We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were here for my sister in law's wedding ...it was amazing:) One of the best places ive stayed at...a must see!!! It is perfect for a summer wedding...i loved the gardens,t he rooms and the staff was very professional. I liked that it was located outside of town, so it was nice and quiet...felt just like home:) I just fell i love with the place, and i can firmly recommend it to anyone who is going to be in the Brantford/Cambrige/Kitchener area...

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mimi676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 535 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Langdon Hall offers a grand dining experience, but there’s also a casual nature to the atmosphere: the unstuffy servers, the almost clairvoyant sommelier and the creative and aesthetically pleasing menu from chef Jonathan Gushue. He combines local, fresh ingredients - some of which come from the garden on the property - with an amazing collaboration of farm and field. I enjoyed the Paradise Farms Beef Striploin, Charred Onion, Shallot Pureé, Sweet Onion Broth for an entree and a desert made from the sap of birched on site... Birch syrup meringue, Brown Butter Pears and Birch Sorbet.

Then there was the suite in the Cloisters. The quaint, colonial style was beautifully appointed with antique furniture and clean white linen. We had a ground level room, which had doors that opened to the terrace. We sat in the living are with a fire roaring, enjoying a glass of wine and watching the snow lightly fall. It could not have been a more perfect, romantic getaway. The king size feather bed with cozy duvet ended our evening in bliss. And if this was not enough, we awoke and attended the dining room for the most delicious breakfast I have had the pleasure of eating. Freshly baked croissants, muffins and pastries are displayed beside by house made strawberry preserves. Smoked salmon, quiche, granola and cereals and the most beautiful fruit.

Pay the $26.00 for the Full Country Breakfast which gives you access to the country table I just described as well as several prepared dishes like pumpkin frittata, lobster ragout, poached eggs or eggs of any kind. I enjoyed the Baked Eggs with Wild Mushroom and Potato Hash and a side of Peameal Bacon while my husband had the Brioche French Toast with Bourbon and Vanilla Syrup. Honestly, the french toast was the absolute best I have ever had. And the portion contained 3 pieces - which adults and children would both enjoy.

I would highly reccommend Langdon Hall for both a night away as well as the Spa services - the staff was professional and extraordinarily talented from housekeeping, dinner servers, sommolier, reception and spa professionals. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We heard alot of good things about Langdon Hall from friends, and they were all true. We stayed at one of the lovely cloister rooms. The real wood burning fireplace made the room so toasty and cozy. The staff are very polite and helpful. I was so happy to see the Hall all decked out in Christmas decorations. Very special place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank civediamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

From the moment of my initial contact with staff, during the time spent planning our event, to the implementation of the event and follow-up - my experience has been exceptional. The staff was extremely thorough and accommodating, the event professionally organized and executed to perfection. I look forward to our next event at Langdon in 2013.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank kjb023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a very tranquil place altho' somewhat pretentious.
My room was quite large with an overstuffed feather topped mattress.
BIG disappointment in the food which was nicely presented but we were there for thanksgiving and while we did get turkey there was no stuffing or mashed potatoes or gravy or turnips or sweet potato or cranberries.

We had a decent serving of turkey and miniscule helping of vegetable,,maybe a couple of carmelized very small apple and a green bean.

Anyway for me the food was a big disappointment.

The walking trails were splendor in their fall colors and big bonus, it is dog friendly, sort of.

No dogs in the main house but there are accomodations where one can have their pet stay with them.

For me?? At $45 a glass the wine was greatly overpriced.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue have a lower room. 3rd floor walk up is difficult if you have mobility issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annabelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend for our anniversary. We booked the Gourmet Package that included full breakfast, 5-course tasting menu, and 3-course dinner. In addition, we each had a massage, and ended the weekend with Sunday afternoon tea.

It was all perfect. The staff is efficient, friendly, and meticulous. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was fabulous - particularly breakfast.

We also joined the free functions that were offered - garden tour, wine tasting and cooking demo. All of these were interesting and a lot of fun.

It was pricey, but it was worth it for a carefree, completely relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ov123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

These folks get it. From the room, the service and especially the culinary the overall experience at Langdon Hall is makes it a very special place. Make no doubt you will pay for it as this boutique hotel is not inexpensive. But as the saying goes, quality is never cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armchairgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
2.9 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Cambridge / Kitchener
2.2 mi away
Kitchener Inn and Suites
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Langdon Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 4R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#3 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $242 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langdon Hall offers a quiet and peaceful environment best suited for romantic get-aways that require an elegant setting. As a member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux association, the property prides itself on creating a unique experience brimming with all the charm, character, cuisine, calm and courtesy you would find at the finest Relais & Chateaux property. Located one hour west of Toronto, Langdon Hall was built as a magnificent summer home in 1898 for the granddaughter of John Jacob Astor of New York City, a gentlemen who made his fortune in several areas of business including the Waldorf Astoria, the greatest hotel of its era. In 1987 Langdon Hall began its transformation into a hotel and now offers 60 guest suites, a full service spa, the only five-diamond award wining restaurant in Ontario. In addition to the main dining room the property features a casual bar and private dining rooms featuring wood-burning fireplaces, and 75 acres of expansive gardens and trails. For three consecutive years the readers of Conde Nast Traveller selected Langdon Hall as the number one hotel in Canada. Nearby amenities include championship style golf course, canoeing, theatre, horseback riding, biking and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel And Spa
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country Hotel
Langdon Hall Country Cambridge
Langdon Hall Country House Hotel & Spa Cambridge, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing