We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Lake”

Emma's Back Porch & Water Street Cooker
Ranked #23 of 474 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cottage Cookin on the Best Patio in Southern Ontario!
Hamilton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“On the Lake”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Its busy, its crazy, its great when you feel like hanging out with friends at the beach. Located in downtown Burlington, you can hang out there then walk downtown

Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    183
    96
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
322 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice little bar/restuarant on the water's edge”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had a nice dinner last night at Emma's with my wife. Waitress was very pleasant, meal and drink orders were correct. Meal was very nice, I had the steak and it was cooked to my liking with garlic mashed potatoes. Could have been a little more potatoes but then I love them (and don't need more<S>)
The place is a little loud for us though, could use some sound proofing as there were not that many people inside (we eat a little early in the evening). And we like to talk during our meal not shout

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDL999_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancaster
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“asked about gluten-free menu”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Server seemed incredulous that we would even ask the question and had no idea. Would not return there in a hurry.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkdkdkdkdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Go for the Chicken Wings Stay for the Company”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The best chicken wings I have had is at Emma's Back Porch Burlington. They are plump dusted and deep fried to just the right crispness and they come in a variety of flavours. The smokey barbeque is great and they will make the wings sloppy if you ask. Wednesday nights they offer a great deal and meeting up with old friends or making new friends on the patio is always a good time. Try the fall off the bone beef ribs also on special on Wednesday's or have a delicious salad. Food is great here no matter what you choose. I've never been disappointed. The servers do a great job of taking the order quickly and getting your food fast. The patio has a beautiful view of Lake Ontario but if you want to sit inside, the whole back of the restaurant is windows which also gives you a nice view of the lake. The old building charm of the restaurant gives you a friendly club house like feeling and there is plenty of free parking in the parking lot across the street. Enjoy a good time at Emma's.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Time to catch up with old friends”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

A lovely spot alongside the lake. We went for lunch and had a nice meal. The service was good and the prices reasonable. Would go again if in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pops D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's Back Porch & Water Street Cooker also viewed

 

Been to Emma's Back Porch & Water Street Cooker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing