We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of sushi in Burlington”
Review of Mikado

Mikado
Ranked #54 of 473 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem of sushi in Burlington”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The quality of the food is impeccable. The variety of the menu gives you lots of options so its great for any occasion. Service was quick and friendly. I have never been dissappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyla5564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“No complaints....”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Getting acceptable sashimi when dining far from where the fresh fish swim, can be quite a challenge. So when you can walk from your office on such a warm, sunny day as this to a "comfy...Japanese style " restaurant with entirely acceptable sashimi and tempura is about as good as it gets in Burlington! That the waitress was Japanese was a bonus. For $14 one receives 7 pc of sashimi, 2 tempura shrimps and a mixture of fresh vegetables together with miso soup, salad, and a few rolls. Oh and house tea thrown in. It really is off putting when the tea is an add on. 4 grapes and a segment each of orange finished things off and we walked back to work, pleasantly sated by pretty authentic Japanese luncheon fare. And it didn't hurt that when we mentioned one of us was shortchanged one piece of sashimi, the house brought 4 more attractively presented on a shell. We'll return --even if the weather isn't so beautiful!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finicula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese and Korean Food”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

If you like sushi and sashimi prepared in the true Japanese fashion, then I would recommend Mikado. It is a small and intimate size restaurant and you may be served by the owner's family. The owners are Korean and they can prepare kim chi to your taste, hot or hotter!
They are open from 11:00AM each day and it is a great place for a non traditional lunch. The food is fresh and healthy much better that a fast food choice at lunch time.
They are open each evening until 10:00PM and they have a very good wine menu featuring international and Canadian wines.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kolinKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food, outside could be more inviting”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Very nice sushi, good service, reasonable prices. I had dinner here alone. They have a wide choice of sashimi, rolls, sushi and so on. Really nice. Taste was good.

The outside of the builidng is not very inviting and could ue some work being done on it. It is a little bit messy. Inside it looks fine.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining; Bit Pricey”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed several dishes that we tried, but I liked the rolls and the Kalbi the best. Kalbi is BBQ beef ribs marinated in a special sauce. It doesn't sound Japanese, but it was done differently - tasty with a delicate sweetness, very thinly sliced - which I assume is the Japanese method. The owners came by our table several times and were very pleasant and hospitable. My only criticism is that the price of the food is a bit steep. It is expensive trying several different foods like we did. Overall, excellent dining experience.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daak95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado also viewed

 
Burlington, Ontario
Burlington, Ontario
 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing