We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stale Smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Cambridge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I arrived late, 11:30 PM by taxi and had to leave early the next morning. My non-smoking room had a stong smell of stale smoke. If I had not been traveling all day to get there I would have complained and asked to be moved, just too tired. I left a note for the maid to correct this for the next guest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey07836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager260, General Manager at Comfort Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

I am sorry to hear that your room smelled of stale smoke. We are a non smoking hotel now and have been taking steps to rectify the problem of an issue of lingering effects of previously smoked in rooms. The last few rooms that have been brought to our attention have been given a procedure to eliminate any signs. Thank you for your comments. They help us identify and correct concerns and issues so we can make every guest's stay a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there to visit family in Waterloo, 3rd week July 2013. We were limited in choices as we needed a pet friendly location. Had mixed experiences with other Comfort inns, so decided to stay at this location based on other travellers reviews.

Based on our stay I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. We do not have young children so we could not evaluate children activities. There is no pool which did not influence our decision at all. There are malls, large grocery and drugstores, and restaurants very close buy, so if travellers require anything it is very conveniently located and a short walk or drive.

This was one of the best value hotels I found in the Waterloo/Cambridge area over the last three years, and certainly one of the best in the last 10 years. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and policies, and the halls and common areas were all kept very clean. The rooms and bathrooms were well appointed and maintained, the carpets were clean, the beds were clean, mattresses very comfortable,not dusty, and the room was recently renovated.

The room was quiet, one could not hear televisions or showers in surrounding rooms so our dog was also quiet and didn't disturb other guests.

Breakfast was quite good for a buffet, with eggs, waffles, a range of good cereals, fresh fruit and joghurt and muffins. The coffee was very good and the eating area staff were friendly, courteous, and kept the tables, floors and counters very clean.


The the rear of the hotel has a picnic area with tables, large grassy field and bbq. The only negative point, and it did not affect our stay, is unfortunately the highway runs behind the hotel, so the picnic area is a bit noisy until sunset. We did NOT hear the highway in the room with the patio doors closed and we were facing it.

The staff should be congratulated for maintaining such a high standard in such a busy location! A very pleasant stay, and I would not hesitate to book here again.

Room Tip: It is quieter on the non highway side of the building if you wish to have windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager260, General Manager at Comfort Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such nice things about the Comfort Inn after your stay in August. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff provided the excellent service that all our guests deserve. I hope on your next visit to the Cambridge area, you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at this Comfort Inn and was pleasantly surprised at the upgrades and finish of the room.Modernized furniture,great beds,plenty of pillows and good wifi connection.Continental breakfast was also offered which was very adequate and better than most in the area.

Room Tip: Somewhat convoluted route to get to the hotel as a round-about is under construction when we visited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roystoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager260, General Manager at Comfort Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn during your visit to Cambridge. We are very pleased with our renovations and am glad to hear you were impressed. I can tell you the "Roundabout " is now complete and travelling in the area is much easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed there with parents (adult child) For a funeral. Great price, super clean, newly renovated. Staff went above and beyond to make it a great stay. Free Breakfast was varied and delicious. Beds were firm and very comfortable. Duvets were super soft. Room had fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manigirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager260, General Manager at Comfort Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in July. We appreciate knowing that we helped make your stay comfortable and the staff was helpful during such unfortunate circumstances. I hope on your next visit to Cambridge you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Always clean and presentable.
Room was certainly adequate for our 5 day stay.
Breakfast could be a bit of a lottery with some strange looking offerings. Stick with the waffles!
Only gripe is there is no where to sit in reception whilst waiting for wife and daughter to get ready. Believe you me that's sometime waiting.
Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager260, General Manager at Comfort Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time for write a comment about our hotel. I am glad you were able to stay with us in July and enjoy our breakfast offerings. I agree, the flavoured waffles are great, if eggs and sausage or bacon are not your choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is not a luxury property, but it's clean, newly remodeled, and very comfortable. Rooms, which look upscale, are much more appealing than the exterior or the hallways, which look like a motel. Very convenient off the freeway, staff pleasant enough, breakfast adequate, very well priced. Not wild about the hallway smell, not sure whether it was new carpet or some sort of cleaning fluid and someone had smoked in our non-smoking room (grrr), but this is a very good deal if you're on a budget but want clean, decent, comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask to stay as far as possible from visiting soccer teams!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midlandpark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager260, General Manager at Comfort Inn Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay on July 11. I am glad you were impressed with our new renovations. Since your stay we have rectified the issue with the room appearing like some one had smoked in it. We are a non smoking hotel and have taken steps to eliminate any lingering effects from previously smoking rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel has been freshly updated. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It was conveniently located to our destination, The African Lion Safari Park. There was no pool, which would have made it perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunbridge Hotel & Conference Centre Cambridge
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cambridge

Address: 220 Holiday Inn Dr, Cambridge, Ontario N3C 1Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $85 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All New Just for You! The Comfort Inn Cambridge has renovated the front desk lobby area and all bedrooms which include bedding, carpet, drapes, vinyl and the bathrooms have new tile and vanity. All rooms have free wireless internet, 32" LCD flat screen televisions, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. Hotel is 100% smoke free. Ground floor rooms have patio door access. Enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast in the new breakfast room. Breakast available daily includes eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles, fresh fruit, hot and cold ceral, breads, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea. Our beautiful, park-like setting is the best place to rest when experiencing all that the Cambridge area has to offer. Only 20 minutes from the African Lion Safari and easily accessed from HWY 401 welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Cambridge
Cambridge Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Cambridge Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing