We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts who go above and beyond”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heart Of Burlington Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vaughan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts who go above and beyond”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Heart of Burlington for 2 nights. Flora and Joe were remarkable hosts, very warm and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was always good, with a nice cup of coffee for you to start, then fruit and your main, (which you get to choose off a menu the night before). We were attending a gala on the Friday night and while getting ready my husband realized he had forgotten his cufflinks. We asked Joe for a safety pin or two, he went one step above and lent my husband his own cufflinks (from his wedding day!). Perfect name for a perfect spot in Burlington. We will definitely be returning to this quaint B&B. Thanks Flora and Joe!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKD210912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
47
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent base for 3-night stay, attending a wedding in Burlington, and then including a self-drive wine tour (with Joe's great suggestions), Niagara Falls, and Niagara-on-the-Lake (Angel Inn fitted Joe's description). Highway 8 and other back roads of Niagara Peninsula always guarantee a quiet, scenic drive.
Everything about the stay was first class, fun visit with other young guests at the breakfast table, Flora poaches eggs perfectly, and bakes good home-made muffins.
A memorable stay!

Room Tip: Queen bed is good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I was looking for a nice place to bring my wife on our 5th wedding anniversary in the Burlington area. The tourist information center recommended a B&B. When we arrived at the Heart of Burlington adn the hosts Flora and Joe had prepared personalized menu with a wide variety of options for our Breakfast. Nice touch! Extremely well kept Edwardian home in a fantastic location. Excellent Breakfast! Bravo!! Pierre Jean et Erika V. Montréal Québec.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 2 weeks in August and I couldn't believe how fantastic it was. I have a dodgy back and always fear poor bedding but the mattress was first class. Everything was so clean, the hosts Joe and Flora are wonderful people who were the perfect hosts and were so very obliging. The breakfast was 1st class. I've stayed in about 100 motels over the years and this is the best brecky I've ever had and Flora was always making fresh baked muffins and cakes.

Joe and Flora also gave really good advice about what local attractions and restaurants to visit. The location is great, lots of attractions really close with Niagara Falls only 40mins away and Toronto 40mins by Go Train. Lake Ontario and the boardwalk are just a short walk down the main street way and I often went walking in the mornings and evenings around the neighborhood, its a very quiet and safe area.

When we checked out 2 of my friends flew in and stayed for 3 days and they too raved about how fantastic it was and what a great experience they had there.

5 Stars for this place I can see why its number 1 on TripAdvisor

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms both very similar and of very high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I couldn't agree more with all that was written here. The property was on wonderful shape and very well maintained. We stayed 2 nights having a healthy breakfast the first day and a not-so-healthy (but wonderfully delicious) french toast the second. The neighborhood was quiet, but very convenient to the downtown and waterfront. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for top notch accommodations in Burlington.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGPG790331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The only regret we have about the Heart of Burlington B&B is that we could not stay longer. From the moment we arrived our hosts, Flora & Joe, made us feel very welcome. The warm and friendly demeanour of our hosts, the comfort of the accommodation and the knowledgeable advice given to us ensured that we got the best from our short stay. The location of the B&B makes it ideal as it is close to everything you may require. Only 45 minutes from Niagara ( along the wine route too!!!) made this a really good choice. We would certainly recommend this B&B and would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Hearts Delight room was lovely and the bed really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tapdancer_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have spent 2 weeks in this B&B and the only thing I can say: go for it !

The location is very convenient (city center); close to everything (restaurants, mall, bus, go station...) and to Hamilton, Toronto (1 hour by train) and Niagara Falls (45 mn by car).
The surroundings are green and quiet, with well-maintained homes.
The rooms and the bathrooms are well decorated and spacious. Beds are confortable and AC gives a nice temperature in the house.

Flora and Joe are wonderful hosts: they made me feel at home. They will give you all the information you need, will do their best to answer to your requests and are professional and discreet.

Breakfast is wonderful: served at the time of your preference, a lot of choice, tasty, copious and home made. Try the muffins, the jam, French toast, well everything… you will not regret it !

I will suggest that you try this B&B, you will love it. Of course, the decision is yours…

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlington hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 14 in Burlington
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Burlington
Quality Hotel Burlington
#6 of 14 in Burlington
434 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto / Burlington
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heart Of Burlington Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart Of Burlington Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heart Of Burlington Bed and Breakfast
Address: 532 Hurd Ave, Burlington, Ontario L7S 1S8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in a restored and fully renewed 1910 Edwardian home in the beautiful old core of downtown Burlington. Rooms and private bathrooms are on the second floor. Free parking on the premises for two vehicles. Non-smoking facility. House has central air and ceiling fans in rooms. Cable TV. Check in time: 3:00 p.m. Check out time: 11:00 a.m. Full, Continental and Vegetarian breakfast menu served in our dining room. Free wireless internet access available. Mini fridge, microwave and Tassimo beverage maker in dinig room for guest use. Walk to downtown Burlington’s celebrated restaurant district, spas, unique shops, boutiques, entertainment and events at beautiful lakeside Spencer Smith Park. Visa or Mastercard accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heart Of Burlington Bed And Breakfast Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing