We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always an amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always an amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

WE have stayed at Langdon Hall a number of times for different ocassions and have always been happy with the accomodations, service, food and overall experience. The staff is always very helpful with the bags and showing you around, the rooms are great and having a fireplace helps on a cold or wet day.
It is such a great property and the management is very good about every little detail that goes into the experience. Starting with the dinners, the pairings of meals with the wine, the bar and the selection of variety as well as the presentation do not dissapoint.
I love the spa and breakfast in the morning, it's a great place to stay if you are looking to be pampered in great taste and appreciate good quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yeugenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    84
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
61
252
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked a package at Langdon Hall for New Year's Eve. We'd read about the property and their great (if personally troubled) Chef and wanted to make an affordable international trip for the holiday. We coupled our visit to Langdon Hall with several days in Downtown Toronto. We are regular visitors to Relais et Chateau hotels.

When we first inquired about the New Year's eve package in October, they were completely sold out. We asked to be added to the wait list and with patience and diligence (I politely harassed them as Christmas approached) we were finally able to confirm our visit late in December. We initially were happy to get a smaller room in the main house without a fireplace, but just as the excellent manager predicted, we were able to move to a Cloister Room with a fireplace.

We were very happy with everything at this hotel. The drive down along the snowy river was nice. Cambridge is a smaller unremarkable town and the hotel is a destination in its own right. Our room was beautiful and the bed was among the very best we've ever experienced at a hotel. Wonderful linen and comfortably arranged near the fireplace with a view out towards the garden and green house.

The main house areas are beautiful and we enjoyed playing pool and having some coffee in the afternoon just after we checked in. We also really loved mingling with the other guests who were nearly all Canadians.

The special New Year's Eve menu included a cocktail party with canapes and a warm welcome from the owners. We mingled a good bit before being shown to our private table with a view over the front lawn. We choose to sit in what had been the grand house's original dining room instead of the large Conservatory because we knew that we'd be seated in that room for brunch the next day.

We opted for the wine parings with our dinner menu and were not disappointed. Excellent wine and delicious and creative food made for a terrific and romantic New Year's Even dinner.

After dinner there was a band for dancing in the Conservatory and champagne and cocktails until 1:00 AM. It was a terrific event.

We enjoyed walking around the estate on New Year's day and had a massage before the hotel shut down for its annual break/vacation.

The brunch buffet was simply amazing. For context I can say that after many years of visiting R&C properties all over the world. . .this was the best spread we'd ever seen. Everything was of the highest quality and freshly prepared. The variety was great and the coddled egg station made every other hotel omelet service seem pedestrian. I guess we are ruined for the Ritz Carlton staple. The food should be one of the top reason's you book at this hotel.

We finished out our visit with a few minutes by the fire in the entry as we settled our bill and prepared for the drive back to Toronto.

Considering our round-trip airfare to Toronto was only $200, I expect we'll book a return trip soon.

Room Tip: The Cloister Rooms are Nice but the Large Rooms in the Main House are Best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duchamp_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful estate set in a forest next to Cambridge. I believe they are growing their own vegetables which probably contributes to the delicious dishes they are serving.

Based on all other reviews and the presence in the Top 100 restaurants in the world, my expectations were high, and boy did they delivered... Starting with the service, the dinnerware, the food, presentation, atmosphere, this is the best restaurants I ever dine at.

Kudos to all staff, but especially to the chef.

Looking forward for my next trip to Cambridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank botmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I live in the area and for a special treat/occasion I will choose Langdon Hall.
From the amazing grounds to a more amazing old style mansion this place is just plain "special" Not to be outdone: their menu is eclectic and tastefully served.
The hotel also offers a spa and wonderful grounds to walk around. In the summer they have Friday special outdoor dining featuring a variety of chef's and the chef's creations. These are always well attended and require reservations.
It is treat to have a special dinner or a holiday and I highly recommend it. Although a little pricey it is worth it.

Room Tip: Allow enough time to tour the house and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,396 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Langdon Hall is splendidly located on a beautiful estate in the countryside south of Cambridge. The rooms are large and very well-appointed; a nice touch is that the toilet is separate from the bathroom. If I may register a tiny complaint it is that the humidity in the room was too low for me to get to sleep as easily as I might have wished. The service was friendly and highly competent. We had the one-night retreat package, which included a superb three-course dinner as well as breakfast. I'll review the restaurant separately, and will say here only that the meals are every bit as good as the hotel. Although staying at Langdon Hall is not cheap, it is worth every cent. We certainly plan to return there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank operalover939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just got back from a perfect weekend at Langdon Hall. The chef was not there, but with the team that he put in place the food was wonderful! Went with friends to celebrate a special birthday. They had never been before and after a weekend we felt like we had been away for far longer. Every aspect of the service and accomodations are done with such care. My friends had massages and I had a pedicure - we all agreed the services were very special. We sat by the fires in our rooms and gossiped; we sat in the house and gossiped; we drank champagne while listening to the classical pianist who was there at dinner.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cloisters and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harriet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
783 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Langdon Hall for their New Year's Eve special night, and even though we were there for only one night, I can say that it is absolutely a great hotel on a picturesque estate with very welcoming service.

We were able to snag a room with the fireplace in the cloisters, and as you can see from the pictures, it was a very charming room. My partner and I enjoy staying at the Relais & Château portfolio of properties because you know what to expect, and Langdon Hall does not disappoint on that score.

The service was very friendly and comprehensive, and we didn't want for much while we were there. When we needed new logs for fireplace, someone came quickly, and when we requested help with our bags, it arrived promptly even though everyone was checking out at the same time and they have a relatively small staff.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was large. The robes were fantastic. Perhaps the only quibble I have is that there are no personal toiletries and instead pump cans for shampoo and body wash; having big canisters of shampoo latched to the wall didn't really fit in with the vibe that the gorgeous room was giving out.

Overall, I would definitely recommend a visit to Langdon Hall. It is a special place, and it was the highlight of our visit to Toronto, and truthfully, one of the main reasons we came. While obviously we were there in winter, I'm sure that Langdon Hall looks just as beautiful nestled in the forest with the flowers in bloom.

Room Tip: if it's winter, opt for a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
2.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Kitchener
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: 1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#5 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdon Hall offers a quiet and peaceful environment best suited for romantic get-aways that require an elegant setting. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association, the property prides itself on creating a unique experience brimming with all the charm, character, cuisine, calm and courtesy you would find at the finest Relais & Chateaux property. Located one hour west of Toronto, Langdon Hall was built as a magnificent summer home in 1898 for the granddaughter of John Jacob Astor of New York City, a gentlemen who made his fortune in several areas of business including the Waldorf Astoria, the greatest hotel of its era. In 1987 Langdon Hall began its transformation into a hotel and now offers 52 guest suites, a full service spa, the only five-diamond award wining restaurant in Ontario. In addition to the main dining room the property features a casual bar and private dining rooms featuring wood-burning fireplaces, and 75 acres of expansive gardens and trails. For three consecutive years the readers of Conde Nast Traveller selected Langdon Hall as the Number one hotel in Canada. Nearby amenities include championship style golf course, canoeing, theatre, horseback riding, biking and hiking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel And Spa
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country Hotel
Langdon Hall Country Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa Cambridge, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing