We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favorite pubs ever!”

Squires Public House
Ranked #26 of 472 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Squires Public House rebranded in 2015, formerly known as Ye Olde Squire, is independently owned and operated in this location since 2006, by the same owner. We strive to serve the freshest food possible, and we hate anything frozen! We are dedicated to the art of scratch cooking including in house baked hamburger buns, and naan bread. We make all of our own sauces and stews, use fresh meats sourced locally, hand cut Yukon gold fries and house made desserts. Our menu is varied and diverse and we love to put interesting items on our menu, food that you just don't find in an ordinary Pub! Please try us some time. I promise you won't be disappointed.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of my favorite pubs ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I make sure we visit ye old squire every time we visit Burlington. The last time we went in was over the holidays. We decided to be adventurous this time my husband tried the liver and onions. This was his first time trying liver ever. He said it was pretty good. I decided to try the bangers and mash. This was also a first for me and I quite enjoyed it. The service was fantastic!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jo_b78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsandhu2, Owner at Squires Public House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
It was really awesome to read your kind words. Thank you! I hope to speak to you personally the next time you are in town! I appreciate our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Incredible food, the best Chefs in town!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Freshest ingredients, great quality, unbelievable flavor and freshness!! The best fish n chip I have ever had, rich gravy, superb sandwiches, fresh cold beer,,,who can ask for more :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsandhu2, Owner at Squires Public House, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your comments! My partner Chef Lightfoot and his brigade in the kitchen take a great deal of pride in preparing your favorite food! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We’ve been numerous times and are never disappointed. Value for money +++ Friendly staff. The full English breakfast is always to die for. The fish and chips are MUCH better and cheaper that the nearby Thistle fish and chip shop although mushy peas would be a lovely touch. Liver and onions and mashed potatoes yum. I’ve had the home made soup and sandwich a few times, delicious, plenty and filling. Always busy, you never wait too long to be served, again quality food with value for money!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horrice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsandhu2, Owner at Squires Public House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your remarks. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
455 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“amazing burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

They make an absolutely awesome burger. Great fresh fries and really good salads.

Fish & Chips are also some of the best in Burlington.

Great atmosphere with it's large dual sided fireplace for these cold winter months.

Server knows the menu well and was extremely helpful with menu selection.

Mixed drinks are also really good here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canadian_investor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsandhu2, Owner at Squires Public House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Than you so much for your kind remarks. Cone and try our new "Big Squire Burger". You will love it! I sincerely appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The best BLT + cheese sandwich and home fires for breakfast in Burlington, well just my option! Great way to start your Saturday or Sunday morning. The waitress is so nice, I wish I knew her name but she has been there for years and always does a great job. Food is just as good at night. Fish & Chips and Steak Pie are our favorites and are always great! We will be back!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsandhu2, Owner at Squires Public House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Chef Lightfoot does a wonderful job on our menu and Lorraine is who looks after you on the weekends. She is an amazing employee that's for sure! Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squires Public House also viewed

Burlington, Ontario
Burlington, Ontario
 
 

Been to Squires Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing