We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night = no class”
Review of Ivy Bar + Kitchen

Ivy Bar + Kitchen
Ranked #324 of 473 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $11 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Walkers and Guelph lines on South Service Road
Description: Ivy Bar + Kitchen is a Contemporary, Cosmopolitan, Restaurant and Bar located in Burlington Ontario, Canada. Ivy's approachable modern design and inviting ambiance, combined with a fun, fresh, and genuine approach to great food and service-make Ivy a favorite spot for upscale casual dining, cocktails, or weekend nightlife. From the moment you walk inside, you will be taken on an impressive journey of lush greenery, and casual modern elegance. A distinctive setting of contemporary furnishings and finishes create many unique spaces to accommodate a wide range of hospitality in our bright and inviting naturally lit dining room• An inviting dinner for two or more• Dining or drinks at one of our inviting bar spaces• A sociable group dinner• A small plate and cocktail gathering• A special occasion dinner for up to 14 persons in our Private Dining Room• Exciting weekend nightlife for a mature adult crowd• Large exclusive events. Ivy's appetizing cuisine ventures through approachable American and International chef-driven classics, with a touch of modern flair. A world-class wine list combined with a fun creative cocktail program- make Ivy 's warm and inviting spaces a first choice for discerning libation seekers of every taste. The nightlife on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays is created with accents of sophistication, to appeal to a classier adult taste. We are proud to be continually nominated as the destination of choice for evening guests ranging from late twenties, thirties, forties, and on. Nightlife on Friday and Saturday night after 10pm - the scene is full of great music, bustling bar action for a more sophisticated night out, and plenty of areas to dance, socialize, snack, or mingle the night away. Reservations are highly recommended.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Saturday night = no class”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After hearing mixed reviews about Saturday nights at Ivy, me and my girlfriends decided to find out for ourselves.

The cons:
1. Clientele - women were either old and on the prowl in their stillettos (I will use the words "cougars" and "real housewives" to describe ti) or very frumpy. There were only a handful of attractive women.
2. Men were mixed but generally pushy.
3. By 12:30 pm people were drunk and sloppy and the men desparate.
4. The music was a mixed bag of (bad) 80's/90's or repeated top 40 dance hits (e.g., we heard two 1980's Whitney Houston songs in 1 hour and Britney Spears/Will.i.am twice in one hour).
5. The layout of the bar/dance floor is terrible. There is no flow so it is difficult to walk to the bar, find a place to stand, or just move.
6. The bar was very stuffy. Perhaps all of the sloppy-sweaty dancing had something to do with it? I'm sure the patio is an improvement in the summer.
7. Good luck getting a drink because it was so difficult to go up to the bar. And once you get a drink, be careful because someone is bound to knock it over.

The pros:
1. I think this is where people (including married men) go to 'hook up'...if you're into that.
2. The line up is no issue if you look good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
6 Thank DLS_CDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey E, Guest Relations Manager at Ivy Bar + Kitchen, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi There,
We are glad to hear that you decided to experience Ivy firsthand. Overall, we generally do see a late 20’s, 30’s and 40’s crowd on a Saturday evening and although we work hard to maintain our demographic, we apologize if you felt this was not the case. Saturdays at Ivy continuously see an extremely busy night life resulting in a bustling dance floor all throughout the evening. We realize it does quickly fill and are always attempting at managing our occupancy more effectively to allow for extra breathing room. We want to make sure you have an enjoyable evening with us and appreciate your feedback in this regard.
We should let you know that while Fridays are also a busy night at Ivy, they have a more relaxed approach to a night life and are accompanied by a bit of a different vibe than that of a Saturday. Perhaps if you would like to visit us again you would consider a Friday night. We hope to have you back again soon, especially with patio season fast approaching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    50
    31
    32
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Incredible service combined with stunning atmosphere made our night.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I came in to Ivy for the first time on a Friday night for a drink in the bar area and we were both completely blown away with the beautiful decor, comfortable ambiance and friendly staff.

The girl at the front door was very polite and seated us in a spot behind the bar that overlooked the entire restaurant which made us feel like we had our own private VIP area. The bartender was our server and he was extremely charming and made us feel extremely welcome while talking about the different areas of the restaurant.

We enjoyed and shared a few cocktails from a feature menu that were blended with very tasty and fresh ingredients and we were impressed to hear that they were on special every Thursday night for only $5. (I will definitely swing by to enjoy a few more next week)

At about 7pm the restaurant was buzzing with conversation and it seemed to be a very happening spot to hang out for the evening. If we didn't have tickets to a show out of town, we definitely would have stayed for dinner because the "Of the Sea" dinner special sounded amazing!!

I can't wait to bring in a group of friends and impress them as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lxa301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Ivy is one of the best in Burlington”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Have been a number of times to the Ivy and 3 times now for dinner. Each visit has been consistently above average. Most recently my wife and I went on Valentine's Day for the 3 Course Prix Fixe dinner for 2 and a bottle of Select wine for $85...it was amazing. I was fully prepared to have to upgrade the wine but the offering was quite good. There was live music and complimentary h'orderves. They really made the night special. All the servers we have had are very good - friendly and efficient. Bailey is exceptional with reservations, Everyone seems to care that the restaurant does well which is rare for a large venue like this. We will return. Thanks

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A combination of a great atmosphere, music and food! What more can you ask for?”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been to Ivy bar 5 times now and the consistency of service, good music and goods management is what keeps us coming back!
The food menu contains a great selection and don't feel bad about dessert, the music kicks off around 10pm and you will be on that dance floor!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Malik16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't Have Had A Better Friday Night”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited The Ivy Bar for a delayed Valentines dinner and some fun. We were very impressed by the interior decor and ambience. The overall service was excellent as were our meals. We were even given a short tour of the facility by one of the staff members. The patio looks like a fabulous place to chill out come the spring and summer time. This place is unique unto itself, a one of a kind facility. A great new gem for the Burlington area dining cowd. The staff, the food , the overall venue was triple A. Did I mention the steak was the best I've had in quite some time? This is a great new addition and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank titanpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivy Bar + Kitchen also viewed

Burlington, Ontario
 

Been to Ivy Bar + Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing