

Very disappointed BUT the hotel team did everything possible to recover the situation. Complementary stay last night and a complementary spa treatment which was amazing. Highly recommend a visit to the Spa.

Nice sized room and very comfortable beds. Slept so well and woke with a lovely view over the croquet lawn and gardens.

Bathroom had a lovely deep tub and separate wet room style shower. Great to see them using British.

Dinner was very nice with a wide range of options. Dessert was particularly delicious - elderberry soufflé!

Breakfast was also really nice and again a wide selection of choices.

I can see how Langdon Hall has twice been voted Canadian Hotel of the Year in Conde Naste. Service was the particular highlight. Attentive yet discreet. It made the stay memorable.

Only advice is check and confirm your reservation in advance!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    85
    45
    13
    6
See reviews for
62
256
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Beautiful suites with wood-burning fireplace and very comfortable King beds with down duvets. Bathroom was exceptional- nice tub, furnished with supply of bath salts, q tips, lots of towels. Separate shower with tiled walls. Nice bath robes. The property is somewhat isolated which makes for a very quiet, relaxing experience. Can imagine how cozy it must be for the winter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytravelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is an old estate that has been thoroughly updated. The grounds are extensive and far from any city life so it's quite relaxing and quiet. Beautiful flower gardens throughout. The staff are terrific. The food is gourmet and changes based on what is fresh. I've seen lots of game, for example. Rooms are huge! In fact, they're large enough to stay for a few days and not feel cramped. Beds are super comfortable. Rooms in the "cloisters" are more contemporary than ones in the main building. Wood burning fireplaces are a nice touch.

Room Tip: rooms in the "cloisters " are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbkMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recently, my family and I spent a weekend at Langdon Hall and had a wonderful time. Here is my detailed review:

It's a Relais & Chateaux hotel, so we went there with fine dining in mind. We were not disappointed, and were very impressed actually. We have been to a few other Relais & Chateaux hotels before--I have to say this is the best. If you are a foodie, you've got to give it a try.

The service was impeccable. All the people we have encountered there were warm, efficient and professional--there was nothing too small or too much trouble for them to help.

The room was a good size, what impressed me the most was bathroom -- spacious, standalone bathtub, separate shower. The bed was most comfortable, soft top but yet very firm under it.

The ground was very nicely landscaped. If you want to be active, there's tennis, croquette, swimming, walking/hiking in the woods and biking. Or you can just lounge in the sun doing nothing. It's a perfect place to retreat and recharge.

We took part in the organized activities -- garden tour, cooking, and wine tasting. They were fun, and added value to our stay. I would recommend them.

Here are a couple of not quite perfect things, in my opinion. It didn't bother us at all, but thought I would point them out.

I had a massage at the spa, which was great--one of the best I've had. But the surroundings and set up of the spa was not luxurious by any measure, and not commensurate with the rest of the hotel. The massage room was small and in the basement.

The stairs to the third floor in the main house were quite steep. The web site said they have an elevator, but I didn't see it operational. The bellboy carried our luggage via the stairs. It was not an issue to us, but I can see it might be a problem for less mobile folks.

All in all it was a great weekend. And I would definitely go back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaGogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The mere thought of escape to a country estate should inspire, especially for those urban dwellers. However, Langdon Hall comes up more than a little short. While grounds were certainly well manicured, interiors are showing their age. Restaurant staff were rather intrusive, under-trained; food was forgettable. Front desk and valet staff seemed to 'get it'. Attending a wedding banquet the day following, the Orchard Room while offering pleasant vistas was extraordinarily hot. Food service was far more attentive but perhaps too so -- many dishes/glasses were cleared before completion while conversing with other guests making me feel that we were more on a schedule to exit than a voyage of celebration. I've dined here a few times over the years and I understand why I prefer a healthy respite (to recover?) between visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent a week-end here for our anniversary. It was wonderful!!!!! the room was outstanding, the food was top of the line. We were treated like royality. This was our second stay there, and would not hesitate to return back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ontario
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed at Langdon Hall 4 times over the past 7 years, and most recently, in late May 2013. The setting is beautiful in all four seasons but most enjoyable from late-Spring to mid-Fall as the leaves are changing colour. It is ideal for a pampered couples spa weekend, affluent family stay or high end corporate conference with nice meeting and networking facilities. The food is very good, bar/lounge service stellar and the main building and its satellite buildings -- tunnel accessible in the winter -- all boast character, spacious rooms will all the modern comforts (WiFi, flatscreen TVs, fridge, Nespresso makers, etc.).

If there is one flaw with this property it is their spotty gym ... cardio equipment could use an upgrade as could the weights. On the upside, their outdoor poll, basketball court (rim is a little high) and tennis court are nice. And they have a nice greenhouse.

Again, though, the price here is not for the faint of heart for this facility which is a 45 minute drive from YYZ.

Room Tip: Main building in the winter, satellite lofts to the left/south at other times of the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJR-041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Kitchener
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdon Hall offers a quiet and peaceful environment best suited for romantic get-aways that require an elegant setting. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association, the property prides itself on creating a unique experience brimming with all the charm, character, cuisine, calm and courtesy you would find at the finest Relais & Chateaux property. Located one hour west of Toronto, Langdon Hall was built as a magnificent summer home in 1898 for the granddaughter of John Jacob Astor of New York City, a gentlemen who made his fortune in several areas of business including the Waldorf Astoria, the greatest hotel of its era. In 1987 Langdon Hall began its transformation into a hotel and now offers 60 guest suites, a full service spa, the only five-diamond award wining restaurant in Ontario. In addition to the main dining room the property features a casual bar and private dining rooms featuring wood-burning fireplaces, and 75 acres of expansive gardens and trails. For three consecutive years the readers of Conde Nast Traveller selected Langdon Hall as the number one hotel in Canada. Nearby amenities include championship style golf course, canoeing, theatre, horseback riding, biking and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel And Spa
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country Hotel
Langdon Hall Country Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa Cambridge, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing