We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful water view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Burlington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful water view”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great views good breakfast included. Walls too thin but beds very comfortable.would stay there again. Staff very polite and helpful.Check out the beach if you have time.Also has a beautiful pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and acknowledging our complimentary breakfast, our beds, our location and amenities including pool and hot tub. We also appreciate and celebrate your effort to recognize our "helpful and polite staff". We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    140
    82
    55
    50
See reviews for
88
110
14
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding, and found it a nice, clean place. I would defiantly stay here again and also recommend it to friends, but make sure your room does not over look the patio, it was very loud when we stayed. The noise continued till about 2-2:30am. The breakfast is a nice touch, it's nicer than most hotel free breakfast, but don't expect a fresh cooked omelette.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dentrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and we hope we helped to enhance the wedding experience. We appreciate your recognition of our cleanliness, and amenities including our daily complimentary breakfast. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the "noise" you experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterfront Hotel and appreciate your referrals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Although we didn't stay in the hotel, I wanted to review the fantastic 2-day meeting experience we had at this facility. My husband and I participate in a lot of meetings and workshops at many different hotels around North America, and we both agree that this was one of the best we have experienced in terms of the facility and service (We did not stay at the hotel, but some of our workshop attendees did, and they were very pleased).

When we arrived, the meeting room was set up perfectly. There was a staff person available to help with anything we needed as we set up, and she made certain that we knew how to contact her throughout the day if we needed anything else. She told us the gentleman's name who would be replacing her when she left at the end of her shift, and advised that she would pass on any special requests to him when he arrived.

The food was excellent, and although we had selected the same package from the banquet menu (because our group was small - 8 people, we opted for a simple working lunch buffet) for both days, there were slight variations in our lunch the second day, to keep it interesting for our attendees. It is a true sign of customer service when a facility anticipates what would make the customer happy.

Also, one of our workshop attendees had dietary restrictions which we did not pass on to the facility until the last minute. He was thrilled with the special meals (and attention) he got, and remarked that he had never before been given such special consideration at a public function.

We had two banquet staff members assigned to look after us - one in the morning, and one in the afternoon, and they deserve special mention. They both treated us like guests rather than customers (the highest form of compliment, in my books!). It’s hard to articulate what that means, but they were always there when we needed them, always smiling, and willing to do or find whatever we needed. I know there were others behind the scenes making everything run smoothly, but the two of them made our weekend!

We were certainly proud to host such a successful event, and we look forward to running other events at the Waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanzypantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your meeting with us. Wether it was just for the day, the night or multiple nights you are a guest of the hotel and as important. We appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to acknowledge the food quality and the dietary alterations that we are constantly faced with and do our best to accomodate. Most importantly we thank you for your recogntion of our staff all culminating in "one of the best" meetings you have experienced "in terms of facility and service". We look forward to you hosting future events at the Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

While visiting family in Burlington we stayed at the Waterfront for a week in October 2012 and ten days in April 2013. During both visits we were impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff and General Manager. On our last visit, arriving late and tired after a long flight, the night manager, Jordan, paid a visit as we were unpacking to make sure we were satisfied with our room and its location – very thoughtful.
Breakfast, included in room rate, is good with a variety of choice.
The hotel restaurant serves good food and drink at a reasonable price; service is good.
The pool, hot tub and workout room are clean and well maintained.
The hotel is well located for access to the Waterfront Trail, restaurants, the liquor store, shops…
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Spencer Smith Park side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Waterfront Hotel and for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is extremely gratifying to be a part of your visit to Burlington and hope that we added to the visit with family. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, our numerous amenities and certainly our waterfront location. It is part of our regular practice to share reviews with all staff and I lastly want to thank you for taking the time to acknowledge our staff including specific individuals who take particular pride in your recognition. We hope you had safe travels and look forward to future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked a night here because we did not want to drive home after a celebratory dinner. It was very satisfactory, although by no means luxurious. It had been a Travelodge, but the new owners have made impressive efforts to upgrade it. Staff were exceptionally friendly, the rooms were a good size, clean and with free wi-fi, Our room had a view over the lake.

The hot breakfast buffet was complimentary - a nice added touch and the rates were reasonable. In fact they reduced our rate from the one we booked without us asking - another nice touch.

This is really only a three star place but I bumped them up one for effort and exceptional friendliness.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back from the road, so I don't think noise would be an issue anywhere. A view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for your business. We hope the Celebratory dinner was a great success. Thank you for acknowledging our ongoing commitment to improving our property, our cleanliness and most importantly the friendliness of our staff. Our guests are our constant priority and it means a great deal when our efforts are recognized. We look forward to welcoming you back tho the Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in the long past when it was the Venture Inn and always enjoyed it. It has now changed names and I assume ownership. It is very lovely. They have done a lot of redecorating and it looks very nice. It has a most beautiful spot right on the lake. It is right next to a park where there is places to walk, jog, the kids to play on swings etc. The city is in the middle of building a pier out into the lake that is right beside the hotel at the end of Brant St. It is going to be called the Brant St. Pier. That will add another lovely place to walk. We went in March when it was snowy and cold, so we didn't walk outside. It was very nice to swim in the pool and sit in the hot tub and watch the snow outside. The pool was nice and warm which was a surprise because normally hotel pools are too cold for my taste. The breakfast was included in the room price and it was your typical breakfast menu. There was sausage, bagels, toast, yogurt, danish, cold cereal, tea, coffee, juice, hot chocolate. Since I'm not much of a breakfast eater, this was sufficient for me. There is a restaurant on site where you could order a more substantial breakfast if you wanted to. We had the regular King room which was 116.00, this was the senior rate. Not bad for downtown Burlington on the lake. The room had a pull out couch so if you had little ones, they could sleep there. For us it was worth the little extra cost to have a nice place to stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They had really nice poolside towels, the nicest hotel towels I've ever seen. There was a spot for a mini fridge but it wasn't there, so if you wanted that, make sure you ask if your room has one. I see there are some reviews that said the hotel was noisy, we heard nothing. We were on the 6th floor. It was also a Monday night so the weekend may be different.

Room Tip: The hotel was pretty quiet, so if you can, go during the week, if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Anne- Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. While we are indeed under a new name and new ownership we certainly appreciate your years of patronage. Thank you for recognizing our new changes, decorations, rates complimentary breakfast and most importantly our staff. We are also excited about the enhancements to our already fantastic park/downtown location (Brant St Pier) whose grand opening ceremonies will be held during this years Sound Of Music Festival. It is a bit late but your kind and excited comments prove it will have been worth the wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sprucedale, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because they allow dogs and we wanted to bring our puppy with us, the service and staff were great. They allowed us to visit with our family in the pool area. The pool was warm and very clean the hot tub was so relaxing!! The room and beds were clean and fresh.We chose to return just a few weeks after our last visit and stayed about a week our stay was relaxing and we will be back again for sure in the near future!
Thanks Waterfront for a great time.
sherri landry

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Sherri- Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for recognizing our housekeeping, our facilities and most importantly our staff and service. We are proud of our pet friendly status and programs, understanding that they are also part of the family.
We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Waterfront Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlington hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 14 in Burlington
171 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto / Burlington
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Burlington
Quality Hotel Burlington
#6 of 14 in Burlington
434 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Burlington Hotel & Conference Centre
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington

Property: Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington
Address: 2020 Lakeshore Rd, Burlington, Ontario L7R 4G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront Hotel-Downtown is a landmark in the city of Burlington, Ontario, on the shores of Lake Ontario. With spectular panoramic views and all the conveniences of downtown within steps of the hotel. A perfect getaway with inspiring waterfront parkland and trails, unique shopping, museums, exquisite dining and world class festivals situated less than an hour from Toronto and Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Travel Lodge
Burlington Travelodge
Travel Lodge Burlington
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Burlington Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing