We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & Comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Burlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The waterfront hotel is a warm and friendly local hotel that is a good choice for a business or personal stay in Burlington. Slightly older hotel with some signs of wear, but I found it a nice change from a sterile chain hotel. Staff was friendly and efficient. Bar and restaurant are fine. The sunrise view at breakfast is relaxing.

The bed in my room was extremely comfortable, firm with a padded top like a Marriott bed. The heat system worked well, not too loud and easy to adjust.

I would stay here again if traveling to Burlington.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. As a "top contributor" we appreciate all the time you spend travelling and are "in" and "out" of hotels. Thank you for recognizing our amenities including on-site restaurant and bar as well as our warm, friendly and efficient staff who work hard each day to provide high levels of customer service to both business and leisure guests. We wish you safe travels and look forward to continuing to provide you and all our guests with our "unique" experience and level of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 411 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had to stay at this hotel since it was booked by my company for a course that I attended in September. The location of the hotel in Burlington area is fantastic, but the hotel itself is tired and requires major renovation. The rooms, carpets in hallways, bathroom, fixtures, TV's, amenities everything from a to z shows that this property has not been touched a many years. The front desk is helpful but other than that I did not like staying a single bit in my room. I am allergic to dusty old carpets and I had it my nose running from day 1 of my stay. The breakfast is a meager assortment of items - a lot of my colleagues ended up going to Starbucks and other nearby eateries for quick breakfast. Overall very disappointing and is not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwajustdoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your business and the business your company brings to the Waterfront Hotel. Thank you for acknowledging our fantastic location which is indeed a source of pride for us. We also appreciate your comments about the areas you found to be lacking. We are consistently working to improve all aspects and areas of our guests stay. Your comments and specific observations are extremely valuable and will be used as we continue our efforts. If I may be of assistance to you or your company in enhancing a future stay or meeting please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is an average hotel at Burlington which only advantage is that it is located in the downtown waterfront, close to restaurants and bars. Even though the rooms furniture looks OK, it needs some improvements such as new carpets. Don't be fooled by the breakfast buffet, it is really lame, just a couple of trays, one with omelets and another with bacon, that's it, consider to have breakfast anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanFranToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We appreciate your recognition of our location and beautiful Downtown. We also appreciate your comments regarding areas of improvement. We are constantly striving to better all areas and enhancing your experience with us. We look forward to your return visit to Burlington and sharing those successes with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed overnight in this hotel and would recommend it for cleanliness, comfort, affordability and location in Burlington. Staff were very friendly, parking was free and breakfast was also free. Great location overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate you recognizing our cleanliness, comfort and affordability, as well as our complimentary amenities including parking and Breakfast. Most importantly we thank you for mentioning our hard working and friendly staff who are here to serve you and enhance your Waterfront "experience".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotel at the shore of Lake Ontario in the center of Burlington. Good hotel, close to shops and restaurants. The bar is nice, small selection of food.friendly service, very good music.
Breakfast in same bar could be better. Plastic plates and cutterly and selection of food and drinks was minimum. Lots of improvement possible here. Fitness is small but good, nice and good maintained machines, nice swimming pool.
Hotel room was good, good bed, simple bathroom. Heating was noisy. Staff very friendly.
Location of the hotel is very nice. First snowstorm of the season. Temperature -15C and lots of snow. Good hotel for a business trip. Can not imagine to stay here a few weeks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to recognize our location, our beautiful downtown, our restaurant and entertainment as well as our amenities including fitness area and daily, complimentary breakfast. We apologize for the aforementioned shortcomings of our environmentally friendly plates and cutlery. As we continue to search for better alternatives we hope they did not negatively affect your "experience" with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

It's your pretty basic hotel, nothing special. Stayed 1 night with my girls. They ordered room service from the restaurant in the lobby they were not impressed. The hotel is right on the lake which is beautiful and right next to Spencer Smith Park.
I must say the beds were amazingly comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was a bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the recognition of our beautiful location, our beds and our complimentary breakfast. We apologize for your "girls" room service experience and hope that our guest services addressed this issue with them at that time to better their overall experience. Thank you for your time and we look forward to your return to Burlington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fine, nothing special but clean. It has a bar and restaurant which is nice. It is right on the end of a street with quite a few dining options within walking distance. It is right on the water. The bar has Strongbow!!! A plus in my book.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your valuable comments. We appreciate you making note of our cleanliness which we believe is essential to overall guest experiences. We are glad you liked our restaurant (B&B Neighbourhood Taps and Grille including our beverage choices (Strongbow) and hope you also got to enjoy the many dining options that Burlington and our beautiful Downtown offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlington hotels
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto / Burlington
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 14 in Burlington
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre
2.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Burlington
Quality Hotel Burlington
#5 of 14 in Burlington
437 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington

Address: 2020 Lakeshore Rd, Burlington, Ontario L7R 4G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlington
Price Range: $134 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Hotel-Downtown is a landmark in the city of Burlington, Ontario, on the shores of Lake Ontario. With spectular panoramic views and all the conveniences of downtown within steps of the hotel. A perfect getaway with inspiring waterfront parkland and trails, unique shopping, museums, exquisite dining and world class festivals situated less than an hour from Toronto and Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Travel Lodge
Burlington Travelodge
Travel Lodge Burlington
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing