We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location off Hwy. 401 / Nice renovations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location off Hwy. 401 / Nice renovations!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after visitng with friends in Cambridge. The hotel's location was very convenient and we prefer staying at mid-range hotels for affordable pricing, good standards and rewards program.

We checked in rather late in the evening. The front desk person was helpful and also informed us that there are 2 teams and a wedding group in house and that if we should happen to hear any noise, to not hesitate to call her but she assured us that everything is in order and under control. She placed us on the top floor of the hotel which I thought was great on her part. We heard absolutely no noise at all. It was very quiet all night and never woke up once. I thought that was very good and honest on her part.

As soon as we walked in the room, we noticed brand new carpet in a very inviting King room. The bed was out of this world and had to be one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on. The bathroom was spacious with a wall to wall granite counter. Enough space for ALL my toiletries :) The coffee maker was great with Al Van Houte coffee. Just what we needed for our slow start the next morning.

The view was nice of the area. We had a nice work desk in our room lounge chair with ottoman, mini-refrigerator and flat panel TV. As a rewards member, we had snacks and a bottle of water for us in the room which really hit the spot for a midnight snack!

The hotel has an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, guest laundry and hot breakfast buffet. We didn't use any of the services as we just stayed over night and had to leave the next morning to meet a friend in Brantford.

Overall, a great stop over and great sleep. We've been to the hotel before quite some time ago and the renovations to the room look great.

Room Tip: Top floor - 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSpirit2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiles730, General Manager at Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your information regarding your recent stay with us! I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as guest satisfaction is top priority with us. We are very excited about the renovations that we are undergoing which include new carpeting, new flat screen televisions and new washrooms in our guestrooms!
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Lynda Campbell
General Manager
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    154
    75
    34
    17
See reviews for
183
106
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

just returned from a night away at best western cambridge. this hotel has really declined since visiting about 3 years ago. fire alarm went off 3 times in a 2 hour period due to a flooded bathroom on another floor. our toilet was close to overflowing the whole weekend also. breakfast buffet was pretty well empty when we went down a half hour before it was due to end. no eggs, no orange juice and stale muffins. many patrons wandering around looking for scraps but nothing left worth bothering with. problem with our television, front desk though pleasant had no solution. only one table in pool area and a few chairs so nowhere to set our stuff down and hot tub full of foam. won't be back to this location which is too bad as original visit 3 years ago was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisme154989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

we did the package deal for the African Lion Safari, so glad we did as we had quite a drive. What was really nice we arrived around 1p.m. for check in & we were able to get in the room early! Plus the hotel had special rate for extra tickets to the Safari as we had to purchase one more, so that was great & convenient. Our room was clean, beds were so comfy & that's important to have a good sleep for the next day to the Safari. Hot breakfast was good, lots of variety kids LOVE the waffles & they made sure that it was well stocked constantly! Hotel Manager & staff made sure that you were well taken care of, they certainly were very accommodating. Pool, whirlpool & sauna were nice for the whole family to enjoy the night of our stay. Lots of places to shop & eat in the area so not lacking there, that's for sure & it's right off the highway! Went to the Cambridge Butterfly Conservatory a "must to see" got a coupon on Attractions Ontario for 15% off cost us only about $40.00 for 2 adults & 3 children, so inexpensive & just an experience to see so many butterlies just amazing! There is also birds, turtles & exhibits we spent 3 hrs there, so worth the money to go! Our advice would be to do that the day you arrive & then go to African Lion Safari when you have to check out the next day. Would we stay again YES! :D thank you for making our stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalmarnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have stayed at this location 3 times in the past 18 monthes. Renovation progress is slow. One elevator was out of service and had to travel to three floors to find ice - - - OK breakfast (free is all that recommends it) - complained online (same as I booked) received prompt reply. Renos should be complete by sometime 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelsongrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we went to african lion safari and decided to get the bingeman's waterpark package through best western plus....
lobby is nice, rooms were clean, bathrooms needed a care.
the pool area small but fun for the kids.
the breakfast was all microwavable didn't taste the greatest at all....but if you stick to bagels and toast and cereal you're ok.
would i stay here again...not sure. but it is right off the highway thats the good part.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa2535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here in July on a visit to Waterloo area. Price was reasonable but hotel is dated and worn. No problems with elevator and front desk staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was good but eating area is small. There are not enough seats and we couldn't get a table. Room was quiet and comfortable. Housekeeping never came to our room. Not a bad visit, but not great either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonMontrealCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We sayes there for a ball tournament. Hotel was clean, very helpful desk service employee. One elevator wasn't working, which only left one for the entire hotel. Hopefully it be fixes soon (of not already). We stayed on the 2nd floor, so that wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank capm177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.1 mi away
Cambridge Hotel and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kitchener
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cambridge-Waterloo, Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge - Waterloo
3.4 mi away
Kitchener Inn and Suites
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Cambridge
Comfort Inn Cambridge
#7 of 10 in Cambridge
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel
Address: 730 Hespeler Road, Cambridge, Ontario N3H 5L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cambridge
Cambridge Best Western
Best Western Plus Cambridge Hotel Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing