We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our first visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of China House

China House
Ranked #84 of 317 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our first visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had driven past this restaurant many times since we moved to the area and always wondered so we decided to give it a go last night. Service was very good - not a fan of being pestered or being left alone and they had the combination down perfectly for my taste. Just enough time between courses and we were not rushed in any way. Portions were very ample and the food we had was great. The homemade plum sauce was amazing - even better than I expected. Only minor thing that I could complain about was the "consomme" flavour that overwhelmed the hot and sour soup. Other than that it was an enjoyable experience, I would say it was above average and would return again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    7
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph,On
Level Contributor
139 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

Best Chinese food within the Guelph, Cambridge area! Choose from the many choices on their menu - the food is prepared to order, and arrives piping hot in covered dishes! Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, excellent service and food. You must try their home made plum sauce - delicious!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

First time here...was top notch. The service was the right combination of discreet, while still being attentive. Professional. Ambience was perfect, quiet enough to converse. But the food, definitely something to rave about. Generous portions but at the same time not the mass produced kind of chinese food so often served. More a wholesome really cooked goodness to it, fresh and hot. All at a moderate price...will go again!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jigger128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lots of food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

great chinese food from friendly staff - very busy
we all had food to take home
close to hotel

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 
Cambridge, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing